We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff make this resort the best.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Resort
Ranked #10 of 327 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2011

This is the second time that I have stayed at the Novotel Phuket. There is a lot of accomodation on offer in Patong and I have looked at dozens and dozens but the lure of great service right through this resort more than tempted me to book again. This resort has magnificent views of the the whole of Patong yet is only 10 mins walk away from the centre of town ( and if you choose not to walk, there is a free shuttle bus.) It boasts a magnificent open reception area, 3 levels of swimming pools, a spa where you can get pampered, a gym, lots of free activities, and a breakfast buffet to suit all tastes. Rooms, which are cleaned daily, are of a generous size, with a bathroom including bath and the air conditioning is great (most important for my husband)

The one thing that brings this hotel/resort above the others is the fabulous staff. The bellboys are simply amazing, a super friendly hello every morning, their job is exhausting at times, and I have stayed here a total of 27 nights, and never have I seen one of them with anything but their fabulous smiles. They will happily pick you up from the front entrance if you cannot be bothered with the stairs or the driveway.....day or night. Reception staff, bar staff, tour/transport staff, restaurant staff, cleaning staff, security staff and management all share this smiling disposition.

I hope I have the pleasure of going to Thailand again and there is not a doubt in my mind that I will be returning to the Novotel...

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleBosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,050)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,000 - 2,006 of 3,050 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2011

Just stayed here for the weekend to attend the vegetarian festival and was worried about staying in Patong, which is an over developed resort with a sleazy reputation, however the Novotel was at the far end of the town, so it was relatively quiet and we were able to avoid Patong town. Of course it would be easy to get there if you want to. There is also a 7/11 over the road, which would be handy. The location made it quick to get in and out of the Patong area to other parts of the island, also.
The hotel is situated on the hills overlooking the sea and we had commanding views of the bays from our room, which was lovely (we just had a standard room). The Novotel has a striking Thai-style lobby, which looks out to the sea and down to their lovely 3 tiered pool. The rooms are built along the hills so there is quite a walk up steep stairs to get to the room (and we were only on the 3rd flr). There is a complete absence of lifts, so no good for older or immobile people. The room was very well-equipped eg:good flat-screen TV, safe,robes/slippers, ice, tea/coffee etc (perhaps starting to look a bit tired). The beds were very comfortable with good pillows (a bonus as beds can be very hard in Thailand). The bathrooms only had a shower over the bath, so this would also be slippery for older people. There was a nice big balcony to sit on and enjoy the view .
Due to the steepness of the location, they do have a shuttle van to take you from the gate to the lobby, but this service stops around 6.30pm. There are also stairs to walk straight down to the street.
The staff at the hotel were extremely pleasant and helpful. We had no trouble arranging and early morning taxi to Phuket town to see the festival procession and then took us to the old town to see that (it was amazing). They also helped us with a late check-out. TIP: Taxis & tuk-tuks in Phuket are more expensive than anywhere else in Thailand but be very careful if you decide to hire a scooter as the roads are busy and dangerous (many tourists get killed-injured on the roads here each year).
The hotel also has a fitness centre and sauna and many free activities you can join every day. They will give you a progamme on check-in. The buffet breakfast was very good, as you would expect from a large hotel. We also ate at the Fisherman's restaurant, which was nice but nothing special.
Overall I would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globerwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Loved it, The service is excellent, the staff are helpfull, the pools are clean, the rooms are clean. The whole resort is very well maintained. The buffet breakfast is great. It is the perfect location for the perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Stayed there for 7 nights and just wish I had more...
Excellent location, provides magnificent view of Patong beach and easy accesibility (15 minutes on foot, 2 minutes with tuk-tuk) to the center, while being far from the crowds and noise!!! Perfect place to relax... The rooms were very clean and comfortable, though ours had the smell of damp. Very kind and smiling stuff, always trying to make you feel comfortable. Amongst everything, its massage center is truly good!!! Facilities and activities to do are far from enough, but you should make early reservation for many popular activities like Thai cooking lessons or Fruit carving (once a week, provided for free). The free shuttle bus service to Jung Ceylon is very convenient (requires early reservation as well...). Due to the location and its layout, the hotel does not have any elevators, which might be a problem to people in need. Really enjoyed my staying there and would recommend it without hesitation...

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raptjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

This is the second time my friend and I have stayed at Novotel, 1st trip to Phuket 2009 and recently returned again in early sept. We asked the travel agent to secure the same room as we had the previous time and our wishes were met. the staff are fantastic, from the bar staff, cleaning staff, pool staff, reception and servery. Nothing was ever a problem. This resort looks like a desert island with all the greenery and the views are to die for. We weren't looking for a resort that had the feeling of being closed in or looked like a multi story complex. We got what we wanted and that was to have a relaxed atmosphere that looked like we were miles away from everything. Free shuttle, tuk tuk isn't expensive if u know how to barter, food is priced well and the breakfast is wonderful. My friend and I will definately be returning to Phuket and will definately only stay at Novotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms close to the pools and eateries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robyn a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

My partner and I stayed with the Novotel Family for 9.5 nights and enjoyed each minute! The service was wonderful and the friendliness and helpfullness of the maids, bellboys and security staff especially were second to none. Whilst the resort is a picture in itself, it is made by the wonderful staff they have onsite. The room was always clean and tidy and the buffet breakfasts provided plenty of selection - '1 minute omlettes are fantastic and a must try!'. The Sea View rooms offer a spectacular view of the ocean and should we not have stayed at Novotel I expect that our holiday may not have been as enjoyable! Definately recommended.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have larger balconies offering a better view and the feeling of extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Stayed here recently in Sept for 8 days with my Mum to celebrate her birthday and what an absolute dream of a holiday thanks to Novotel Patong. The hotel is majestic, decorated in traditional Thai style, set high on the cliffs overlooking the beaches. Our room was perfect, just what I had envisioned. A clean room, with two king singles with a generous balcony overlooking the ocean - uninterrupted views. Make sure you request a room that is away from the power lines, as some rooms views are restricted.

The staff were friendly and accommodating. I just can't fault anything with the Novotel. The free shuttle service offered by the hotel is great, as the Novotel is a far journey away from the main beach road in Patong. This drops you to Jungceylon Shopping Centre in the middle of town, from here you can walk or catch Tuk-Tuks to anywhere you wanted to go. Some people complained about the hike of prices for Tuk Tuks and the monopoly they hold in Phuket. Anywhere around Patong would set you back 200thb (about $6 aud) but you could haggle this down. If you don't mind spending the couple of bucks a day to get around then Novotel is the option. It's great because your away from the hussle and bussel of busy Patong, but still close if you want to go shopping, see the nightlife etc. If you want to be amongst the action all the time, then don't choose Novotel as you'll have to walk, catch a free shuttle or Tuk Tuk up the street all the time.

I'd recommend the Novotel to couples, families and those wanting a more relaxing holiday. The hotel is large which is built terrace style into the cliff, so a lot of steps. Great for working of all th holiday food and drink, maybe not so good for the elderly or physically impaired.

Overall a wonderful stay, definitely recommended and will stay again.

Room Tip: Request ocean view room uninterrupted by power lines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lil_Traveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
0.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park
1.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.5 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
3.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 327 in Patong
5,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Resort

Address: 282, Phrabarami Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#9 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#9 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#13 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $76 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Phuket Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Phuket is a 4 star hotel tucked into a small hillside above the pristine waters of Kalim Bay, within easy reach of the exciting nightlife and shopping of nearby Patong. Enjoy a unique holiday at our resort, which features Thai architecture and is surrounded by 8 acres of lush tropical gardens. The hotel boasts a three tiered swimming pool, Thai massage centre and Kids Club, plus two bars and three restaurants for you to enjoy. The perfect destination for that dream tropical getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Phuket Hotel Patong
Novotel Hotel Phuket
Novotel Resort Phuket
Novotel Patong
Patong Novotel
Novotel Phuket Resort Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing