We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, not a great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Ocean Beach Resort
Ranked #267 of 423 Patong B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The hotel itself was very nice, however our room was slightly on the small side. The downside is that to get to patong you have to take a 10 minute taxi or wait for the shuttle bus that leaves 4 times a day. Although this is not the worse thing in the world it can be a little bit annoying.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 56 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

just returned from phuket 25/04/14. let's break this down shall we?

service: Horrible! ALL reception personnel are very blunt and rude. Language barrier? i say not! thailand being in the tourism and hospitality industry for decades, i don't think this is an excuse, plus you can tell by body language and eye contacts (most of the time preferred to stare at computer screen while talking to you). Also, when talking to each other, you can see smile and laughter among staffs, why can't guests get a bit of this?

information: if you ask for something that is not handy - you will get a NO or left hanging without any real solutions. reallly??? aren't they getting paid for this?

room: spacious, very basic for 3 stars or below. if you call for service, be sure to quote your room number otherwise staffs have no idea where you are.

food: worst food i have ever had! buffet breakfast hardly anything edible. Everything cold, dry and full of FLIES. Their traditional dish - pad thai, wow! rice noodles mixed with sauce and some egg, any Thai restaurant in Australia serve something like this would be in big trouble! Or maybe hotel kitchen think foreign guests wouldn't have a clue what they're eating, therefore, just serve them whatever? really? disgrace to thai food!

dishonesty: booked for shuttle in the morning and return in the afternoon. we stood at the pick up point waiting for pre-booked return to hotel. 10 mins past scheduled, no shuttle, gave hotel a call, the guy at reception told us wait for an other 10mins as shuttle is late. 20mins later a shuttle from hotel rocked up dropping off guest from hotel traveling to main centre, we went over assuming that this is the one that will take us back to the hotel (even though 30mins late, standing in the sun/heat), we were told by driver that he is not here to pick us up, i then told the guy that we just got off the phone with hotel reception telling us to wait here 20 mins ago. Driver then got onto phone and talked to reception guy who is now denying that we ever booked for the shuttle nor spoken to us 20 mins ago??? after 10mins of arguing, we then asked how are we going to get back to the hotel if he now denied everything, we were told "get a tut tut" .....while there is a hotel shuttle right here ..... i was so angry so i handed the phone back to the shuttle driver. 5 mins later, driver told me that reception never told him about us and he also agreed that it is wrong to treat guests this way, leaving aside "your words against mine" between hotel guy and myself. therefore, driver took us back to the hotel anyway without the "approval" of reception!!! i tipped the driver ofcourse and very thankful. but with guest service from the hotel in this situation is disgusting! i really hope the owner of this hotel reads this! more importantly, future travelers......hope you have better luck than we did!

Advise, if you can - stay away....not worth the trouble, you're on vacation for crying out loud! don't need this!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We booked through scoopon for 7 nights. It's horrible service.

1. The reception staffs are very rude, unhelpful, uninformative. Everything we asked, they answered in a very rude manner. Most of the time, they would said "I don't know, you try yourself." Very impolite and rude! They never smile and no greetings. When we ask them about something, anything at all.. they acted like we were bothering them.

2. The cleaning lady, the bell boy, and the cook down stair were the only people who can smile and greet guests as "good morning, how are you?". Those three are the only three nice staffs in that hotel.

3. We booked to be pickup at 4.30pm for a free shuttle from the jungceylon back to the hotel but no one turn up. We called the hotel again to let them know that we were still waiting, they said to wait until 4.50pm. We waited and finally some one turn up but the driver said our name is not on the booking list, therefore he won't take us back to the hotel. We called the hotel and let him talk to the driver but the guy on the phone said to take a tuk tuk with the price of 300 baht to come back because he can not do anything about it, then he hang up. The driver felt sorry for us so he took us back.

4. On the day that we arrived, the guy at the reception said he will charge us extra money because we are booking on the peak season. On the voucher letter that we had indicated that the date that we booked are off peak season. We had to point it out to the reception guy so that he cancel the charge, shouldn't he know this better? On the confirmation letter, the hotel also offer us free city tour and welcome drink on the arrival, but when we point that out to the reception guy, he said "No, we don't follow the hotel confirmation letter offer, we only follow the scoopon and it didn't offer the city tour of welcome drink". We didn't bother to argue because it was passed midnight when we arrive and we were very tired. The next morning, they gave us a 5% discount voucher for the food and drink at the hotel, we ordered one meal to our room and they charged us 10% surcharge for the service, when we show them the 5% discount voucher, they said it's not apply so we had to pay in full.

5. The breakfast down stair was bad, flies was everywhere on the food. Some of the flies were dead right on the food plate, horrible, we couldn't eat anything.

6. We were on the fifth floor and the view was beautiful, very quiet area. Cost more to get a taxi back to the hotel because the last free shuttle transfer back to the hotel was at 6.30pm. If you want to hang out a bit late which is when Patong has come alive, then you have to deal with the hassle of finding a taxi back. Some taxis don't even want to take us back to the hotel, they said it's too far... but if you walk a bit more, eventually you will find one taxi that willing to take you back.

7. Wifi seem working alright in our room on fifth floor.

8. There were some poops on the stairs down the restaurant.

*** I DONOT recommend this hotel resort to anyone, if you want quiet place, there are many other such as Tri Trang Beach hotel right next to it, much better service, or Karon and Kata beach resort, much more beautiful and much better service again. It is not worth it. I witnessed the reception staffs were arguing with many other guests who complain about the service at the desk. Arguing with guest is not a good customer service. Horrible place for a relaxing holiday, find somewhere else so that you would enjoy your staying much better. it's unnecessary to deal with the bad and rude service on your holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ieunatelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOresort, Manager at Blue Ocean Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Blue Ocean Beach Resort, we would like to sincerely apologize for your unsatisfactory holiday. We have sat in a meeting with the team and had gone through in detail over your review. This is absolutely unacceptable for our resort, and we will be making changes right away.

Again, please accept our apologies on this matter. We have been trying hard to make changes to the hotel for the better and your review has helped us get a clearer perspective on things.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great view from the room, friendly helpful staff, peaceful but close enough to the action so you get the best of both worlds at your whim. Food at Hotel is really enjoyable, we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JewelsMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Most of the bedrooms have a bay ocean view which is beautiful and magnificent and the air conditioned rooms are large, comfortable with a bath. Like others have commented the hotel is about 5 minute drive from Bangla Road and costs about 300 baht each way however the hotel does offer limited free shuttles through out the day the last coming home at 1840hrs from Jungcelon. Although the hotel does have a lift there are still some stairs to walk which isn't a problem for most but not wheelchair friendly. Bar and restaurant costs come with additional service fees and taxes which can be misleading as a lot of other places do not. The pool area is clean and refreshing with a bar. The beachfront is nice and secluded and there is also the more popular Tri Trang beach about 5 minute walk which also offers contact with a local baby elephant who does swim in the ocean which is a bit of a treat and great for kids. Overall a nice place to stay but if you are after the night life you may be better staying in Patong Beach area itself.

Room Tip: 95% of rooms have a great ocean view however there are a few with not quite as good a view due to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stanjanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This hotel is out of town. But the beauty of that is that the hotel is quiet. The staff is friendly and the food is good. Pool is nice and the beach is ok to swim in... Will come back. The staff try to help the best they can. As it was our first time travelling abroad it was wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allycat_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I came across Blue Ocean Beach Resort on Scoopon, and to be honest, I did not have high expectations. I just wanted a good price place to stay with a good view. I was taken by surprise when I arrived as I very much enjoyed my stay at this resort.

The room was very wide and was not crowded with decoration. Staffs were quite friendly. (Don't expect 5 star services, the resort is quite small)

I also loved the idea of a pool table in the lobby. My friends and I would play a game or two every now and then while drinking beer. It was quite relaxing.

Although the beach is a little rocky and hard to swim in, it was still a very beautiful sight to have just outside the room.

I recommend this place for those who are easygoing and independent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
1 mi away
Blue Ocean Resort
Blue Ocean Resort
#44 of 337 in Patong
812 reviews
1.1 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#14 of 337 in Patong
1,488 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tri Trang Beach Resort
Tri Trang Beach Resort
#95 of 337 in Patong
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#18 of 337 in Patong
1,755 reviews
1.9 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 337 in Patong
799 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 337 in Patong
6,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ocean Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ocean Beach Resort

Address: 78/2 Muen Nguen Road | Tri Trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 423 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Ocean Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Ocean Beach Resort, located in a quiet area on the Tri Trang Beach, is just about 5 minutes’ drive from the Patong Beach. Offering its very own private beach, with white sand and crystal clear water, is very suitable for families and friends who look for the qualities of a serene and relaxing environment whilst, on a holiday. The Resort offers a fantastic choice of two different room categories, the deluxe room, and the Junior Suite. All rooms at the Blue Ocean Beach Resort are very spacious (38 – 43 sqm) and offer sea views. Imagine staying in a room with a balcony that opens up to the vast, calm ocean with the wonderful breezes hitting you softly and frequently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Ocean Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ocean Beach Resort Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing