We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park
Ranked #7 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't Stay Here”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

If this is a five-star hotel, it certainly doesn't look or feel like one. Lobby area is quite decent, spacious and airy. Think they spent all the money on the construction of the lobby and didnt save any of it for the rooms or training the staff. Staying in Room 4311 which is all the way to the back of the resort. During my walk to the room, discovered that the tiles in the corridors on the way and right in front of the room were being repaired, which meant that the corridors were dusty and slippery. Signs which said cleaning in progress had been put up but there was no one around doing any sort of cleaning. The room seemed clean at first glance but then I walked into the bathroom. Black mould growing around the bathtub tiles, and there was dirt in the bathtub. Taps and vanity top looked grubby and may not have been cleaned. Poor bathtub design meant that the bathroom was flooded after taking a shower (hence the growing mould). There were also small black ants crawling around in the room. Decided to do a test - left 2 pieces of plastic on the bathtub edge and took the shower off its hook and left it on the floor of the tub. Housekeeping has been in and guess what, none of the plastic has been disposed of and the shower is still on the floor of the tub, It also doesn't look like the tub has been scrubbed or cleaned. Other problems with this hotel (yes, there are more!!!): the back of the hotel is right up against the back of another hotel as well as an apartment block - we had the guests from the other hotel standing on their balconies heckling some of us as we were walking along the corridors. Other side overlooks some zinc huts. The fire escape stairs are poorly lit and one of them was used to stash the housekeeping cleaning cart. Was supposed to stay 3 nights here but have decided to leave early. I will never stay in this hotel again and I do not recommend that anyone who comes to Phuket should stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank virtuahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPVP, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Vintage Park, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Virtuahl,
Thank you for your review and we feel very sorry that you mostly based your reviews on the hotel surroundings for which, you will agree, we have no influence on.
The resort is designed in a U-shape with all rooms facing inward the pool. The walkways around are opened to the surroundings. Virtuahl, let’s face it, the hotel is located in the middle of Patong in one of the prime location just few steps away from the beach and all the major city center activities are at your finger tips. I do not think it is quite fair to blame the resort for the buildings at the back of the resort, as it is the case for any city center location
We acknowledge that some of our bathroom fitted with silicon joins might not have been the right product to be used and definitely not properly fixed so we currently re-doing those defected bathrooms by installing a grout joint that will not only look much better but also help our housekeeping to keep the bathroom fresh and clean.
With the kindest regards
Herve Duprat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,155
    622
    187
    52
    50
See reviews for
753
693
96
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aurangabad
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Very warm and welcoming staff is first delightful experience. The rooms very big. The pool very inviting. Breakfast was good. The location is good, 10 -15 mins walk from Bangla street and Patong beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atul2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Even before we travelled we had problems: 3 emails to confirm airport transfer and to confirm room type. When we arrived we still got the wrong room. It took until 3.30 the next day till we got a room with single beds & were left hanging round in Reception. Even then we did not get the splash pool requested (even though most of these rooms were vacant during our stay).

Ordered room service & the food was off. Sick all night. Housekeeping was poor; rooms not made up despite repeated requests. English channels on TV did not work-despite 2 repair men. Sleep interrupted a few times by drunken men knocking on the wrong door at 4 am & other issues.

To be fair, the hotel had not been open for even a year & management acknowledged they needed to do better.

The pool area was a major plus. It is huge & the food & drinks from the pool bar were fine. The staff were generally pleasant & service was quick. The breakfast was good & plentiful. There was free entertainment (music) in the bar-of a good standard. The location is far enough away from Bangla Road to escape the late-night madness, but still within walking distance and is a short walk from the beach.

We decided to curtail our stay at this hotel after a week & eventually got a refund for the remainder of our booking. The management did address the issues we raised and much of it could be down to teething problems so I would not dismiss it completely. I believe it could be a great hotel once the management issues are sorted

Room Tip: Make sure you get confirmation of the room type you want before you travel or you could be disappoin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPVP, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Vintage Park, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Derek,
Please accept my sincerest apologies for the shortcomings you faced during your stay and I will definitely review your valid points with the team concerning our Reservation procedures and Housekeeping
We thank you for your good comments about our Pool facilities and Services, our Breakfast selection quality and quantity, the hotel location and easily accessibility.
We also hope to see you again soon
With the kindest regards
Herve Duprat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at other Novotel last year and saw the vintage being completed. Beautiful hotel and my experience was overall fantastic. We arranged a transfer and everything went fine. Arrived at hotel to a warm welcome and was given our two connecting rooms on the 5th floor ( as requested following the Tsunami warning last year ) and personally escorted us to them. The rooms were fine although I would say the balcony was a little small and only had one chair ??. The pool was fab and I even went in !! And had a few cocktails at the swim up bar. The breakfast was great and staff were attentive and helpful. The only negatives would be that the hotel in general looked a little shabby in places given its only a year old and the ' shanty town' at the side of the hotel was a little of putting but no drama really.
The hotel is very central and only 5 mins to Jungcelyn and less to the beach and has great pubs and restaurants near it

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel was the worst hotel we have stayed in, in Thailand- this is our second trip.
We were in Patong last year and noticed this hotel was nearly completed and thought being new would be really nice. It's not good enough to have a really nice pool with wet bar.After check-in I had to make 5 calls to the front desk for another towel, they only left 2 towels for 3 guests; 5 hours later they brought the towel. The lobby has no air con, after checking my e-mails I was usually left dripping in sweat after a couple of minutes, other hotels have air-con.The gym has no full-time attendant & no air con, or it was set way too high, after your work out there was no cold towels provided[as in other resorts]. I saw rats in garden near our
door. Unable to turn off air con in room at night because it would begin to make a
rattling noise. Finally breakfast service was way too slow, to get any type of egg took for ever and not good; the cooks seemed lost and in experienced.Not up to the standard of other hotels/resorts. The spa outside our room was cracked as were the others.
I would not stay at or recommend this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank kotch350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPVP, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Vintage Park, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Kotch350
Thank you for having taken the time to write a review and sorry if we did not meet your expectations
We would appreciate if you could get back to us as we cannot find any traces / records of your complains, and indeed having to wait 5 hours for an extra towel is not acceptable
Our Guests are very impressed by the very high ceiling and opened-air Lobby of our hotel. It is very unique to have such open space in Patong area.
As part of our commitment to a better World, our Fitness center is equipped with an air-conditioning control box that can be adjusted by the gym users. Cleaned folded yellow towels are kept next to the reception counter against a blue wall. Cold water fountain is also located near that area,
Our breakfast buffet includes an array of food catering for all tastes and diets. Eggs are freshly cooked “a-la-minute” but for the convenience of our Guests we keep some already fried under a warming lamp.
As mentioned previously, we would appreciate if you could get in touch with us to better understand the motive of your comments
We hope you will give us another chance to serve you
With the kindest regards
Herve Duprat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here for three nights as part of a conference party.

The good:
Location, only one block back from beach and near 'shopping shopping'
Staff were lovely, very helpful
Pool was great, plenty of loungers and swim up bar
Food was average, plenty of choice, but average quality

The bad:
Poor quality finishes in rooms for a brand new hotel, 5 star hotel needs 5 star finishes, everything looks shoddy and cheap
If you have a shower, it floods the bathroom, not a sprinkle of water on floor, but FLOODS the bathroom due to poor bath surround design
Bath and sink took a long time to drain. Bath water runs rusty and cloudy, not nice at all, don't use water to brush teeth :0(
Fridge heats up the safe above it, all my valuables were red hot, including ipad
The open corridors and walkways got wet from the rain, VERY slippery and dangerous, didnt see anybody mopping them up for hours after rainfall, and it poured in
Third world 'huts' right next door to hotel, complete with cockerels that crow at 4 am
Cheap hotel backs on to rear of hotel (backpackers??) drunken noisy revellers in their pool at 4am
Random people ringing bedroom doorbell in middle of the night

Would not recommend this hotel

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Chezza_King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPVP, Manager at Novotel Phuket Vintage Park, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Chezza.
Thank you for having stayed with us and please accept our apologies for not having completely succeeded in satisfying you
Despite the fact that the hotel is only one year old, the high occupancy we are facing since opening is very demanding on the hotel hardware, but nevertheless it is our priority to keep our product to very high standards and to this end we are in the process of completing a thorough defect check rooms by rooms through an intensive preventive maintenance program, so as to keep our property to International four stars standards.
Chezza, to be fair, since all our rooms are facing the pool, the photos you posted cannot have been taken from your room balcony.
Feel free to visit us again to witness our many improvements
With the kindest regards
Herve Duprat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Good Hotel Nice swimming pool only two problems i faced. The first one being the wifi good for nothing only worked once at around 4 am. The second was the TV reception but i think that was a problem with the cable company. Besides that the hotel is good staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Za3boora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.2 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#8 of 322 in Patong
1,645 reviews
0.2 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
0.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Resort
Novotel Phuket Resort
#9 of 322 in Patong
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Vintage Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Vintage Park

Property: Novotel Phuket Vintage Park
Address: 89 Rat U Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Patong
#5 Spa Hotel in Patong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#7 Family Hotel in Patong
#13 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Phuket Vintage Park 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of Patong Seaside, Novotel Phuket Vintage Park is a 4.5 stars resort featuring contemporary mixed South East Asia architecture and modern equipment. The hotel is a few steps away from shopping centers and Patong lively nightlife. The Novotel Phuket Vintage Park offers a wealth of varied activities to ensure that everyone gets the most from the site. From water-based activities in the 2,000 sqm swimming pool to aerobic classes, that cooking class to batik painting, you are free to do as you please and make of you day what you will. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Phuket Vintage Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing