We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“During the Curfew”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Patong Hemingway's Hotel
Ranked #162 of 321 Hotels in Patong
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“During the Curfew”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The location, the attentive staff, the vast selection on the menu puts this head and shoulders above a lot of similar hotels nearby. Despite curfew the staff went out their way to ensure we could continue our crusade.
Cannot fault and cannot wait to return.
Great breakfast bacon and the Thai green curry exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieman555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor H, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Pieman555,
Thank you for taking time out to write a review for the hotel. So glad that you enjoyed your stay. I must agree with you our menu has a large selection of delicious food and the large slices of juicy back bacon along with the great tasting pork sausages served at our international buffet breakfast are also a hit with me. We hope you will come and stay with us again.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    87
    39
    12
    17
See reviews for
18
75
66
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Having stayed there twice previously, it was not a difficult decision to stay there again. It is a fantastic hotel for the price, has a great pool bar, great food, the menu is huge and food fantastic what ever you have.
The staff are attentive and very polite,
Rooms are perfect, clean and just right.
Can't wait till next time.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor H, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Robbie C.
We were very pleased to see your review,Thank you. Its nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return visit.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
93 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

You have too many, and too good options around, only if you are lucky enough to not select this hotel. The staff (read the receptionists) is rude, the rooms mosquito-ridden, location hard to find, and to top it, cost not worth the package one bit.

Room Tip: Explore on reaching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arun_kolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor H, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Arun_kolk,
Thank you for your review, Your comments are difficult to understand and are certainly do not match with our normal reviews. However we respect your right to have your own opinion. Though it does question whether you have posted this to the wrong hotel.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Hemmingways Patong, is the best value and friendliest hotel, I have stayed at in a long time. I have stayed there twice before and it just keeps getting better. The staff are attentive and very friendly, they are very professional but dont take themselves too seriously.
My last visit was during the coup, where the curfew kicked in at 10pm, the staff at the hotel went above and beyond, to make sure all the guests needs were cared for..
I cannot recommend Patong Hemmingways higher for freindlyness and value for money.

Check it out...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodyww61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor H, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Woodyww61,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us even though Thailand had a coup with a curfew. The curfew is still in place but from Midnight to 4am only. It is expected that this will be lifted shortly. Our staff will be delighted to know that you found them friendly and the owners will be happy to know you found us value for money,
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Great rooms, roof pool+bar and super fry ups in the morning. Staff are very friendly, rooms have a/c and TV and are very clean. 5 mins from beach and local 'sites'.
This place is great for the Patong experience!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDinDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor H, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear JDinDubai,
Thank you so much for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Like you I consider our buffet breakfast very good. Many of our guests enjoy the roof top pool and bar. The hotels located is indeed excellent near everything in Patong Beach.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Lads trip to the Phuket 10 a side rugby tournament . Oldest lads won't see 50 again, so what was needed was somewhere just off Bangla, close to nightlife, yet quiet, clean and comfortable . Hemingways ticked all the boxes and more. Wonderfully friendly staff and owners - not even the announcement of a coup and nightime curfew put them off their game - they just moved us up to the rooftop pool , bar and BBQ and partied with us until the early hours. Rooms are more than adequate , spotless , and the a/c strong . The rooftop area was a real plus , and even when the curfew started to relax , we found we gravitated up there in preference to anywhere else . We will be back again next year , and some of us before that .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corfuandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor H, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Coruandy,
Thank you so very much for your kind review. We are so pleased that your group enjoyed your stay wtith us.and found our staff friendly and our owners will be so pleased that you appreciated their efforts when the Curfew was in force. I am glad to say that now all is well and very much back to normal. Hope to see you again next year.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
173 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Our hotel was close to the beach and nightlife was the only good thing about it. Room was compact, washroom was not so clean. Not much staff. Complained like every day about mosquitoes. Receptionist at night shift was rude and cold. Breakfast buffet was ok, menu was same for all 3 days we stayed there. Rooftop pool is quiet and peaceful. Can be considered if you cant find any other place near beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Fun_Frolics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor H, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Fun_Frolics,
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The breakfast menu is in fact varied each day in as much that the Asian foods range from Rice dishes to Noodles of diffferent types however the main stay of real pork sausages, large back bacon and baked beans are always available. The style of potatoes changes, from Fried to Scallops and scallop patoto with cheese as are the special breads change with crossants, danish pastries, wholemeal, brown, white, french toast and pancakes. However I am delighted that you thought the location was a good point and you like the roof top pool and bar.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#37 of 321 in Patong
371 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acca Patong
Acca Patong
#129 of 321 in Patong
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elegancy Sansabai Hotel
Elegancy Sansabai Hotel
#83 of 321 in Patong
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
C & N Hotel
C & N Hotel
#48 of 321 in Patong
316 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Expat Hotel
The Expat Hotel
#99 of 321 in Patong
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#60 of 321 in Patong
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Hemingway's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Hemingway's Hotel

Property: Patong Hemingway's Hotel
Address: 179/95-98 Soi Sansabai | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#52 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Patong Hemingway's Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owners Steve and Nuch welcome you to their second 3 star family owned hotel Patong Hemingway's, a contemporary Thai style hotel, on the beautiful and exciting island of Phuket. The hotel is staffed by a well trained and charming team who are here to serve.The reception team will direct you to your room via the elevator. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated; they have all of the usual facilities, such as, Telephone, Safe deposit box, WI-FI, Cable TV, Mini bars are fully stocked and beverages are sold at bar prices, not hotel prices, tea making facilities and even room service. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served in the Mango Tree restaurant and bar on the ground floor. The restaurant serves a fantastic selection of Thai food, Seafood and International food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Patong Hemingway's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patong Hemingway's Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing