We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing gem Look No Further!!! Home away from a home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Patong Hemingway's Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Patong Hemingway's Hotel
Ranked #152 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing gem Look No Further!!! Home away from a home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed here for 12 nights, all i can say i felt at home. The room was very clean, the bed very comfortable, so close to everything, still no noise.

I can t praise the staff enough, both receptionists of the day at night, always smiling, always helping out. I used the dry cleaning service 2 times during my stay 150baht/ kilo that s just great :). And the cleaners did an amazing job, cleaning my room, it was spotless again every day, i tried to tip them when i saw them, please do the same a small tip means u appreciate their work, and i really respect thai people, they are very hard working.

The roof pool was a plus, the wifi is a bit slow but did the job, airconditioning perfect ( lol so good i caught a small flue), privacy is great, the restaurant and the airport transfer are great to.

Overall i had an amazing stay, i will defenitely stay here again , and i can advise to anyone!! See you soon :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacooob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Jacooob,
The hotel management and staff are so pleased to read your very kind review. Your comment is noted about the WiFi we are looking at A new Wi-Fi standard 802.11ad (WiGig) which uses 60GHz band and delivers speeds up to 10 Gbps. As the current bandwidth in Patong and indeed Phuket gets slowed down with the influx of visitors to the Island in our Peak Season. So glad you liked our roof top pool sun deck and bar. We look forward to you staying with us again. Thanks for the review.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    84
    38
    11
    16
See reviews for
17
75
63
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 4d3n.
- awesome location (5min to mall and bangla street. 10min to beach)
- quiet (even though it's right in the middle of patong, it is tuck away in a bend so there isn't any commotion)
- rooftop pool is a bonus.
- staff are really friendly
- rooms are very clean and fine working condition
- wifi abit weak in certain part of the room further away from router but decent across all floors

really wonderful place to stay in and affordable price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear blissen,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review for our hotel. Many of our guest like you appreciate the hotel location everything is close by but the hotel is queit away from the noise and bustle of Patong. Thank you for your comment about the WiFi being weak in certain part of the room. we are currently planning to increase the internet speed to 100 but I will certianinly check about the router. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and will return to stay with us again.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights. Perfect location: quiet street but everything in walking distance.
Helpful staff and nice pool on top floor. Clean, spacious room.
Restaurant a bit slow but food was fine. Bar at the pool is run by the laziest bartender I’ve seen in a long time. Even though there where many people at the pool, he never intended to sell some drinks. Better buy your drinks at the 7/11 and bring them up to the pool. Saves some money too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Roland K.
Thank you so much for taking time to write such a nice review for our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for your comment, we will certainly look into your remarks regarding the service at the pool bar and we apologise for our poor service. I would be grateful if could email me directly with the details. The reason for this request is that we get many good comments for Charlie our regular pool bar attendant so yours is a little unusual. It well may be if it was just one day when Charlie was on day off. So we will need to ensure that his replacement is doing his work correctly Grateful for your assistance on this matter. Thank you once again for your review.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed in this great hotel in December. Staff was wonderful and very accommodating. Location was a bonus – easy walking distance to Jungceylon, great restaurants, and Bangala Road. Room was very clean, well furnished, Internet access, and quiet. Everything I needed!!
When I’m back in the area I’ll most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IL_DIVER_60607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear IL DIVER,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff were happy to see your comment that they were wonderful. Its always nice to see our guests take the time to write such lovely reviews. Thank you so much and we hope to see you return soon.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Fantastic 12 day holiday starting with the airport transfer waiting at the airport arrival. Top location right in the middle of party town Patong, 2 minute walk to Jungceylon shopping centre and the bars and nightlife of Bangla Rd, about a 5 minute walk to the beach. Rooms large with a huge bed and keeped spotlessly clean thanks to Ana from housekeeping. Bloom and Tommie at reception ever helpful taking care of tour bookings and good local advice to keep you safe. At the top of the hotel is a pool and bar where you can dine or relax by the pool, with free entertainment from Charlie with his guitar.The hotel has numerous resteraunts around town for fine dining out and about. Spacial thanks to Dr Steve in cureing at stomach problem in 6 hours. Thanks to Sorn and his team for making it a wonderful 12 day experience. I will be booking again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Dave W,
Thank you for your wonderful review, We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comment to Dr Steve I am sure he will be delighted as will be the staff you mentioned. The staff are always very proud when their names appear in customers reviews. The hotel's location is a definite plus for our guests as everything is close by and in walking distance. Thanks again for the review and we do look forward to you staying with us again
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kl
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and found this little gem of a hotel to be superb value if your looking to stay in the heart of Patong. Jung Ceylon shopping mall and Bangla road are literally just round the corner but the hotel is remarkably quiet and secluded given the location.

Rooms are spotless with big double beds. I would imagine some would find the bathroom a bit small but for this price its fine. Nice rooftop pool and bar offering great value and drinks while the complimentary breakfast whilst not amazing is good enough to set you up for the day.

Staff are great and friendly and I really dont have a bad word to say about this place if your looking for good value smack in the middle of everything.

Helpful?
Thank jaskl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Jaski,
Thank you for your nice review, We do like to think we provide a quality hotel and service at a reasonable cost. As you comment the hotel is situation in a convenient but quiet location near all the best that Patong Beach has to offer, we are pleased that you enjoyed our roof top sun deck, pool and bar, and I concur that the prices of the drinks is very reasonable with all day cocktails at only 99 Baht. We hope you will come and stay with us again. Our staff will be delighted to see that you mention they were great and friendly.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

The hotel is nestled behind a small lane, so it was fortunate that our taxi driver was able to find it after asking directions from a local. By the way, I was a bit apprehensive when the taxi from the airport stopped us at his office en-route to the hotel and the staffs coaxed me into booking a return transfer to the airport. I obliged and luckily the rate was the same even if I booked a taxi from the hotel. The hotel lobby is not very impressive, in fact it was a bit small considering that it is an 8-storey establishment. Nevertheless, check in was smooth and we got to our room. Although I got a double bed instead of a twin bed as requested in my booking, I didn’t mind as the bed was huge and it was able to accommodate my child. The room was not very big, though it was clean and had most of the basic amenities including free WiFi. There’s a flat screen TV but with most channels showing grainy images. There is a closet with a mini safe, so it’s useful for a 5-day stay. The room we got didn’t have any view, except to the next building which is just 5 feet away. At least there was a small hanger outside the window where you can dry your swim suits, assuming your idea of coming to Phuket is to visit the beaches and islands.

There is a small, and I mean small, swimming pool at the roof top as well as a bar. It’s more for a dip rather than a swim, but the weather on the first two days of our trip was not so great with some drizzles, so at least it was some recourse for the kid. The breakfast provided by the hotel was basic with not many choices, though the sausages were great. The hotel staff was helpful, they even helped me with booking tickets and arranging transport to the Phuket Fantasea show.

Patong, where the hotel is located, is a party town. So the location of the hotel is great, very near to where the actions are, but far enough that you can get some peace… that is if you don’t have other intoxicated hotel guests raking up some noise in the middle of the night. A 7-Eleven is just around the corner, literally, and you have everything on the street where the hotel is situated. Bars, restaurants, small eat-outs, money changers, tour operators, massage parlours, dive shops, and even a swimming pool where you can take up diving lessons. On the next street is the huge Jungceylon shopping mall, where you’ll find everything you can think of in a shopping mall. Across the road is the infamous Bangla road, pubs and lounges after pubs and lounges, intercepted with street stalls and small shops selling souvenirs, throw in a McDonald’s and a Starbucks too. At the end of Bangla road is Patong beach, and the numerous seafood restaurants lining the length of the street running parallel to the beachfront. All of these are within walking distance from the hotel, so you’ll have to think of going somewhere further to give yourself an excuse to hop on to a tuk-tuk or rent a motorcycle.

So all-in-all, I would rate this hotel as above average at this price range, most certainly helped by the location it is situated in and the helpful staffs. Though if you are looking for a quiet holiday and an empty beach where nobody is there to haggle you to buy everything that you don’t need, then it’s best to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Request rooms that face the front street, so that the view is not that depressing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aurfei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Ayrfei,
Thank you so much for your very comprehensive review. So sorry about not have a twin bed room available for your stay. Unfortunately we have only a limited number of superior rooms with twin beds as most of our guests prefer to have king size doubles. I will look into the matter of Grainy images on the cable TV and check with our cable supplier. From time to time the reception on some channels is poor, probably due to the poor infrastructure of the mass of cables you can see all over Patong, which is not unusual for Thailand. You are correct when you mention our pool on the roof top sun deck and bar being small and it being a more of dipping or play pool. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#33 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acca Patong
Acca Patong
#131 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elegancy Sansabai Hotel
Elegancy Sansabai Hotel
#76 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Gig Hotel
The Gig Hotel
#111 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Expat Hotel
The Expat Hotel
#98 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.0 mi away
WE Hotel at Sansabai
WE Hotel at Sansabai
#208 of 319 in Patong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Hemingway's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Hemingway's Hotel

Property: Patong Hemingway's Hotel
Address: 179/95-98 Soi Sansabai | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#51 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Patong Hemingway's Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owners Steve and Nuch welcome you to their second 3 star family owned hotel Patong Hemingway's, a contemporary Thai style hotel, on the beautiful and exciting island of Phuket. The hotel is staffed by a well trained and charming team who are here to serve.The reception team will direct you to your room via the elevator. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated; they have all of the usual facilities, such as, Telephone, Safe deposit box, WI-FI, Cable TV, Mini bars are fully stocked and beverages are sold at bar prices, not hotel prices, tea making facilities and even room service. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served in the Mango Tree restaurant and bar on the ground floor. The restaurant serves a fantastic selection of Thai food, Seafood and International food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Patong Hemingway's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patong Hemingway's Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing