We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Patong Hemingway's Hotel
Ranked #162 of 321 Hotels in Patong
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“What a gem!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed in this great hotel in December. Staff was wonderful and very accommodating. Location was a bonus – easy walking distance to Jungceylon, great restaurants, and Bangala Road. Room was very clean, well furnished, Internet access, and quiet. Everything I needed!!
When I’m back in the area I’ll most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IL_DIVER_60607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear IL DIVER,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff were happy to see your comment that they were wonderful. Its always nice to see our guests take the time to write such lovely reviews. Thank you so much and we hope to see you return soon.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    87
    39
    12
    17
See reviews for
18
75
66
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tolga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Fantastic 12 day holiday starting with the airport transfer waiting at the airport arrival. Top location right in the middle of party town Patong, 2 minute walk to Jungceylon shopping centre and the bars and nightlife of Bangla Rd, about a 5 minute walk to the beach. Rooms large with a huge bed and keeped spotlessly clean thanks to Ana from housekeeping. Bloom and Tommie at reception ever helpful taking care of tour bookings and good local advice to keep you safe. At the top of the hotel is a pool and bar where you can dine or relax by the pool, with free entertainment from Charlie with his guitar.The hotel has numerous resteraunts around town for fine dining out and about. Spacial thanks to Dr Steve in cureing at stomach problem in 6 hours. Thanks to Sorn and his team for making it a wonderful 12 day experience. I will be booking again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Dave W,
Thank you for your wonderful review, We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comment to Dr Steve I am sure he will be delighted as will be the staff you mentioned. The staff are always very proud when their names appear in customers reviews. The hotel's location is a definite plus for our guests as everything is close by and in walking distance. Thanks again for the review and we do look forward to you staying with us again
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kl
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and found this little gem of a hotel to be superb value if your looking to stay in the heart of Patong. Jung Ceylon shopping mall and Bangla road are literally just round the corner but the hotel is remarkably quiet and secluded given the location.

Rooms are spotless with big double beds. I would imagine some would find the bathroom a bit small but for this price its fine. Nice rooftop pool and bar offering great value and drinks while the complimentary breakfast whilst not amazing is good enough to set you up for the day.

Staff are great and friendly and I really dont have a bad word to say about this place if your looking for good value smack in the middle of everything.

Helpful?
Thank jaskl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Jaski,
Thank you for your nice review, We do like to think we provide a quality hotel and service at a reasonable cost. As you comment the hotel is situation in a convenient but quiet location near all the best that Patong Beach has to offer, we are pleased that you enjoyed our roof top sun deck, pool and bar, and I concur that the prices of the drinks is very reasonable with all day cocktails at only 99 Baht. We hope you will come and stay with us again. Our staff will be delighted to see that you mention they were great and friendly.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The hotel is nestled behind a small lane, so it was fortunate that our taxi driver was able to find it after asking directions from a local. By the way, I was a bit apprehensive when the taxi from the airport stopped us at his office en-route to the hotel and the staffs coaxed me into booking a return transfer to the airport. I obliged and luckily the rate was the same even if I booked a taxi from the hotel. The hotel lobby is not very impressive, in fact it was a bit small considering that it is an 8-storey establishment. Nevertheless, check in was smooth and we got to our room. Although I got a double bed instead of a twin bed as requested in my booking, I didn’t mind as the bed was huge and it was able to accommodate my child. The room was not very big, though it was clean and had most of the basic amenities including free WiFi. There’s a flat screen TV but with most channels showing grainy images. There is a closet with a mini safe, so it’s useful for a 5-day stay. The room we got didn’t have any view, except to the next building which is just 5 feet away. At least there was a small hanger outside the window where you can dry your swim suits, assuming your idea of coming to Phuket is to visit the beaches and islands.

There is a small, and I mean small, swimming pool at the roof top as well as a bar. It’s more for a dip rather than a swim, but the weather on the first two days of our trip was not so great with some drizzles, so at least it was some recourse for the kid. The breakfast provided by the hotel was basic with not many choices, though the sausages were great. The hotel staff was helpful, they even helped me with booking tickets and arranging transport to the Phuket Fantasea show.

Patong, where the hotel is located, is a party town. So the location of the hotel is great, very near to where the actions are, but far enough that you can get some peace… that is if you don’t have other intoxicated hotel guests raking up some noise in the middle of the night. A 7-Eleven is just around the corner, literally, and you have everything on the street where the hotel is situated. Bars, restaurants, small eat-outs, money changers, tour operators, massage parlours, dive shops, and even a swimming pool where you can take up diving lessons. On the next street is the huge Jungceylon shopping mall, where you’ll find everything you can think of in a shopping mall. Across the road is the infamous Bangla road, pubs and lounges after pubs and lounges, intercepted with street stalls and small shops selling souvenirs, throw in a McDonald’s and a Starbucks too. At the end of Bangla road is Patong beach, and the numerous seafood restaurants lining the length of the street running parallel to the beachfront. All of these are within walking distance from the hotel, so you’ll have to think of going somewhere further to give yourself an excuse to hop on to a tuk-tuk or rent a motorcycle.

So all-in-all, I would rate this hotel as above average at this price range, most certainly helped by the location it is situated in and the helpful staffs. Though if you are looking for a quiet holiday and an empty beach where nobody is there to haggle you to buy everything that you don’t need, then it’s best to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Request rooms that face the front street, so that the view is not that depressing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aurfei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Ayrfei,
Thank you so much for your very comprehensive review. So sorry about not have a twin bed room available for your stay. Unfortunately we have only a limited number of superior rooms with twin beds as most of our guests prefer to have king size doubles. I will look into the matter of Grainy images on the cable TV and check with our cable supplier. From time to time the reception on some channels is poor, probably due to the poor infrastructure of the mass of cables you can see all over Patong, which is not unusual for Thailand. You are correct when you mention our pool on the roof top sun deck and bar being small and it being a more of dipping or play pool. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaiyaphum
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I have stayed a few times now at this hotel and as always I cannot really fault it at all for the price,
Comfy clean room, great food, very friendly English speaking staff, ideal location.
I would certainly recommend this hotel and will be back again next time.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are probably better for a view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank baz3401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Baz3401,
Thank you so much for your kind review, We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return to stay with us again.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bat Yam, Israel
Level Contributor
125 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Very nice place. Rooms like a Marriott ones. All in. Service great. Internet is free and connectivity is good.
All bars and shops are very close by.
Beds are very firm. For Chinese, for sure.
We didn't book breakfast as we went for dives early mornings.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Alexkov,
As a top contributor to TripAdvisor, we are grateful for your very nice review. Note to prospective future guests reading this, If you find the mattress too firm please request extra padding for the mattress. We are delight that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return soon.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Patong Hemingway's Hotel is a wonderful hotel with a genuine Boutique feel to it.
I spent a week there at the start of the peak season and thoroughly enjoyed my stay.
The staff were always welcoming and friendly being fluent in english helping me out when I had issues with reservations for day trips.
The quality of food and the selection of alcohol at the restaurant was impressive and the rooftop pool was always a great place to relax.
The rooms were simple and tidy with all the amenities you would expect my only complaint was that I found the mattress to be a bit too hard.
The location really is great with Jungceylon and Bangla road a two minute walk away, your right in the heart of the action. But the hotels off the main road location means noise is not an issue at all.
I plan on returning on my next trip to Phuket and highly recommend the hotel for anyone visiting Patong.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Darryl K.
Thank you for your lovely review, I will inform our front staff of your kind comments about being helpful with your day trips. We are also happy to oblige when our Guests have problems. Sorry you found the mattress too firm, As I have mentioned in other reviews before just speak to the front office staff or the housekeeping and they will only be too happy to put padding on the mattress for you. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope you will return soon.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#37 of 321 in Patong
371 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acca Patong
Acca Patong
#129 of 321 in Patong
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elegancy Sansabai Hotel
Elegancy Sansabai Hotel
#83 of 321 in Patong
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
C & N Hotel
C & N Hotel
#48 of 321 in Patong
316 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Expat Hotel
The Expat Hotel
#99 of 321 in Patong
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#60 of 321 in Patong
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Hemingway's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Hemingway's Hotel

Property: Patong Hemingway's Hotel
Address: 179/95-98 Soi Sansabai | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#52 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Patong Hemingway's Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owners Steve and Nuch welcome you to their second 3 star family owned hotel Patong Hemingway's, a contemporary Thai style hotel, on the beautiful and exciting island of Phuket. The hotel is staffed by a well trained and charming team who are here to serve.The reception team will direct you to your room via the elevator. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated; they have all of the usual facilities, such as, Telephone, Safe deposit box, WI-FI, Cable TV, Mini bars are fully stocked and beverages are sold at bar prices, not hotel prices, tea making facilities and even room service. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served in the Mango Tree restaurant and bar on the ground floor. The restaurant serves a fantastic selection of Thai food, Seafood and International food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Patong Hemingway's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patong Hemingway's Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing