We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Patong Hemingway's Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Nap Patong(Patong)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deevana Patong Resort & Spa(Patong)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa(Patong)(Great Value!)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 45% below average rates

The price you found is 45% lower than this hotel's average rate of $180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Amari Phuket(Patong)
$152
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$100
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burasari Resort(Patong)(Great Value!)
$104
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$171
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $146/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$213
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveler rating
114
90
41
15
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
90
41
15
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolbangla roadearly morning flighthighly recommend staying herethai standardsbangla rdrecommend this hotellow seasoncleaned every dayquiet at nightnight marketstayed here for nightsreceptionistthailandcleaners
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 278 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice little hotel, quiet but just moments away from all the action along Bangla Road.

The roof top bar by the pool has a great happy hour deal - 99 baht for all cocktails from 4-8pm. Great if you just wanna hang out with friends in a quiet place.

The corridor smelled a bit, but rooms were made and towels replaced daily. The receptionist wasn't the most approachable, but the other staff made up for it. The breakfast spread was sumptuous. I enjoyed their Thai dishes more than their western ones though.

Airport transfer is 800 baht each way for 1-2 persons. Their driver showed up promptly and got us safely to our destination.

All in all, a good place to stay in if you're on a budget. Their location more than made up for their shortcomings.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear Jean H,
Thank you for your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Many of our Guests mention that the location of the hotel is excellent being near to everything important and yet in a quiet location. Sorry to hear that you found our receptionist wasn't the most approachable. We are continual motivating our staff using the reports on TripAdvisor and the other reviews. I am sure yours will be brought up at our next briefing. As we do encourage our staff to be friendly and helpful. Again thank you for taking the time to write your review. And we hope to see you stay with us again.
Regards
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

It was a great experience and the only thing i can complain about, was the fact that the hotel forgot to pick me up in the airport as agreed and confirmed by mail.

BUT.. I really liked the hotel.

Great Pool on the roof
Pool bar with happy hour
Good room
Shower with good pressure on the Water
Good and fast internet
Good breakfast in the restaurant
Helpfull reception

I will come back

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view, otherwise you will face another Building 1 meter from yours. In my case, it was the office of the other hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roca_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear Roca_dk,
Thank you for your very kind review, I do apologize for our lapse in not meeting you at the airport, I wonder if you could kindly contact me directly through the hotel email and then I can investigate the cause of our failure. I am so glad that you really enjoyed your stay with us. I think the tip that you gave regarding the room with a view is a sensible suggestion. We do have many returning guests who prefer to be put in room not facing the street as its away from the sun glare and a little quieter as they like to sleep late,
Regards
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I am a regular visitor to Phuket and have stayed in several hotels there, many yet to be reviewed. Aside from a few, I find most to be quite lacklustre and uninspiring and also, in many cases, way overpriced for what they offer. Hemingways Hotel, just off Soi Sansabai, in Patong was however a refreshing change.

Starting with that location, many people visiting Patong will like to be near Soi Bangla (the central hub of Patong nightlife), near restaurants and also near to Jungceylon, the central and best shopping mall which also houses banks, eateries and even a multiplex cinema showing movies in English. The problem with hotels that pitch themselves too close to the hussle and bustle is noise, and downtown Patong has hussle and bustle up to 6am! I’ve stayed at a few hotels in that area (little more than glorified guesthouses really – but often charging top dollar prices) and the noise, especially from TaiPan Disco which doesn’t close until around 6am, can be horrendous, ruining any chance of a peaceful night’s sleep. Hemingways is pretty much half-way up the length of Soi Sansabai but tucked up around a corner, shielding it from the noise completely. Outisde the front of the hotel there is plenty of parking for motor bikes, often the preferred mode of self-transport for tourists, if they even bother. Here there really is no need as it’s in walking distance of everything. From the hotel it’s about a 3 minute walk to Soi Bangla, 5 minutes to Jungceylon and around 10 minutes to the beach. There is also a 7-11 on the corner near the hotel, great for topping up with toiletries, snacks and bottled water.

Inside the hotel the reception area is clean, tidy and functional with pleasant and welcoming staff. Check-in is a very painless process. It’s good to see the hotel doesn’t have the same sprawling reception areas that some hotels seem to favour. This allows the hotel to make much better use of its real estate with some very tasteful seating areas, a fully functional restaurant and a bar.

The food at the restaurant I found to be very good and very reasonably priced with a wide and varied menu ranging from Western classics to traditional Thai fayre. The restaurant is also very tastefully designed and furnished, definitely a place you can linger either to eat or for a few drinks. You can also grab a very decent coffee in this area and it’s easy to sit and chat with other guests here, if that takes your fancy.

On the subject of drinks, the hotel also has a superb pool and bar on the roof from which you can get great views over Patong. This area is open all day until 10pm and you can also order food from the restaurant to eat here. Drinks are very reasonably priced and occasionally the owners will hold themed evenings and barbeques here for the guests. The pool is a good enough size with several loungers for relaxing in the sun if you don’t fancy the beach and this bar is great for a few beers before heading out, or even to spend the night if the glitz of Bangla gets to you too much.

The rooms I found to be nicely appointed and decorated with large comfortable beds, TV, fridge and room safe. There are 8 twin bed rooms and 16 double bed rooms. The rooms also all have effective air con. The rooms are cleaned well, daily, and the bathrooms are well appointed with free toiletries. The hotel also provides 2 bottles of mineral water FOC daily.

Hemingways is a gem of hotel in the heart of Patong IMO with a brilliant location and superb friendly staff. Another benefit is that the owners also have several other businesses in the area including the exceptional ‘De-Lish’ restaurant, ‘Heroes’ Bar in Soi Bangla (great for a few relaxing drinks without the full-on Bangla experience) and ‘Penetentiary Bar’ in the Tiger Complex (again, Bangla) when you fancy a bit more action, and you will often find the owners at these establishments later in the evenings, great to meet up for a chat, a few drinks and the low-down on Patong has to offer. The fact that the hotel manages to occupy one of the few quiet spots allowing a peaceful night’s sleep is an added bonus. Well worth a visit IMO and I would have no hesitation in recommending Hemingways to friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ninja_Sanook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Pick_of_Penang.
As a Senior contributor to Trip Advisor, I was so pleasantly surprised to read your excellent review. I think you have covered about every aspect giving full information to our future guests who read your report. Thank you again. I am sure at my next meeting with staff they will be delighted to hear your comments that you found superbly friendly. In addition I thank you for giving information regarding the owners having several other excellent restaurants.
Regards
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Have now visited the hotel three times and will definitely be going back. It is a modern hotel right in the centre of Patong Beach but in a quiet cul de sac so away from the noise. The hotel has well appointed rooms and a great roof bar and pool. Just the place to relax for a leisurely afternoon. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. Steve, the owner, is attentive and nothing is too much trouble. Pick up and drop off at the airport are well organised in a modern minibus. The food is good and not expensive. If you are looking for a good, clean hotel in the heart of Patong then Hemingway's is definitely for you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRT1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear JRT 1953,
Thank you for your review,and your excellent recommendation. Reviews such as your are a good motivation for our staff. We like to give them a pat on the back when we receice reviews and also point out any adverse comments. We appreciate your time taken to submit this review. We hope that you will stay with us again soon
Regards
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

If you want a clean, comfortable room, friendly staff, great location and a wonderful host, then Patong Hemingway's Hotel is for you. We were there for an end of season cricket tour, with a bit of golf and plenty of partying thrown in. Our Host Steve and his lovely wife made it feel like home from home and his staff at the hotel are just amazing. Everything was arranged for us, transport, dinner bookings and golf,

We will be back!

Saltie

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saltie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Saltie55,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. Steve & Nuch the owner and the staff will be delighted to see your comments. We will welcome you back it was delightful to have such a nice group of well behaved gentlemen staying out our hotel.
Regards
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews