We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leisure Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Patong Hemingway's Hotel
Ranked #166 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Leisure Holiday”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was a family trip for us and going to Phuket for a short vacation of 3 days and 2 nights stay, we wanted to enjoy the time spent there and decided to stay in Patong Hemingway Hotel located in Patong area which we knew that it was located nearby to Jungceylon Mall, which was a Plus for us, doing some shopping as well besides going to the beach. Everything was within walking distance from the hotel.
We didn't have to walk too far to the shopping mall, and also to Banzaan Market sells fresh food, seafood, everything, upstairs, they even have eating stalls which will cook for you with a small fee for the fresh food and seafood that you buy!
This hotel has comfortable beds plus comfy pillows too.The Management and staff are friendly too. The breakfast provided may not have a vast variety but it was sufficient and tasty to our liking. There was a swimming pool on the rooftop of the hotel and nice view of the surrounding area of Patong.

We shifted to two different rooms on the 2nd night as we wanted to have 2 connecting rooms. One room had twin beds and another had a double bed. However we regretted changing to these rooms as the rooms had a bit of stench smell, also one of the bathrooms, the shower area, the water didn't flow well into the outlet thus the water flowed right to the room and to the other connecting room, much to our dismay.
As it was already late at night, also the hotel was fully booked, we just stay put and the staff did ask us if we wanted to shift to another of their sister hotel but they need to check on the availability. Since it was already late at night, we didn't want to. The staff apologised and quickly attended to cleaning up the wet floor.

We reported to the Management of the incident the next morning and they regretted and apologised. I am sure they then attended to get the maintenance staff to look into it soonest after our incident.

To sum it all,we enjoyed our short stay there. Comfortable hotel, comfortable beds, friendly staff. Location great!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Grace,
Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is a very much plus point when staying in Patong Beach there are many hotels in Patong beach that are some distance from the shopping area and the night life and guests can easily spend over 400 Baht extra a day on local taxis getting to and from the beach, shopping area or night life. Again I apologize for the problem with the bathroom water flow and smell unfortunately it was rather late in the evening for our maintenance people to fix, However I understand it was repaired immediate upon you check out. Your review has been passed to our staff and they thank you.
Regards
Victor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    87
    39
    12
    17
See reviews for
18
75
66
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for five nights earlier this month and absolutely loved it!! Before we arrived in Phuket i sent the hotel an email enquiring about an airport shuttle and got a reply back within the hour. We used Agoda to make our booking and booked a double room not including breakfast for £16 a night for the two of us so we weren't expecting great things for this price but we were pleasently suprised - when we arrived and were checking in we were greeted with free fruit cocktails, the room is cleaned with fresh sheets and towels every single day. The mini bar was bar prices and not the usual mini bar extortionate prices. The room service itself was free so we took full advantage of this during a hangover day and the staff were so polite and even came in to our room and laid out the food nicely for us on the table. All of the staff throughout the hotel regardless of what their job was would greet you with a smile and always say hello. The roof top pool and bar were just an another bonus if you ask me. The hotel is close enough to the beach and main strip (5-10 minute walk) but far enough away so you are not kept up all night! Have recommended this hotel to several friends already and will continue to do so! Thank you for such amazing service!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Jenna801,
Our staff loved your review and ask me to ensure that I thank you. The hotel owners, management and all our staff do their very best to ensure that Guests enjoy their stay with us. We appreciate that not all three star hotels change the bed linen each day or indeed provide room service, We are so delighted that you also enjoyed our roof top pool and bar. Many of our guests comment on the quietness of our location because we are so near to the hustle and bustle of the night life and shopping area. We are pleased that you will be recommending our hotel to your friends and we look forward to them staying with us, Please however note that the high and peak seasons are approaching and it is advisable to book early, for the best rates and for latest availability it probably better to book direct through the hotel website at www.patonghemingways.com
Thank you once again for your kind review
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaiyaphum
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just stayed for 4 nights, found the hotel via Air Asia Go.
All I can say is everything was in my opinion first class for the price. Location, room, service, staff, food, pool etc etc. I have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world that did not come up to the excellent standards I found at Hemingway,s. I promised the lady at reception that I would write a review as I was so impressed... so I have.
Please thank the staff for their first class service as well.
Barry

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baz3401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Baz3401,
Thank you so much for taking out your busy time to write a review on Trip Advisor, It is really appreciated and I am sure our reception lady will be so happy to see it. However I must point out to other readers of your review that we are not a 5 star hotel though we do try our best to keep our quality high and ensure that our staff take good care of our guests. We like to think of our hotel as a home from home with relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff. Certainly your review will be shown to our staff as we have found that the use of the reviews from guests help to motivate our staff. So your thank will be known.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Seriously, the room smelled like a sewer. We asked to change rooms but the manager told us the hotel had a "full booking" ... right. We saw lots of empty rooms, doors wide open. They did eventuallt move us up a few floors but the smell really didn't improve.

Oh, and we noticed at 3am that we'd been moved into a room that connected with the room of someone who seemed to be enjoying the ladies of Patong...replete with smacking sounds and the sounds of broken glass...a truly lovely way to be woken up...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oh_me1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Oh_me1
Thank you for your review, we are so sorry that your room smelled, We investigated your compliant but could not find any smells. We also apologize for the disturbance caused by an inconsiderate guest. Because of the nature of Patong Beach being a party town, intoxicated guests making noise does occur but not regularly as the hotel is fortunate for the most to have very nice guests who do consider other guests.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a week's stay in Patong Hemingway. It has close vicinity to all the recreations available in Patong. Patong beach is 10 minutes away by walk from this hotel. The hotel is well maintained and the staffs are warm enough to welcome the guests and help them with their needs on time.
Though we encountered the power shut down twice during the stay but they handled it well by making the guest feel comfortable by providing alternate accommodation.
As a whole the stay was pleasant and comfortable

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aiswarya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Aisarya,
Thank you for you very kind review, We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and apologize for the disruption to the power supply which was not just to the hotel but the whole surrounding area., Whilst the management do what they can to assist guests at the loss of electricity supply from the local authority it is a little unusual for the area to loose power twice in one day. We have asked the Electric Generating Authority of Thailand for an explanation but have had no reply from them. As you mentioned we are fortunate to be able to offer alternative accommodation at our sister hotel Hemingway's which did not suffer from the power outage.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed in Hemmingway's during a rugby trip with friends. It was a very memorable weekend due to the warm welcome from the staff at the hotel. Our check-in was pre-organised and the management had organised custom-made welcome gifts which I have never seen before. The rooms were immaculate, cosy and well serviced. The selling point of Hemmingway's was the hospitality of the owners, Steve and his wife, who catered for our group from the moment we arrived until we left. I wouldn't stay anywhere but Hemmingway's in Patong.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Graham M,
Thank you for your excellent review, We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us Steve, Nuch and I were pleased to meet with your group and hope you will return to stay with us again. Thank you again for taking time to submit a review.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Had a great stay at this hotel. Clean comfortable rooms and very friendly staff ensured a trip to remember. The hotel is located in a quiet street and is a stones throw away from the wide variety of bars, restaurants, nightlife and bazars that Patong has on offer. The beach is a 5 minute walk away, however, Hemingway`s has a great roof top pool and bar.
Overall a very enjoyable stay that is totally recommended. Looking forward to my next trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Dai G,
The management and staff are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Comments from our guests are always passed to our staff and needless to say they were more than happy to see from your review that you found them to very friendly. Its clear that reviews like yours help us to motivate our staff. We look forward to your next stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#37 of 322 in Patong
374 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acca Patong
Acca Patong
#140 of 322 in Patong
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elegancy Sansabai Hotel
Elegancy Sansabai Hotel
#84 of 322 in Patong
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
C & N Hotel
C & N Hotel
#46 of 322 in Patong
318 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Expat Hotel
The Expat Hotel
#102 of 322 in Patong
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
FunDee Boutique Hotel
FunDee Boutique Hotel
#134 of 322 in Patong
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Hemingway's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Hemingway's Hotel

Property: Patong Hemingway's Hotel
Address: 179/95-98 Soi Sansabai | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#52 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Patong Hemingway's Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owners Steve and Nuch welcome you to their second 3 star family owned hotel Patong Hemingway's, a contemporary Thai style hotel, on the beautiful and exciting island of Phuket. The hotel is staffed by a well trained and charming team who are here to serve.The reception team will direct you to your room via the elevator. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated; they have all of the usual facilities, such as, Telephone, Safe deposit box, WI-FI, Cable TV, Mini bars are fully stocked and beverages are sold at bar prices, not hotel prices, tea making facilities and even room service. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served in the Mango Tree restaurant and bar on the ground floor. The restaurant serves a fantastic selection of Thai food, Seafood and International food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Patong Hemingway's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patong Hemingway's Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing