We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice resort almost like a 5 star hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa
Ranked #78 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice resort almost like a 5 star hotel!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I just came back from Phuket ytd and it was really a wonderful experience. The people in phuket were very friendly overall and the islands are very beautiful. Sea sun sand resort is really beautiful too and we were lucky to get a pool view deluxe room and it was very nice. When i first arrived at the resort, we were amazed by the wonderful view of the sea from the Rooftop garden/pool and the rooms were even nicer than in pictures. And it was really clean too. We had very good night sleep for the 6 nights that we were there. However, i would only give them a 4/5 stars because:

1. The staffs in the resort were not very friendly(only a couple of them are really friendly), the rest were more of like you had to talk to them first, before they will reply/greet you. Therefore, more of a personal service kinda resort.

2. The location was quite a distance from Bangla street which is the most happening place in Patong and also, food wise, there are quite limited choices near the resort. We often had to walk at least 10-15 mins to find decent food.

3. Service was not flexible. We had a flight back at 10pm(Phuket time) but we could not get a late checkout even when we requested to pay their rate of 200thb/hour for late checkout. The receptionist insisted that we pay the full rate per night if we wanted to extend to just 6pm. So we ended up having to pay 400thb to extend just till 2pm; which is their latest time they can allow us to checkout. We ended up having to wander around the hot and sunny streets till around 6+ when our driver would come and pick us up.

We recommend this resort if you are going for just a relaxation trip where you will spend most of your time in the resort/tours because the resort is really a very luxurious one and once you go in you will be free of all worries. We also recommend that you SHOULD go for the Tachai Island Tour by LOVE ANDAMAN because they provide the best tour service ever we enjoyed our tour to Tachai island with them.

You could also go to No.9 Restaurant which is just opposite our resort to have dinner which have really nice western food at reasonable price.

Also, you can go to Brothers Trip Tour Agency just opposite the resort to book your tours as the boss and his staffs are really friendly and their tours are very enjoyable with quality service. Our wonderful tour to TaChai island was booked there. they can give you a very good price if you negotiate with them.

Overall, Sea Sun Sand is a good resort that i will recommend to all, don't be deceived by the lobby, you will find paradise up there above the lobby :)

Room Tip: Higher floors are better and remember to request for late check out earlier if you need it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charmaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    250
    126
    50
    57
See reviews for
117
340
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

-Situated on the northern end of Patong beach, the resort is less than 5min walk to the beach but maybe 15-20min walk to the main area of Patong (Bangla Rd, Jungceylon). Good if you prefer to be away from the loud busy areas but is bit of a far walk but there's still plenty of stuff in between (massage palours, plenty of food etc)

Likes:
-Better than average breakfast buffet (decent eastern and western selections)
-Pool was nice but bit small
-Bar by the pool had a buy one get free deal every evening
-Staff were very friendly and helpful and majority had decent English (something that I've read to be an issue at other hotels)
-Room was very spacious and had a very modern design. Bathtub and shower were nice too however some finer details were a bit off/lacking (some chips/pencil marks left by builders on the tiles)
-Hotel is relatively new

Dislikes:
-Resort was really big and so we had to walk quite a bit and take three separate elevators to get from the entrance to our room (although the elevators were quite fast and efficient)
-The fact that it's new meant that a lot of drivers didn't know where it was
-also it was on the northern end of Patong meant that the tuktuk/taxi drivers demanded more from us
-VERY BAD sound proofing: could hear neighbours talking and even worse, could hear their doorbell ringing very loudly

Overall, the hotel was quite nice though we probably wouldn't stay again, not because it's bad but because we'd wanna try a new place in different location

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location if u want some peace and quiet in a busy place. I stayed in the lower section with ocean views. It takes some time to navigate around the hotel as its split into many sections.
Breakfast was great each morning with amazing views. My bed was quite firm which was about the only complaint I had.
The massage places around the hotel are excellent and cheaper than further in town and it was a nice stroll into the markets and Jungcelon shopping centre.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here for a week over New Years. The staff were so friendly and helpful. We even got a free upgrade! Excellent views over patong beach. The location is perfect as its down the north end of the beach away from the noise of the heart of patong but is only a 10-15min walk from the centre. The breakfast was great and even though I had an early flight the morning I left they still let me grab some toast and pastries to eat even though their breakfast hours weren't open. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaddieKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We were upgraded to a jacuzzi balcony suite so that was nice. Room service didn't speak very good English so that was interesting. The pool was impressive but filthy!!! So no swimming. Same went for the wet tanning areas.. Bit of a sess pool

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed there from Nov 30 - Dec 2nd 2012. The appearance and the way the resort has been built is very pleasing and so are the pools on the terrace and lower floors. The resort also has a beautiful view of the Patong beach and is peaceful once inside.

However, following are some of the negatives:

1. Entrance is not too appealing 2. We had a bad experience with the hotel / staff. We are vegetarians and since the hotel did not have much options for us (actually as low as 1), we decided to ask the staff on the terrace restaurant to heat / boil our ready to eat food for 5 minutes. At first, they resisted, then she asked for THB 100 which was absurd and no hotel ever has charged me globally for such a thing. It was only after we resisted and complained, did they boil without any charges. 3. Few english speaking staff

No matter what the place, if the service experience is bad, then everything else goes for a toss. After all the positives about the hotel, the single service experience spoilt our holiday mood and stay with the resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anish L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Despite acknowledging that we were on honeymoon, they gave us a twin sharing deluxe room with two single beds. The error was immediately rectified, but not without having to move our suitcases around the hotel, which was enormous in size. Our balcony had the amazing view of a brick wall. Housekeeping was slow in tidying our room, but overall staff were very helpful. The hotel pools were spectacular which made our stay much more pleasant. The scheduled free shuttle service into town via tuk tuk was great! And the hotel is strategically located near Patong Beach. Overall pleasant, but definitely not the best stay.

Room Tip: The view from our room was a brick wall. So make sure you request a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisajariffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#29 of 328 in Patong
726 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Phuket Deevana
Ramada Phuket Deevana
#15 of 328 in Patong
577 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#9 of 328 in Patong
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Andaman Beach Suites Hotel
0.8 mi away
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#27 of 328 in Patong
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa

Property: Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa
Address: 254 Prabaramee Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Patong
#40 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa is ideally located at the most beautiful & renowned Patong beach in Phuket. The Resort offers a relaxing atmosphere enjoying the panoramic scenery of Patong bay with its exquisite 250 deluxe rooms in harmoniously contemporary design with traditional Thai-inspired de´cor featuring four different types of stylish accommodation. Explore and fulfill your comfortable stay with our provided facilities, which include two trendy restaurants, outdoor swimming pools with amazing pool deck, round-shaped Jacuzzi, poolside & Sunset bars , Spa treatments, fitness room, reading corner, game room , shopping arcade and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing