We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok... Nothing spectacular” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Patong Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Forest Patong Hotel to your Saves list
Forest Patong Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   46/27-29 soi klongbangwat, Pisitkorranee Rd., Patong, Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83151, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 297 Hotels in Patong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ok... Nothing spectacular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed 2 nights. I was surprised to find there was a 1000bhat deposit for the room key. The hotel is kept very nicely in the lobby area. It was a little hard to find, most cabs had very little idea about it. It was about a 20 min walk to patong beach and some sketchy areas. The staff wasn't overly friendly but we didn't deal with them much. The shower had the best water pressure after I figured out you had to turn on a water supply in a small cupboard. The bed was hard and we woke up to some tiny bugs on the nightstand. If you are just looking for somewhere cheap for a night or two this is a good place to stay. After walking to the beach you could probably find something similar for cheaper... They just don't advertise.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huddy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We booked a superior room with breakfast for two nights because

Hotel is not far away from shopping district
this area seemed noise free
Hotel has all the required amenities

We checked in, after twelve hours of traveling we needed some rest, a disgusting surprise was waiting for us in the toilet. Someone had used the toilet in hurry and left without flushing.

It was a small room, we rechecked the pictures on website, This wasn't the superior room we paid for but the standard room with a double bed. Staff insisted but when I showed them the pictures and explained the difference (room size, a couch, bigger bathroom) they gave us the right room but bluntly said that these two rooms are the same which clearly showed that it wasn't a mistake and they did this on purpose.

Sidewalks in this area are not at all friendly. Area is full of garbage cans, walk in any direction and you will meet quite a few rats.

We picked a few egg shells from the scrambled eggs we ordered for breakfast. Right now, me and my husband both have diarrhea, we had to cancel our trip to Phi Phi and Bamboo Island due to food poisoning.

Someone has invested a lot in this hotel, good quality furniture large screen led televisions and some odd amenities like a DVD player and computers in all rooms but its a poorly managed hotel. Ants in the room and mosquitoes in the hallways and bathtubs without shower curtains.

Stay away from this hotel. There are many better and cheaper options in the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KymberleeFarhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel reminded a lot of a hostel but without the social atmosphere. It's a solid 30 minute walk to the beach/main strip in Patong and it's not an easy or pleasant walk. There are almost no restaurants around the hotel. The room was small with no window. It smelled damp and this attracted a number overnight bug visitors and mosquitoes. The sheets were rough, the bed was tough and the shower design is less than idea. The staff are not particularly helpful; I was surprised to see they had a serious lack of local knowledge. The place is cheap and it is at least quiet and away from the craziness of Bangla road.

Room Tip: Try to at least get a room with a window if you must stay here. If not definitely book a hotel close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pepenoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changchun, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Let me start by saying that I was a little skeptical of this hotel before arriving due to its lack of reviews on Hostelworld. We quickly discovered that we had nothing to worry about. My wife and I had an amazing stay at the Forest Patong Hotel! The rooms were very spacious and clean. They refilled our shampoo, conditioner, and soap containers each day, which was a big deal for people like us who had been living out of a backpack for the past 2 weeks. The rooms were cleaned very thoroughly each day, and we were given new towels each day both in our rooms and for the beach. In my opinion, renting scooters was essential for getting around Phuket, and the Forest Patong supplied us with scooters each day for a good price. The only negative thing I would say about this hotel is the fact that it's located quite a ways from the beach. But, if you have a scooter, you can very easily go to the Patong Beach or any other beach in Phuket. The Patong beach was not our favorite, so it was nice to get the scooter each day so that we could go to other beaches - I recommend Kata or Kata Noi Beach. You could either rent the scooters for a full 24 hours or for a half day - 250 THB or 150 THB respectively. We found that it was worth it to just get it for half a day. We would wake up and get our scooter around 11:00 AM and keep it till 11:00 PM. 150 THB is only like 5 dollars, so it was totally worth it. We probably would have spent more on taxis to go to all the beaches that we went to on the scooter. Just remember that you have to pay for gas, but you can go most of the day on one tank, so you still get your money's worth. Last of all, I would like to mention the service at the Forest Patong Hotel. It was excellent! Everyone there helped us out so much from telling us some of the places they like to visit in Phuket to making sure we got our scooters and towels each day before heading out to the beaches. I would like to especially thank Nick for helping us with all our needs each day. For the amount of care you receive, Forest Patong is an incredibly reasonable priced hotel, and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor, and we slept great. However, our friends stayed on the second floor, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nic J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

If you're looking for a hotel with a reasonable price but with awesome quality of service, Forest Patong would definitely fit in. The hotel was clean. The rooms were cleaned daily. Towels were also changed daily. Wifi was available. You can have a relaxing sleep after a very tiring adventures you had since the hotel was located away from the nightlife; around 20mins walk to the beach and the busy streets of Bangla road.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artistahun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Forest Patong Hotel

Location
The biggest downfall of this hotel was its location. It was a long walk to the beach, shopping district, and restaurants on road ways that are NOT pedestrian friendly. No sidewalks, and renting a scooter was a death wish I was not interested in experiencing. Taxi or Tuk Tuk at night, and by day if your careful you can walk.

Amenities
This hotel was not fancy at all, if your looking for a clean crash pad than its fine. We couldn't stand the bathroom as there was no shower curtain and so every time we showered the floor flooded and the toilet was showered too. For hours you'd have to wear flip flops when using the bathroom while waiting for the water to drain. We had just stayed in a swanky hotel in Bangkok so this was comparable to a University dorm. Our room had a balcony and looked out towards the busy street below and the mountains, while it was no ocean view it was better than our back ally, no sun view at the Adaman Phuket Hotel. Free Wifi came in handy and the room was equipped with a computer, Internet, flat screen and a DVD player. We liked having the DVD payer, we could test out some of our bootlegged movies to make sure they worked. The breakfast was simple but good and fresh. Made to order, eggs your way etc. We didn't have any breakfast meat (which was included) and nothing was substituted, no extra toast or fruit which was odd, but when we asked for a second cup of coffee we had to pay. I felt like saying, but I saved you bacon!!!!

Service
The staff here were incredibly friendly and helpful. They directed us well and gave us walking maps. When we arrived and anytime we returned we were greeted. At check in we were shown to our room and instructed on how to use the computer etc. in the room, not necessary but was a nice effort and thorough welcome.
Over all this hotel is for a budget traveler who is looking for a clean spot, good breakfast, and doesn't mind being off the beaten path.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capezio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Been here twice in just 1 month. Went home a few days, then I decided to go back to Thailand. And This hotel has everything I need. What everyone should need. Great wifi, great staff. No party idiots around. You have to take a taxi to the beach, but 50-60 bath for a motorbike taxi is something every western can afford. Love Forest Patong and will come back again in mach for sure. All the staff members are very good english speakers, which makes things alot more easy.

Greetings from Norway! Hello Brownie, Nick and Jenny :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reidar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
2.0 mi away
The Little Moon Residence
The Little Moon Residence
#29 of 297 in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
1.4 mi away
Breezotel
Breezotel
#20 of 297 in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Planet Patong, Phuket
Red Planet Patong, Phuket
#85 of 297 in Patong
4.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 297 in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Oddy Hip Hotel
The Oddy Hip Hotel
#81 of 297 in Patong
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chill Patong Hotel
Chill Patong Hotel
#77 of 297 in Patong
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Patong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Patong Hotel

Address: 46/27-29 soi klongbangwat, Pisitkorranee Rd., Patong, Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83151, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Forest Patong Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Forest Patong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Patong Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing