We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not really worth a detour”

Bukit Restaurant & Cafe
Ranked #348 of 549 Restaurants in Patong
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
171 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Not really worth a detour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We ate there twice. The first time - we had just arrived in Patong Beach and were doing a bit of walking - we thought the place looked nice and after a glance at the menu we decided to try some of their thai dishes. I had a spicy beef salad and my partner a green curry. Both dishes were rather nice. Last night we returned. I had the red curry and chicken satay and my partner some chicken fried rice and again a green curry. The satay was OK, but the red curry was way too salty and even though the menu listed there being aubergines in the curry, I could not detect any auberines in it. This was a terrible curry.
Service was OK.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dezdemona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A MUST GO EXPERIENCE - JUST TO MEET NU”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

While my wife and I were staying at the Kee recently we discovered the Bukit Cafe and Bar and used it constantly as our stop off point during our many shopping and sightseeing trips around Patong and Phuket.

One of the main reasons we enjoyed stopping off at the Bukit was the great service and friendliness of their terrific waitress, Nu. She made our many drop-ins something we looked forward to because of her great personality and always happy smile, even when we were passing by she'd wave and ask us how our day was going and what were we going to be doing. The Bukit also serves great food, which we enjoyed immensely and which made our stop-offs there doubly enjoyable for us.

Nu, the Happy Ranga, always spent time with us and chatted and we were able to learn a lot about Thai customs as well as useful stuff like how to catch the bus to the Weekend Markets at Phuket Town and tips on where to buy stuff and how to negotiate with the sellers.

During our stay we saw lots of people coming down to specially say "Goodbye" to Nu when their holiday was ending and they were checking out - so did we.

Nu is a very valuable asset to the Cafe and we enjoyed her company, friendliness and service. We also miss her happy, smiling face.

Just so she might remember who we are, I've attached a photo we took with her during one of our many stop overs at Cafe Bukit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony_Alison_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All Aussies welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

We found this restaurant by mistake, shopping one night when we heard this voice say " G'day mate come & throw a shrimp on the barbie" After that welcome we just had to go back & back. Food was great, drinks endless supply & the waitress Nu (Chicky Ranga) outstanding, never a dull moment. She makes the trip well worth while and we would highly recommend a visit. We have only been home a week and we are already planning our next visit, which will definately include a visit back here.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazbeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food Even Better Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Situated in a great area just a walk off the main Patong strip and Bangla Rd in the Kee Plaza area. Food is excellent with variety (pizzas, pastas, thai, aussie etc) to suit anyones tastes, drinks available inside or cocktail bar just out the front (Nai great coktail waiter!) . Service from all staff was outstanding! Nu our waitress did an amazing job and is an asset to this cafe/restaurant, very inviting and entertaining! She made our time in Patong one to remember - Visit this cafe for great drinks, yummy food and even better service!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SamanthaJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rocky QLD
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST STAFF & FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

Perfect place to eat. The staff were great especially NU (cheeky ranga) she was so exciting and fun to be around, we ended up drinking/eating there nearly every day. Definitely a huge asset to the restaurant

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlaG2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bukit Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bukit Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing