We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front desk was so horrible that we couldn't bear to stay there”
Review of Relax Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relax Guest House
Ranked #331 of 405 Patong B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Front desk was so horrible that we couldn't bear to stay there”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were so excited to stay here as it is supposed to be very clean and comfortable plus it is in a great location, walking distance to beach and tons of shops/restaurants and parties. We were very tired as it was past 1am and we had just gotten off a bus, a plane and a long taxi and ready to just go to bed but the woman was obnoxious at the front desk. We asked if they have discount if we stay two nights and she got angry and told us to leave. We were shocked and tried asking what the problem was but she called police so we got on the phone with them and explained what happened and they were also confused (imagine, even Thai police) so she was getting nervous and pulled out a crowbar threateningly so we ran out with just enough time to leave her phone on the chair and so she locked up the doors. Never have experienced anything like this in any of the numerous hostels or hotels or guesthouses I have stayed in!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    7
    3
    9
See reviews for
1
5
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in January 2013 after recomendation from a friend who had stayed the previous month.
Good sized rooms that were cleaned every day with clean towels. Only few minutes walk to Bangla Road but Street is quiet so you dont hear any noise.
Staff were very friendly.
Would definetly recommend this Guesthouse and would definetly return.
Thansk for a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tineyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. The room was very clean. I got deluxe room so its huge for single person. The bathroom also is clean. Nice surrounding. Quiet, eventhough it is located in the heart of Patong. You definitely can have a good rest and sleep at night.
5 mins walk to Junceylon mall, restaurants, Patong beach, and also to Bangla road.
The owner is friendly and helpful.
Recommended! :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Azyani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogor
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, and it was okay. This hotel is located near the heart of phuket night life and patong beach is just 5 min away.

The room was clean and remind me of a dorm room. Bathroom was clean too, has hot water. The room itself not very spacious but if you don't bring a large luggage then it's okay. Free wifi and cable tv are provided.

This hotel doesnt have a smoking room, so if you want to smoke, you have to smoke outside the room. they have a very thin wall, I swear I can hear people talking and "doing it" 2 rooms away from me.

Overall it's a nice little guest house if you spend most of your time exploring Phuket. And it's a great value cos it was only around $20/night via agoda booking.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radenayu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. The location is good, just one block from the beach. We got good rates for scooter rental here (200 Baht per day). The room was clean but a bit old. the walls (floors?) were paper thin - I couldn't sleep without ear plugs as I kept hearing the upper floor guests walking/moving furnitures around (who moves furniture at 2am?). The reception people didn't speak good english but they tried to help as much as they could, except for one - the older lady receptionist was rude and accused us of something we didn't do, and it was harder to clear things up because she didn't speak good english. Won't be coming back here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank farah_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,518 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Green Harbor Hotel & Service Apartments
0.0 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 322 in Patong
715 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Little Moon Residence
The Little Moon Residence
#53 of 322 in Patong
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relax Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax Guest House

Property: Relax Guest House
Address: 143/24-25 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #331 of 405 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Relax Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Relax Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relax Guest House Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing