We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Da Mario

Da Mario
Ranked #150 of 548 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Roeselare
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

there are a lot of italian restaurants in patong and after going twice to Roma we decided to try another place, being da mario. we were suprised when we got the menu because prices are high.The waiters weren't friendly (only friendly when they brought the check) or welcoming and the service wasn't what it should be!
Pizza wasn't bad but would certainly not go back, too much money for what you get....We twice saw people coming in and leaving again after seeing the menu in the short time we were there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wezintgatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    47
    22
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tasty Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We ate twice at this Italian Restaurant during this stay, but we have eaten here several times before at different trips.It was nice to have a break from Thai food, so we headed to Da Mario. Sandro, the manager is very friendly and very polite. We ordered some pasta, servings were generous. Pizza was also nice, thin crust, wood fired oven.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank byebyebirdie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Charismatic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Be aware that there are many Italian restaurants in Patong, so don´t mix up "Da Mauro" with "Da Mario", when reviewing or dining in one of the reviewed restaurant.
In any case I had a good experience, when I tried a pizza, with choces of different spicy oils to sprinkle on.
There is a cosy atmosphere with ponds and sound of running water, and fishtanks with huge carps. This would be a good place to bring children, so they are kept occupied. So it is also a photographic place, and there is lots of space.
In other words it is different and seperates itself from other restaurants.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank crawlingken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT vongole, everything else is...mediocre at best.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Couldn't fault their vongole as it was perfect.

However, beef carpaccio was runny with water as the beef was frozen, and pizza had pink meat for topping. Yikes! Tiramisu was good though, and coffee was authentically dark and very strong.

Service is spotty as staff would rather say 'we don't have it' if they don't understand what you say.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SwimBikeRunGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Called in here to grab a take away pizza and have to say it was amazing!!!! Staff were lovely too.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JodieBSpiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Mario also viewed

 

Been to Da Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing