We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in town”

Roma Ristorante & Pizzeria Da Mauro
Ranked #57 of 553 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Roma restaurant and pizzeria Da Mauro , is the oldest real Italian restaurant from 1985 , with owner italian chef Mauro , since the first day and till today. From beginning of october 2013 we open a new restaurant and pizzeria oven wood fire at the Banana Walk Mall,on Patong beach front,with sea view big terrace.See u there soon ,ciao Mauro.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The best in town”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Visiting in february again and is still the best restaurant in Patong since many years, it was our 24th trip to Thailand and we are true customers since 1995.
Fantastic dinner, extremely friendly and competent staff. Chef and owner Mauro welcomes warmly every customer and always speaking with customers and taking care about them.
Great food and cozy atmosphere inside (air-con.) and even possibility of eating terrace.
Visiting Mauro's restaurant every year at least 4 or 5 times during each stay (at least 3 weeks) in Patong since many years.
Don't miss the seafood risotto, seafood tagliatelle, penne all'arrabbiata or fettucine all'amatriciana.
Finally to be short: an institution !
Will be back in june for our 25th trip to Thailand and can't wait !

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
17 Thank JiPeFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    653
    347
    112
    62
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect Italian in Patong!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Ristorante Roma da Mauro...what can I say, it was fantastic. I was figuring there was a small chance it would be a little tourist-trappy, but I was proven very wrong. Authentic, delicious, and very genuine, with Mauro himself coming out of the kitchen to offer suggestions, talk to the customers, and make sure everything was up to expectations.

The price was quite inexpensive for the fantastic qualitiy of the food as well, and the portions were generous. It was the best Italian I've had outside of Italy in years! This was a nice surprise, and after a week of (happily) eating Thai for every meal, it was a guilt free way to change it up and still get an amazing meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
19 Thank HDP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yummy, great value and friendly staff”
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on our last night in patong. Wish we found this place sooner. Amongst a street of Italian restaurants we chose ristorante Roma as we saw the Italian chef walking around the rest greeting customers who were mainly Italian, good sign. We were seated quickly in aircon with complimentary garlic bread which was super tasty. I stopped the chef as he walked past and asked for recommendations of good without onion. He pointed a few pastas, gnocchi and a cheese pizza. I chose the creamy pasta with shrimp and my hubby chose a wood fired chorizo pizza. Both were served promptly and did not dissapoint. The only down side was the very over cooked prawns but the pasta was home made and delicious. Our meal inc sparkling water, beer and a huge tiramisu was only 800 baht. Atmosphere was friendly and welcoming but not super fancy but what do you expect for the price and in Thailand. Toilet was clean and smelt nice. Overall we were very pleased and will definitely be back on our next visit. I can't believe this restaurant isn't higher rated on trip advisor! Top place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
20 Thank Theluckiest1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Back to Roma”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We have been to this restaurant many years. Usually having lunch as it is usually very busy. A small restaurant with good food. Very big portion too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
19 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Italian restaurant so far”
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Authentic Italian food at a reasonable price. Loved the personal touch by the chef who came and talked to customers during the night. Very hard to fault this restaurant considering it's in Thailand and you won't be disappointed.
Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
20 Thank Maurizio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roma Ristorante & Pizzeria Da Mauro also viewed

 

Been to Roma Ristorante & Pizzeria Da Mauro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing