We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Pizzas in Patong”

La Capannina da Mario
Ranked #111 of 549 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A typical and authentic southern Italian food
Patong, Thailand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best Pizzas in Patong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

This establishment has to produce the best pizzas I have ever tasted anywhere in the world, and not only that, they are huge!!

They have the normal range of other Italian food on offer, but pizza is the speciality as far as I am concerned.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    57
    16
    3
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Italian Pizza in Phuket”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

If you like the real pizza (it means napolitan style with few high quality ingredients) this is the place. They have their own production of fresh mozzarella and some delicious vegetables as friarelli. Know among the italian community as the best pizza place (both this one and the N.2 in soi nanai -> Moreno).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandrobangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Woooooowww!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

This place is soooooo good you will always want to come back. Since I dined there their pizza just keeps on popping into my mind. The entrees are fantastic and also the pasta - acutally everything!
This family has been living in Thailand since a very long time and they make their own mozzarella as many more food items. The 2 brothers are the best and I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HMSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamala, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An Italian Piazza in Patong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

This Italian Restaurant is now offered in two parts - new is a Pizzeria on Nanai Road, just near the Nanai 2 turn-off ( where the Restaurant is located at the far end - don't give up, it's worth the journey).
The Restaurant is locate in a piazza complete with hotel, pool, macelleria and cheese shop over the road. In high season it is "Little Italy".
We visit regularly, in a group and the food is always authentic and fresh, with many cheeses and smoked meats made on the premises
Occasionally there can be service hiccups - but "This is Thailand"
One of the three best value for money Italian restaurants in Patong.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Evilbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best fresh pasta in Patong. Great pizza too!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

We tried the Caprese bruschetta, Margherita pizza, Gnocchi Gorgonzola, and Tagliatelle Bolognese. All were very good and so cheap.

Do watch the red wines. Although they're stored in an airconditioned room, the first bottle we ordered was slightly madeirised (heat-affected). This is very common in hot Asian countries and makes beer and cocktails a safer bet. The staff were completely happy to replace the bottle with a different wine though; which was in good shape.

We'll definitely be going back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SoulSomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Capannina da Mario also viewed

 

Been to La Capannina da Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing