We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lantern Resorts Patong
Ranked #31 of 327 Hotels in Patong
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cold place”
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Although the rooms are big and clean, the overall feeling is that the hotel is very cold, without personality. Swimming pool are there but this is not a place you want to hang around. I recommend it for a pure functionality use of the room.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pierrechristophe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    275
    88
    29
    24
See reviews for
154
168
55
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wurtulla, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at the Lantern for our last few days in Thailand. The location was right in the bussle of Patong which was perfect for us. The rooms were clean and bathroom was nice. I had trouble sleeping due to the amount of bass that came through our room till the wee hours of the morning, even with ear plugs I could hear it. Their buffet breakfast made up for it in the morning. I think it would be a great hotel for people planning on being out most of the night. I still enjoyed it.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2012

There's a total of 3 swimming pools and the best one has to be the rooftop pool. There's even a security guard just to make sure things are alright. The staff understands english but you just need to speak slowly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maccastorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tweed coast
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I booked this hotel because it advertised a penthouse and the photographs were very appealing. This hotel does not have penthouse rooms. While the rooms were spacious and clean, the furniture was cheap and the toiletries were sparse. I had to ask for toilet paper and soap on arrival.
Breakfast was very average and did not cater well for large groups, which was our experience three of the five days we were there.
The location was quite close to Bangla Road, but there was no real accompanying noise.
This hotel was not value for money and I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevBan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The lantern, situated about 3 minutes from Soi Bangla is a absolutely chic hotel with freshness and smart business looks in its side. The rooms are absolutely wonderful and the sizes are simply awesome.

Few negatives: breakfast could improve, reception needs to be more experience, no reasons why two keys are not given in a deluxe twin room.

Great place otherwise and a lovely ambience!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RajaG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Hi,

We did not make any bookings. On our way to Phuket an agent suggested us this hotel having heard about the hotels in Thailand we were unsure how the place would be. But, it turned out to be more then our expectations.

The very big clean rooms with good beds. I know why I mentioned beds, cause thailand is famous for good rooms and hard beds. But, this hotel had real good beds. The shower rooms were really clean. There service was good and the breakfast served in the restaurant was edible to Indians. I barely ate anything anywhere. I think besides the breakfast in hotel I survived on fruits and Burger King.

There are 2 pools of which 1 is on the terrace. The hotel is located on the main street of Patong just a minute walk. We had a pleasurable and a peaceful stay here. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: We had a pool side view on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samata2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was just a one night stopover for 3 of us, booked into two rooms. We checked in late into the hotel around 10, after a long hunt for where the hotel is as it does not show up on the GPS as well. Must be coz it is a new property. Look for the Yorkshire hotel on the gps and it is just around the block from this property. This place does have decent parking spots in the basement but the staff seem to have no problems parking behind cars. Had to wait for a bit before I could pull out the car the next morning, with a little help from the guard of the property. Doesn't speak English that great but understood the problem and helped me out by calling out for the guy who had parked his truck behind my car. Checkin and checkout experience was pretty smooth. Not too much difficulty with the staff.

Our room was a lot better than the one my friend had to deal with as it had the distinct smell of smoke. Surprising as the whole property is supposed to be non smoking or at least seemed to be. We were put up on the 2nd floor, haven't faced the sound problems that other reviewers did. rooms are also decently sized but not the most VFM (value for money) but you have a lot of options quite close by and better.

The place though is very close to all the action spots in patong and just a couple of mins walk away from Quite a few decent food joints as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prasad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Sleep With Me Hotel
Sleep With Me Hotel
#41 of 327 in Patong
716 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#8 of 327 in Patong
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Best Western Patong Beach
Best Western Patong Beach
#20 of 327 in Patong
469 reviews
0.3 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#27 of 327 in Patong
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lantern Resorts Patong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lantern Resorts Patong

Property: The Lantern Resorts Patong
Address: 181/4 Soi Sansabai, Rai-U-Thit Song Roi Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#14 Family Hotel in Patong
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#18 Spa Hotel in Patong
#21 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#37 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lantern Resorts Patong 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lantern Resort Patong is 4 STAR with 3 swimming pools. We have variety of roomtypes ranging from studio pent ( superior) , Deluxe view pent, Honeymoon pool access pent, to Luxury Pent. Our hotel has three swimming pools. Two swimming pools are on ground floor and one swimming pools is privately on Top floor with seaview. Our La Lantern Restaurant serve international Buffet and all day dining a-la-carte and room service. While staying with us, many guests enjoy spa mnu at Glow spa. We are famous in Thai massage and massage for beauty. Our location is another outstanding point as we located in the heart of Patong which you can easily access to Patong beach, shopping mall, Banzan day market, and famous Bangla Night walking street in lss than 5 minutes walk. Whether you come for business or leisure, welcome you as our special guests. Enjoy with th Lantern Resort Patong. Sawasdee Kaa (sawasde= Thai greeting) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lantern Resorts Patong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lantern Resorts Patong Hotel Patong
The Lantern Resorts Patong Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing