We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashlee Hub Hotel Patong
Ranked #86 of 321 Hotels in Patong
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Really enjoyed our 9 night stay at the Centra Ashlee, and it provided more than we expected for the price.

We stayed in a standard double room, which was very large with king sized bed, great lighting, sofa/coffee table area, desk, roomy balcony with table and chairs, good range of tv channels, and free wifi.

The bathroom was also spacious and well-appointed with a large bath and good shower.

Breakfast wasn't extravagant, but it was adequate, with primarily Western options of bacon, eggs, breads, fruits, etc. If you like good strong coffee, there is also a great coffee shop directly downstairs which also does the best french fries in Patong!

The open-top roof bar was lovely, with ambient lighting and a great view of the Patong area. It was also priced at the same rate as most bars in the area (with a 2 for 1 cocktail happy hour as well).

Room service also provided, which was well-priced, quick and tasty.

A mention also to the staff - very organized but also very polite and discreet, so that it felt like renting a studio apartment for a week rather than a hotel room. Reception were quick to respond to any queries, and the cleaning staff respected the 'do not disturb' sign while also being able to return to clean the room in the late afternoon on request. Bar and concierge staff were excellent.

A 5 minute walk to the beach, and plenty of little bars in the market area directly downstairs which are a bit of a laugh and a great place to meet travellers - yes they might seem a bit tacky to some, but they are far more enjoyable than the 'ping-pong' vibe on Bangla Road - casual, relaxed people and no sex tourism. We had no noise issues with the double-glazed windows in the hotel but you could certainly here the noise from the Hard Rock Cafe down the road if you sat on the balcony (also a bit of a laugh listening to their MC).

Would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Did meet a couple in the hotel who were not happy with the noise level. We were staying in the midd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bex2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    167
    80
    27
    20
See reviews for
68
160
47
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Stayed there for 5N during my graduate trip with 20 friends. This hotel has very good location (very near to the Beach, 10-15 min walk to Juncylon). The hotel breakfast is nice, though not very luxury but absolutely sufficient choices. The room is spaceful and clean, with free bottled water provided. The staff is very nice. Triple room is also available. Good place, may choose to stay again in the future

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahtian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This is an ideal hotel for younge people who want to party and sunbathe on the roof terrace pool.Staff are very friendly and polite.The main sewer runs under the lobby and guess what- raw sewage spilled through the kitchen and out through the lobby.The only way to reach the lift was to walk through a stinking mess.The staff did their best to stop the tide of filth even the chef who was very good on the jack- hammer.Should the restaurant have been closed - yes.staff continued to serve food. If you are looking for a hotel near the action that is the madness of Patong give it a go.The manager Mr Yupp is really good .Maxium stay 3 days.

Room Tip: High floor towards the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billywiz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Clean hotel. Staff friendly and only too happy to help. Good security at hotel. Only let down was pool was hard to get in and out of, otherwise would happily stay here again. If u have small children u might find pool is too deep as only has one depth.

Room Tip: We stayed triple share which meant third adult slept on a single sofa bed we lost our seated area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

It was almost a year ago that I stayed here during my first ever visit to Phuket. I was thoroughly pleased to find a hotel that was inexpensive yet well-located. Only a few minutes' walk away from Patong Beach, shopping districts, and the famous Bangala Road which is a stretch of night clubs and other activities. The hotel itself is surrounded by many themed bars offering cheap drinks and entertainment. ATMs and convenience stores are also nearby. I was even more pleased when we checked in. We got a room that was clean and spacious, with seperate bath and shower, and a balcony. Amenities were excellent and the service staff were courteous and efficient. The beds were okay but were comfortable enough for a good night's sleep. Breakfast was average at best with limited selection at the time, so I felt the price was not justified. Even then, it was easily overlooked as I really enjoyed the overall stay. Would recommend for singles, couples and travellers with friends - but not so for families especially those with young children. The loud music and other noise from nearby bars and clubs could be a major distraction that goes on till late night.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xadiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed one night on our way to Phi Phi. Awful hotel, worst experience we've had in 8 weeks of staying in Thailand.
Shoddy building, location is surrounded by tacky bars (weirdly, all Australia themed?) and the usual shops selling tat, but higher prices than elsewhere. Rooms are big with separate bath and shower, small balcony, couch and flat screen, but strange opening from bathroom to bed area that can be covered by a thin screen. Nice if taking a bath I guess but no good if you didn't know your traveling partner well! It was raining and muggy the day we were there and the walls were covered in condensation (and no, we didn't have the doors open with the air con on). All our stuff was damp, we didn't sleep well as the air was moist.
We had dinner in the hotel which was reasonable Thai food, staff polite but didn't seem to be enjoying themselves much, no joking with us or each other which we've come to recognise as normal in Thailand. We couldn't fit in dessert then, so decided to have a walk then order room service dessert. As it turned out, the room service menu had no desserts on it but we thought we'd try our luck, the restaurant was still open, only 2 floors down, but no. So we had another look at the menu, and spied chocolate popcorn on there. Okay, but no, no chocolate popcorn. We tried another flavour offered, cashew caramel. They bought up a plate of plain cashew nuts. We just took them, sick of trying. My husband signed a receipt and gave them cash. The next day at check out they asked us to pay for them, we explained we already had and there had been a mix up but it was no good, in the end we paid again and got out of there. The woman on the reception was rushed trying to check out 4 other parties lined up, with no help to call on. I felt sorry for the staff, the 'budget' style of hotel just doesn't work, the suites are spacious and comfortable so with poor weather outside and being tired we didn't want to leave the room but there was small waters, no mini bar, no 7 eleven near to stock up and room service poor.
1 tiny lift for 8 floors.
Breakfast was the usual fare, fine.
I've stayed in 1000 baht a night ($30 US, $40 NZ) guesthouses and backpackers in Thailand with more warmth, helpfulness, flexibility and nice location. Centra Ashlee is around US $60, NZ $80 so, still affordable, but to me not worth it.

Room Tip: Lower levels can avoid the lift (long waits).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankieRuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

It was our first trip to Thailand. I am really fussy with hotels, so when we found the Centra Ashlee I was very very pleased, and it is SO cheap! We had the best room in the hotel on the top corner of the hotel, 8th floor.
If you cant handle noise after the sun goes down, then Centra might not be the place to stay, only becuase the Hard Rock Cafe can go quiet late and sometimes their bands get very loud- nothing we couldnt sleep through though.
Modern amenities, with a big bathroom (the water only seemed to be super-hot during the daylight house, solar maybe?)
The bed was like sleeping on a board, but all beds in thailand are.
About a 5 min walk from Bangala Rd, if your into that kinda thing. 500m to the beach (but if you want a really nice beach, go to Surin Beach)
Room service, extra friendly staff, cleaned room every day, great pool, cheap drinks (esp. during happy hour), great location. I loved it

Room Tip: 8th floor is the best. Dont aim for a hot bath when the sun goes down, because the water is only lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
The ASHLEE Heights Patong Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
The ASHLEE Plaza Patong Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Paripas Patong Resort
Paripas Patong Resort
#81 of 321 in Patong
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aspira Prime Patong
Aspira Prime Patong
#63 of 321 in Patong
283 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Patong Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashlee Hub Hotel Patong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashlee Hub Hotel Patong

Property: Ashlee Hub Hotel Patong
Address: 237 / 18 Rat-U-Thit Song Roi Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Centra Ashlee Hotel Patong)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#44 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashlee Hub Hotel Patong 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Ashlee Hub Hotel Patong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashlee Hub Hotel Patong Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing