We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap for a reason” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of FunDee Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
FunDee Boutique Hotel
Ranked #128 of 319 Hotels in Patong
New York
Level Contributor
174 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Cheap for a reason”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

FunDee hotel is relatively inexpensive, compared to a number of other offerings in the area. Unfortunately, there is a reason for the low price.

Rooms are basic, fairly barren. Bed is large and firm, there is a desk, a semi-usable "cube" chair and a tiny TV which you won't see from the bed. There is no teapot or anything else to make tea - which will be important, even if you don't drink tea, see below :)

Bathroom is in a common budget-hotel Thailand style - shared space that includes a sink, a toilet and a shower. Since there is nothing separating shower from the rest of the room, and floor is not inclined towards the drain - each shower will invariably saturate the entire bathroom with water. A single floor towel provided is not enough to contain that water from spreading.

Speaking of towels, towel policy is pretty simple - you get 2 large towels per day (provided housekeeping didn't miss your room, see below too). No exceptions, no matter how nicely you ask. If you need another towel to contain the flood in the bathroom - better get your own (hotel conveniently "sold" me one for 100 baht).

Hot water is provided by instant-on electric heater and only available in the shower. This is also fairly common in lower-end hotels here. Unfortunately, if you need to shave and don't use electric razor - you may be SOL. Remember - there is no teapot? Well, there is no way to make any amount of water sufficiently hot for shaving either. If this may be a problem - plan accordingly.

At least once during my stay there was some sort of water issue, which caused water pressure to drop to a trickle. FYI.

Housekeeping is somewhat haphazard. If you are not consistently out of the room from morning till late afternoon, it may very well miss your room. Then you are stuck with the same old towel for another day - front desk can't provide any towels either.

Wi-fi is free, unfortunately reception in my room, as well as on a few other floors I tested, was non-existent, so for practical purposes consider that there is no wi-fi (or it is only available in the reception area).

Restaurant across the road has a party going on occasionally (about once a week). When they do - they will blast extremely loud obnoxious music until all hours of the night. The music is actually louder in hotel rooms in FunDee than on the street, so even with windows closed and shutters drawn shut, you will still feel like you are partying in TaiPan. :) Not FunDee's fault, of course - but again, make your own arrangements if you actually want to sleep.

Hotel reception staff is not terribly helpful and only marginally polite. Owners appear to always be on site, but don't advertise themselves as such - so you can only guess who they are (while they hang about the lobby, conducting business-related discussions).

Compared to my stay at (now-defunct) Atlas hotel next door, FunDee proved somewhat more expensive and lacking in a few ways. None of these were dramatic, but together they tipped the scale towards "not coming back". If you are considering budget hotel options in Patong - I would suggest trying elsewhere before opting for this one.

YMMV.

Room Tip: Rooms that do not face a street might be quieter, I suppose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bork3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FundeeBoutiqueHotel, Owner at FunDee Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Sir I'm sure you know who I am as I spoke to you at length when you first
arrived at our hotel. From the moment you stepped foot in FunDee and began your
complaint about the price which may I add went on and on and on because you felt you
deserve a cheaper price from our currently heavily discounted prices. Then not even
after 5 minutes you entering the room you began your demands and requested &
complaints about anything and everything so that we could further discount the rate
for you until i told you that we will not discount anymore as we are running a
business not a charity for freeloaders. i personally said to you sorry this is the
final price and if your not happy your free to go to any cheaper or better hotel but
unfortunately for us you decided to stay. I knew we were in for a bad ride with you
cause we were not even an hour in our hotel and you complaints kept coming in from you for any reason you could find. You were not here to have an enjoyable holiday but rather
to try and screw us down on price and expect to get the Hilton Hotel. You have just
about complained about every aspect of our hotel and judging from your very very
long unfair and untrue review you have nothing better to do than complain about
things in your life. Let me give you some facts, our thai staff are extremely
friendly, polite, helpful and speak fluent English and are always willing to go the
extra mile to assist our guests. Our lovely Burmese house keepers are so beautiful,
sweet and clean and do the job right. The house keepers finish work at 5 and if you
don't exit your room by 4 then they don't clean the room because they need to complete the
linen for washing and clean the rest of the hotel before they leave. We offer 2
large towels, 2 face towel and 1 floor towel fresh daily like any other 3 star hotel
surrounding us and any extra towel you need yes we charge as extra towels cost us
extra money to clean and prepare. We offer 2 bottles of water, 2 bottles of shampoo,
2 soap, hair cover for ladies shower daily. As we are so finely priced we cannot
offer an endless supply of towels, water bottles and so forth. We would be out of
business like Atlas and close our door like they did. Yes they sold up and close
their doors because of people like you. Every 3 star hotel in our surrounding
neighborhood had a wet shower that's why we supply a floor towel to be placed just outside the bathroom not inside as the staff showed you but this is logical anyway. Almost every hotel within a 2 kilometer radius of 3 star has an identical bathrrom to us and can I add we have not hidden the fact that we have a wet bathroom. this style of bathroom is in almost every hotel of 3 or 4 star. Can I explain to the person who may bother listenning to your review that we did not run out of water, there was 2 days where the Patong Council had a burst and Broken water main, however we have a system in place that alarms us when our water Tanks reach 30% capacity in which we refil them at a very great expense to ensure constant flow of water to our guests, unlike some hotels in our surrounding neighbour hood who ran out of water but we did not. We spent allot of money on the 2 days where the council shut the water down in Patong and this is another reason why we cannot give you the room for free which if you had your way you like.
You complained about anything and everything and I bet you do this to any restaurant you
go to, any hotel you go to, any place you go to because judging from your behavior
at our hotel and your review this is your style. Please don't come again and if you
have friends, relative like you please recommend them not to come to us as we better
save our energy to more deserving customers who come to phuket to enjoy and not come
to complain about anything and everything. Lastly can I add again I waisted my time
replying to you as I should let the 98% of our customers who have reviewed us as
excellent do the response on FunDee Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    78
    31
    21
    18
See reviews for
28
120
69
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Fundee within walking distance to Bangla road but quiet enough to get a good nights sleep. It is clean and modern with good facilities and a good choice for breakfast. The staff were helpful and informative during our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FundeeBoutiqueHotel, Owner at FunDee Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your beautiful review & your kind words as they mean allot to us & the FunDee Staff. Its reviews like this that makes the staff’s hard work & efforts worth while. We are so pleased to have clients like you who can see & appreciate the hard work & effort the staff go through. We hope to see you again soon & once again thank you.
Elias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I'm still looking back and thinking how can they make a profit at FunDee as they truly offered me a 5 star Room for a bargain price and further more the room was big clean comfortable bed free bottles of water free wifi. The owner Elias what a great guy and he surely knows phuket. I'm glad I listened to his advise to get a motor bike and the places he showed me to go to was just perfect. I bought tours from them did my laundry for a few dollars a kilo. Again how can they be so so so cheap on that price I should have paid triple for what they offered me. Thank you Elias and his brother Micheal what a great team you have there. Joe Joe Maria Johnny Ao you guys are fantastic and truly made my stay in phuket that extra enjoyable thank you for all your service an help and I will tell all my friends about FunDee Hotel. I recommend every Aussie go there as its just a great place and run by great Aussies well done guys make us Australians proud to have guys like you when we travel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonewolfeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FundeeBoutiqueHotel, Owner at FunDee Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your beautiful review & your kind words as they mean allot to us & the FunDee Staff. Its reviews like this that makes the staff’s hard work & efforts worth while. We are so pleased to have clients like you who can see & appreciate the hard work & effort the staff go through. We hope to see you again soon & once again thank you.
Elias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Great stay here after landing from the uk!
We had a slight issue with the security of the patio doors not locking but a quick call to reception and we were moved to another room.
Rooms are clean and spacious. We found the breakfast was a little basic to say the least, but hey some coffee and some muesli and we were set.

I did find the manager a little annoying, not in a bad sense, but we paid for breakfast for 4 days and out of 8 breakfasts we ate 3. Even after we handed our key in the manger instead of checking our key and checking our breakfast was included would come and ask us if we had paid, Like we were trying to rob him of some muesli. i did find this irritating. A very small thing of course, but I'm just being honest.
The checkout staff were awesome, very helpful and very chatty. It was here we got our tips for some our best food in patong.

Room Tip: When you book, email ahead to let them know if you want a double bed or twin
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 3 days and i really liked it. Very good service, helpfull staff and a room with everything you need for a resonable price. Close distans to beach, restaurants and shoping. If I ever return to Patong the "Fundee (sweet dreams in thai)" definitly will be my first choice...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LubbeSwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Fun Dee Botique was the best hotel i have stayed. Ten minute walk to the main beach (Patong Beach). You are in the heart of Patong but not in the hustle and bustle. Touk Touks are in arms reach and other beaches are in close proximity so you are not really spending alot of money for transport. The breakfast was of high standard an infact the best coffee i have tasted. The hotel is best value for money and service is of high standard. So if you are looking for a place to stay i highy recommend Fun Dee.

Room Tip: Highly recommend you try the tropical fruut at the local market next door. Will be an experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franco T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Fundee is a good choice in phuket, you could find everything for a good trip here. Firstly, the great location, only 10 mins to walk to beach and half of that time time go market. Secondly, the room was clean and nice decor. Last but not least was the staffs. All of them were so friendly and helpful at suggesting place to go. Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.1 mi away
Patong Princess Hotel
Patong Princess Hotel
#65 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Studio Patong by iCheck inn
0.4 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#58 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Oddy Hip Hotel
The Oddy Hip Hotel
#109 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#82 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acca Patong
Acca Patong
#131 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FunDee Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FunDee Boutique Hotel

Property: FunDee Boutique Hotel
Address: 232 / 3-4, Phung Muang Sai Gor Rd, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Patong
#42 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — FunDee Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FunDee Boutique Hotel offers first class accommodation in the heart of Patong only minutes stroll to the beach, nightlife, restaurants, shopping centre and tourist attractions. Designed for the savvy traveller, we have 24 hour reception and our rooms are modern, large and fresh with deluxe mattresses and amenities, air conditioning, LCD TV’s, laptop safe, free WIFI, bar fridge and balcony. The hotel lobby and bar offers the perfect ambiance to relax and unwind or to watch live sport on the big screen. We are determined to provide first class accommodation at a truly affordable price. Our fun, friendly and focused staff will ensure you have Sweet Dreams, or as we say in Thai... FunDee ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your FunDee Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
FunDee Boutique Hotel Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing