We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great variety!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SushiBox - Jungceylon

SushiBox - Jungceylon
Ranked #178 of 548 Restaurants in Patong
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great variety!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Sushi Box is right in the center of the Jungceylon Shopping area, out in the open. The restaurant has a fantastic array of sushis and it was to our great delight that they had a number of different types of vegetarian sushis. The sushis were served with appropriate amounts of ginger,wasabi and soy sauce and tasted brilliant. The waitresses were polite and knowledgeable about the dishes.

Towards the end of our meal, we were beset by a group of insects, including a large bee, which hastened our departure from the area. Still a must visit though!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ayushkshah4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    93
    44
    18
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best sushi I had in Thailand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I have been living in Thailand now for one year and this is where i had the best sushi so far.. Got very surprised the first time, do went back after a couple of days.. same good sushi.. It is in the middle of Jungceylon outside square do can be quite busy with people walking around you and noises.. But the food for me was so good that it was not an issue for med.. even the salmon was really good, and I am Norwegian so ive tasted my share of good salmon ;)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kwahlium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good, affordable sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Good central location, affordable bu Australian standards. Sushi wasn't cold (room temperature sort if) but other than that it was good. Staff were friendly as well and service fast.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We initially went to another Sushi restaurant close to Sushi Box but were put off by flies on the food so we left and went to Sushi Box. Great food and drinks at very reasonable prices with lots to choose from. Wife especially loved the Sex in the City sushi.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeoffandLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
276 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Aweful Aweful Sushi - Bangla Rd outlet”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I'm a seasoned Sushi connoisseur. This was the worst sushi I have ever had in my life.
If you look at my reviews, I hardly give anyone a terrible rating, but this was really terrible.

The only decent taste came from the tempura shrimp.

We ordered a sashimi plate, 3 pieces of tuna, salmon, and snapper. The sashimi was old, flaky and breaking apart.
We also ordered a spider and some other maki and none of the rolls would stick together, breaking as we lifted them. The Takochan (little octopus) was not a good taste in your mouth.

I feel sick writing about it. What a waste of a 1000 baht.

Not sure if all the outlets are like this, but I am going to stay away from them.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fahym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SushiBox - Jungceylon also viewed

 

Been to SushiBox - Jungceylon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing