We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel i've stayed at...full stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nicky's Handlebar Hotel
Ranked #17 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best Hotel i've stayed at...full stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Nicky's Handlebar Hotel is an amazing hotel for a number of reasons. I will try to name those reasons now, firstly the proximity of the Hotel to the hotspots of Patong Beach - never more than a 10 minute taxi ride from anywhere in Patong. The Hotel is situated on the Rat-u-thit Road or as most people know it "the back road". This is a busy road with constant traffic thanks to the infamous one-way system for traffic in Patong but you never hear any road noise in your room or when taking a dip in the fantastic pool.

The Biker themed hotel has amazing Metalart adorning the hotel from a giant wall mural to more subtle decorations laid out across the pool and room areas you are in no doubt of the theme here. That said, dont expect to see exclusively a bunch of tattoo covered, bearded, leather vest wearing old men. This hotel caters to, and is frequented by, all walks of life, not just Bike enthusiasts.

The rooms are wonderfully set out. Comfy yet firm beds, blue neon lighting under the bed and around the bathroom and individual bed heads all themed. For instance you might get a Porsche logo bedhead or a Harley logo, or something else!

The restaurant and bar at the front of the hotel has recently been refurbished and is top class. The food is amazing here regardless of what you order. I have tried many things on the menu and my personal favourite is the Club sandwich or Beef massaman curry. Can't go wrong! Always cold drinks on hand and staff who are friendly and always smiling.

Nicky also does tours of Patong in his Lamborghini and Ferrari which are very popular. And very fast. All in all a great place to stay in a great location - slightly away from Bangla but that isn't a bad thing. Helpful staff in what really is a little bit of heaven.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east (far) side have less foot traffic from late night revellers, but if you are a deep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roamingkangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    46
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
20
69
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Having been to Nicky's many times for food over the years (even before the hotel was born) and then watching the plans turn into reality I had the opportunity in September 2012 to spend 3 nights of my trip at Nicky's hotel.

Well I was not disappointed. The room is quite basic but very useful. The beds are comfortable (unlike many in Patong that are rock hard) and the best of all is the amazing showers that the rooms have. Now I have to admit here that I am one who judges a room by the quality of the shower and this was out of this world.

With a 24 hour reception and close enough to walk to the beach and Bangla Road (if you so desire), this is a great place for any couple to stay (not sure if I would recommend for family) or for a single person to stay (quite safe for single females also).

Free WiFi is appreciated and breakfast included is good but nothing special here.

Overall exceptionally enjoyable stay (and the food, drinks and atmosphere of the bar at night from Nicky and Kai is an added bonus)

Room Tip: Ask for room at back of hotel facing out to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Hotel is 10-15 mins by walking to Bangla Road, Jungleceylon and Patong Beach. The rooms are very nice and very clean, my room was one of the best design hotel rooms I have ever seen. The pool is also nice. Hotel has a restaurant-bar which is called Nicky's Handlebar. Breakfast is served there. You may choose one of the dishes in the menu free of charge. If you want to have lunch and dinner there, the food is nice and prices are affordable. These were the positive sides of the hotel for me. But unfortunately I didn't feel myself as if I'm at home. This is my 6th trip to Thailand. Thai people has a great hospitality, they're very friendly and smiling all time. I have experienced this at almost all hotels in Thailand till now and that's why I have many unforgettable stays in Thailand. This time at Nicky's Handle Bar Hotel it was a bit different. As soon as I arrived the hotel, the girl at reception began to tell me that which prosedure should I follow if I bring anybody to hotel at nights. I think she assumed I would bring someone to my room every night since I was alone at check in time. 1/3 of my trips in my life was solo trips but I have never experienced such a thing. She told me a very very long procedure about this issue, this was not what I need to hear as soon as I arrive. Even this issue must be told to the guests, this may be done in e very polite and warm ambiance. Instead of this rude speech, a warm greeting would be very nice as it happened at other hotels. Except this, I haven't experienced any problem with staff, but anyway they were completely different from the staff of other hotels I stayed.

As a result, the hotel is really nice and definetly far better then many hotels in Patong area. If you're into design hotels, if friendly staff, warm greetings and smiling faces are not very important for you, so this hotel is just for you; but if you hope hospitality, a warm ambiance and want to feel yourself as if you're at your own home, then forget the well designed rooms and try another one which makes you feel better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bangay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

...it should be here! I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights.

Location - It's a Tuk Tuk ride to the infamous Bangla Road or a 10-15 walk to the overcrowded Patong Beach. While not ideally located in my opinion, this hotel compensates with other aspects and the cost of going to the main 'hotspots' is a flat rate of 200THB from pretty anywhere in Patong so it didn't impact too greatly on my stay.

Hotel - Excellent boutique, unusual, interesting, friendly, professional. I was really impressed by it all. The restaurant was excellent, having tried their Red Curry, I was really impressed. Breakfast was a selection of set menus which sufficed. There is a swimming pool on site.

Room - How cool can one place be? Seriously, I was lucky to have a Ferrari themed room, which also tempted me in never leaving during my stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4mHere2There
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Nicky, Kai, Pinky and staffs, they are just wonderful people, a biker theme hotel with rooms and pool furnished with bike parts, on the way in, it's their restaurant and bar serving both Western and Thai cuisine which are really good.

The hotel is located at a very convenient spot, everything is within walking distance, to major shopping malls (15mins walk), Bangla rd ( bars and clubs-15 mins walk), beach (10mins walk), along the way, there are many shops that provide massage, dental, cafes, restaurants, souvenirs, so meals, shopping, sun and sand is no problem at all near this hotel!

They can even organize a Harley tour or you can even rent a Harley to tour around Phuket! Something more fancier, rent a Ferrari to send you to the airport to end your vacation with sweet luxury!

The owners and crews at Nicky's is just fabulous, they will talk to customers making sure everything is okay, sometimes even party hard!

Love you Nicky, Kai, Pinky, Janny and all!
Sylvester & Joy
Singapore

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

As expected before going there, the design of the hotel is impressive. Everything is related to high-end cars and motorcycles. All that creates a feeling for something different, never experienced before.
Anyway, when staying there for some time you start to see the drawbacks. The rooms are actually located in what looks like garage cells. That makes them quite dark with no windows at all since the only window is the wall with the door itself but the glass is half transparent so as you need to drop the curtains, there is no daylight from the outside.
The WC and the bathroom are separated into two cabins, located at the back of the room. The problem is that they have no ceiling and that creates a quite intimate atmosphere between you as a couple, when someone needs to do his big job in the toilet :)
There is almost no space inside the room to organize your luggage so expect the chaos coming within an hour after checking in.
There are also no shelves in the bathroom so you cannot take your shampoo, shower gel etc. with you inside.
The TV set is attached to the side wall and it has a limited rotation possibility so you need to watch it from an angle.
The air conditioning is blowing just above the bed, so your head can freeze while your body still sweats hot.
The pool is narrow and located in a way that it feels more like a decoration than a place you can use for swimming.
The staff is nice and helpful.
The breakfast takes place in the bar and it is good.
So to resume, the unique design of the hotel pays its price - it is good to see and experience but it is somehow done without the thought in mind that people will have to live there, even for several days.

Room Tip: Don't pick up a room by the pool as we did. You will probably not use the pool at all and at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mihail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Best lunch we had in thailand, burger and pizza, my wife and I loved it, the waitress even took us out the back to show is the Harley Davidson collection and the cars which included a Lamborghini). WOW. Highly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Knj2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.3 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#6 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
0.1 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.5 mi away
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicky's Handlebar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicky's Handlebar Hotel

Property: Nicky's Handlebar Hotel
Address: 41 Rat-U-Thit 200 Yr Rd, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nicky's Handlebar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Nicky's Handlebar Hotel, we've taken extra care in giving each room its very own unique features and characteristics. On some, you'll find different painted themes while others have elaborate wall sculptures. Headboards, bathroom furnishings, and even the toilet are themed in a fashion that would appeal to bikers, as well as just about everybody else! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nicky's Handlebar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicky's Handlebar Hotel Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing