We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience”

Pum Thai Restaurant & Cooking School
Ranked #37 of 591 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed October 1, 2013

One of the highlights of our trip, Pum was funny, knowledgable & an inspiration :) the little recipe book you get to take home is fantastic

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SallieAnn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PumThailand, Owner at Pum Thai Restaurant & Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Learning should be fun - we are so glad you enjoyed your class!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (792)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 418 of 792 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

I went with my boyfriend in Feb 2013. We had always planned to do a cooking class but things kept getting in the way. We managed to book this the day before at an agent near our hotel. They gave us a map / directions etc, and we found our way there really easily. We were the first people there and got to watch another class of men be taught. They looked like they were having a lot of fun and the people who worked there seemed very good at making sure everyone got involved.

After the other members of our class came we got to meet our instructor. They showed us all the kind of ingredients that we were using and told us all about them, how they were used and let us taste some. They managed to do this in a really interesting, humorous way. They were very good at getting everyone involved, and were very friendly. When we cooked they also helped us tailor the kind of dishes we wanted to make (for example, I can't eat really spicy food while my boyfriend can eat very spicy food).

After we cooked they set up a table for us and brought us lots of rice / water. They were very attentive and kept filling up our bowls and cups. One of the solo members of our group was allowed to have her partner join us later (they had not been cooking with us) which was very nice. The food was delicious!

Even though you get to keep the small cook-book, we brought one of the bigger ones as well. We've been able to make a few dishes for our families at home!

Would totally recommend this and would go back if I ever went to Thailand.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I went to pums with my son it was a small group of 4 so we got lots of one on one would do again for sure

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pam l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PumThailand, Owner at Pum Thai Restaurant & Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We try to make all of our classes relatively small as students feel more inclined to be more active during the class and we can provide a more personal service. Thanks again for coming - krob khun ka!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had five ours at the cooking school and learned so much. At least two times a week, we use what we have learned. We really recommend everybody who like thaifood to use a few hours at Pums cooking school in Patong. Atle and Henriette Halvorsen, Sweden.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HBHAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

The cooking class is relaxed and informative. The teachers are friendly and helpful and the course will give you confidence with Thai cooking. We did the Little Shoes package and loved being able to choose our own recipes. They were really flexible and were able to make vegetarian options of all the meals.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jayman976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PumThailand, Owner at Pum Thai Restaurant & Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Sawasdee ka, so happy you found the food easy to make - this is how it should be so that you can continue to make it regularly when you return home. If it's too complicated you would never want to make it again regardless of how good it was. Simple, easy Thai food is the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pum Thai Restaurant & Cooking School also viewed

 

Been to Pum Thai Restaurant & Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing