We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Heaps of fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pum Thai Restaurant & Cooking School

Pum Thai Restaurant & Cooking School
Ranked #19 of 522 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Heaps of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My girlfriend and I attended Pum's cooking class with not much cooking knowledge. Pum's class was really fun and made thai cooking seem very easy. The food we cooked was awesome and so tasty. We returned for dinner the next night and were once again impressed by how good the food tasted at a great price. Definitely a highlight of my phuket trip!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Blake K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    205
    41
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Awesome cooking class & food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We LOVED this cooking class. We have done a few cooking classes around Asia and found this was by far the best we have done, plus very fairly priced. The class consisted of a tour of the local food market and then we cooked 3 dishes each - we chose which ones we wanted to cook. It was a small group of 5, so you got a lot of one on one time with the teacher. We were taken through each of the ingredients in full detail.

We purchased a few of Pum's cookbooks, gave some as gifts and kept two for ourselves - we use it as our basis for all our Thai cooking.

A must do when staying in Patong!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank g_to_the_bo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Thai cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Did the Thai cooking course at Pum's and it was great. Did the Little shoes course', 3 hours and we ate everything we cooked and it was filling and Fab, would recommend the course and its so cheap 1200BHT about $38.00, cant beat that. The dancing fish with green lipstick was my faourite and I have since cooked it at home and it was a big hit! so easy. I recommend this to everyone.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChampangneMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fun!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

For those who want to learn how to cook Thai food....Pum's Restaurant is highly recommended. All ingredients are bought fresh at the market everyday. She has a few courses for you to choose from and this also includes one of her cook books.
This is a definate for the "To Do" list when visiting Patong Beach.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Thai food and really fun cooking class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We loved eating at Pums, making it there 3 times in one week! Prices are great and food is consistently awesome! We decided to do the 3hr cooking class which was a lot of fun and we all learnt a lot, can't wait to try out our new Thai cooking skills at home! Cook book is excellent too! Highlight was making fresh curry paste and if you're doing the cooking class make the fish cakes they're DELISH. Go here!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bel_bel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pum Thai Restaurant & Cooking School also viewed

 

Been to Pum Thai Restaurant & Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing