We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baan Suk-Kho Boutique Inn
Ranked #85 of 407 Patong B&B and Inns
Stanwood, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Average Budget Hotel”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We chose this hotel based on the excellent reviews it had received. I do not understand how this hotel has such great reviews. I don't think it deserves bad reviews, but it definitely doesn't deserve good reviews. This is by no means a bad hotel for the price we paid. It is a budget hotel and I will review it based on this fact. Just expect an average budget hotel and you will be happy.

First, I would like to say that the front desk staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Their English is excellent so communication wasn't a problem. The big problem is that nobody is there. We waited almost 10 minutes upon arrival for somebody to show up at the front desk. There was nobody there when we went to check out. In fact, the door was locked! Luckily the door to the restaurant was cracked open, so we went inside there and just left our key on the counter.

Our room was large, but dated. It had a balcony and air conditioning. The air conditioner only turns on when you put your key in the card reader, so every time you enter your room it is extremely hot. The air conditioner will cool it down to an acceptable level, but there is no temperature adjustment so it will never get cool. My wife, son, and I slept on top of the covers every night because the air temperature never cooled down enough. Another problem we had with our room was ants. We let the front desk know and they came in and sprayed (they did not offer us a different room). The next day the ants were back. They came and sprayed again. The next day they were back. There weren't a lot of ants, and they were very tiny and didn't seem to be interested in anything but the wood chair across the room. They just made a trail from the hole in the wall to the chair and back. But we still kept our bags up on the shelves of the closet.

There are many restaurants within walking distance and a 7-11 right across the street. There is a coin operated laundry right in front of the hotel. If you book any excursions and they say they will meet you in the lobby, don't believe it. Many of the drivers cannot find these smaller hotels. You will have to walk to the main road and wait there - but that's no big deal. The hotel is nowhere near the beach. It is a minimum 20 minute walk (my wife and I are in our 30's and very fit). There is a sign for the hotel which says free transportation to the beach, but when we asked about it the front desk said they weren't aware of this or how to arrange it.

One great thing about this hotel is on EVERY excursion we went on, we were the first people they dropped off, so we didn't have to ride around as long as everybody else. If you want a decent budget hotel and don't want to be near the beach, this is your hotel.

Hope this helps!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjw35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    29
    6
    7
    2
See reviews for
18
64
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Booked with Tropical via email back in Oct 2012. Friendly enough exchange of emails. Room rate included breakfasts. Was supposed to stay 4 nights. We were told breakfast was at 8am. Next morning no one was at the front desk and restaurant was locked. We grabbed some eats across the street. With no one on duty at reception, we finally woke the night manager up at noon.. Paid him for the one night minus the 300 bhat it cost us for breakfast and we found a nicer place a few doors away for considerably less.


Noisy A/C..
Beds are rock hard
Expensive too !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ridesfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yongchuan, Chongqing, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great hotel with good helpful and friendly staff. I would definitely recommend it to anyone travelling to Phuket. Also there is a great french restaurant down the street. The girl at the front desk (I forget her name) was great for everything that we needed. I will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmanuel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Based on the excellent reviews I read here, I decided to book the Tropical Inn for my Phuket holiday this time.I booked through booking.com, and left message in the booking that I wanted them to contact me about airport pick-up. But weeks passed, nothing from them at all. And then I tried to catch them through email. Still nothing. I figured there might be some trouble with the place, so I decided to call. lucky me I called, there's no one answering the phone at day time!
When I was seeking any information about the place, I found out from one previous review here that the place had been sold out quite a while ago. I felt like being cheated all this time. I canceled my booking and booked another hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrystalLee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phukettropicalinn, Ex-Owner at Baan Suk-Kho Boutique Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
I am so sorry to read this this review
I worked so hard to build this hotel to number 1 before I sold it & to hear your experience breaks my heart
no one should ever experience what you have
from this point forward I will no longer be associated with this hotel
when I sold it they assured me that the High Standards I had set would be maintained & improved on where possible but this is obviously not the case & their rating will suffer greatly because of it
Guests should always receive more than they expect & it is totally unexceptionable to receive anything else
I am embarrassed & shame on the management for letting this happen & ruining your holiday
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights and the service was very good and the room/bathroom was very clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Its almost 15 minutes walk from the beach. Overall its a good place to stay and great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Umar.911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Its a nice small hotel with friendly staff who was really helpful in giving us the info about whatever we asked (thank you Sao!). The deluxe room we booked was quite large with tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary water. The food in a restaurant was unexpectedly delicious, it was really surprising to have Russian food in Patong! The location is quite good as its not in a center of entertainment area but quite close to all main places in Patong. Also 7/11 is just opposite the road which makes easier to get basic stuff for travel. Generally I would say that it was a perfect choice of hotel for the value of money we paid.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are bigger, they are just a bit more expensive but it worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aisha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Nice hotel, owned by Russian guys, with an authentic Russian restaurant downstairs. I booked it since it was almost the only available and affordable hotel at Phuket on New Year. Everything is just fine, but if you come to Phuket for some quiet beach vacation, you will probably get disappointed (well, in general, you will be disappointed if you stay anywhere in Patong ;-)). If you come for nightlife, bars and other activities that Patong offers, Tropical Inn would be just fine as it is 10 mins walk to Bangla but located in a quiet side-street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanchez73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Chang Residence
Chang Residence
#144 of 322 in Patong
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lo Scoglio Guesthouse Hotel
Lo Scoglio Guesthouse Hotel
#59 of 221 in Patong
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Silk Hill Hotel
The Silk Hill Hotel
#98 of 407 in Patong
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bauman Ville by Alora Hotels
1.1 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lavender Hotel
Lavender Hotel
#82 of 407 in Patong
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Suk-Kho Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Suk-Kho Boutique Inn

Property: Baan Suk-Kho Boutique Inn
Address: 147 / 1 Nanai Rd., Baan Kanchana 6, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Phuket Tropical Inn)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 407 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baan Suk-Kho Boutique Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BAAN SUK-KHO BOUTIQUE INN is created hotel with a difference with the other in Patong Beach. The city is full of natural attractions, entertainment , shopping malls, restaurants and boxing camp. A Stlye of BAAN SUK-KHO BOUTIQUE INN blended with modern and Oriental style. In order to meet the warmth. Safe and attentive service to guests. We are in the heart of Patong Take the time to 5 minutes to Patong Beach and 40 minutes from Phuket International Airport. With the intention of BAAN SUK-KHO BOUTIQUE INN makes guests feel like you was back at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Cancelon so you can book your Baan Suk-Kho Boutique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Suk-Kho Boutique Inn Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing