We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Patong”

Poo Nurntong Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 553 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Patong”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We dined here 4 times during our 2 week stay and were extremely impressed every time. Poo is just lovely and the setting is beautiful. You can watch the sunset as you sit back and sip cocktails. The food is so cheap so ou can eat like a King or Queen and the tastes will blow your mind. I highly recommend this place for everyone visiting Patong, and it's just a short 10 minute Tuk Tuk ride (200 baht) from the centre of Patong. Look her up on facebook for the phone number and give your phone to the driver for directions. Definitely check this place out!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank MisterEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    86
    23
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food and customer service”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Visited this lovely restaurant after reading reviews on TA - well all I can say is Thankyou TA!!!
We showed the taxi driver the TA address and he called Poo to find out her location.
When we got there she was out the front and greeted us like we were VIP guests! She is gorgeous and so thankful that we made the 20 min trip "up the hill" to eat at her restaurant.

Beautiful meal and a lovely view. So refreshing to escape the heat and madness of Patong - enjoying lovely cool breezes and clear air.

Now the meal, cooked by Poo's mum and sister, was so delicious. Fresh flavours and spices just right. My husband, who considers himself a Tom Yum Goong expert, said it was one of the most authentic he has tried and if you like it hot and spicy you will not be disappointed.

Also had BBQ prawns, Thai salad, chicken satay, spring rolls all mouth watering.
Prices are amazing for the quality and ambience.

Poo seemed so excited to be sharing her passion with us and even asked us to have photos taken with her for her Facebook page.

She even helped us call a taxi to come and pick us up to return to Patong.

Please make the effort to go a little out of your way to eat at her restaurant - you won't regret it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant off the beaten path”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

While legions of unsuspecting tourists flock the streets of Patong unaware that they will be preyed upon by countless salesmen who resemble zombies that gave up eating flesh in order to peddle anything from suits to ladyboys, why not relax on a hill top restaurant and pay local prices for a fantastic meal? I ate here with my wife and a friend around 2 pm. Don't let the lack of air conditioning deter you. The open-air restaurant receives plenty of wind and at no point during our visit were any of us uncomfortable.

Extensive menu, ordered 5 meals, 2 appetizers, 2 beers and a glass of wine for he equivalent of $30 US. For example, a large serving of chicken panang curry cost 100 baht. All food was extremely tasty. I would come here again happily. 20 minute drive from Kamala beach. 10 minutes from Patong beach,

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“Thai food with a view!”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Delicious food, fantastic customer service and wonderful location. The place itself is a bit hard to find (the address is wrong, but do go on their facebook page and follow the instructions there). My boyfriend and I drove there from Patong beach in Phuket and it took us about 20 min to get there and was totally worth it.The restaurant is perched on a hill overlooking the city and it provides a great view at night from the open-air terrace. The food was delicious and the place itself is kept b a wonderfully friendly family. Highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anksem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Can not miss this little beauty!”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Poo's place is fantastic! Up high on the big Patong hill (about 10 min drive from patong beach) looking down towards patong you sit out side in the lovely Thailand sun or outside undercover. Poo herself is just beautiful, very caring. Our food was quite nice, and soo cheap, one of the cheapest places we have found and for the quality you get.. Awesome! My partner couldnt believe how clean the place was, he was very impressed with the sparkling floor. I would say get a fresh coconut, nice on a warm day and Poo's sister can whip you up a Pina Colada if you like. Make sure to write down Poo's number (+6680 144 5722) as the taxi driver may need to call for directions. We had a few drivers who didnt know where it was and wouldnt take us. Poo will call you a taxi when you are ready to leave. Make sure you go check this little place out, open 10.30am - 10.30pm.

Helpful?
1 Thank Josie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poo Nurntong Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Poo Nurntong Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing