We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night Food street in front of BanZaan.”

Banzaan Fresh Market
Ranked #14 of 71 Shopping in Patong
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Night Food street in front of BanZaan.”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Although this topic says BanZaan, I am not reviewing the wet market, but the food street outside the market that sprouts up after 530pm in the evening. Best Thai food we've eaten in Mai Khao and Patong (even the high end restaurants cannot match the taste at BanZaan)

We entered the market from the left and found 3 stalls selling Seafood, we chose the first because they had a bigger display of seafood.

Ordered a flower clam dish, Tom yam seafood, crab with glass bee hoon and asparagus. The stal replaced out asparagus with long beans - returned it without paying; the crab in glass beehoon was also horrible as the crabs were dead and tasted of sulphur - replaced with prawns with glass bee hoon.

However, the tom yam and the flower clams were fantastic dishes. We planned to repeat the order the next day but could not make it back there.

Price wise: each dish was about Baht150, the prawns with glass noodles was Baht350. good value.

Ambience: Sitting on the street behind the wok fire is an experience and don't expect it to be cool!.

Service: Pleasant, loud lady took our order, speaks a bit of mandarin. Told her to speak softly.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Weimin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    214
    70
    23
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The place to go for street food in Patong”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

When I'm in Thailand I like to eat like the Thai's. I'm not interested in buying seafood by the gram in a restaurant surrounded by Europeans. If you want the authentic street food experience in Patong go to Bazaan Market. We ate there for 4 nights in a row and you won't pay more that about 300 baht for amazing food. Seating is a problem but some of the stalls have their own seating provided if you buy from their stall. Amazing food! Can't wait to go back!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank foodvixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth the experience”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

This is an amazing place if you love seafood (or just food in general). Buy your seafood downstairs and get it cooked to your preference upstairs.

It costed me about as much as eating lobster pasta at a hotel restaurant so it wasn't ridiculously cheap considering the process of buying ingredients in a wet market and carrying it upstairs.

If buying fruits, it's worth looking at all stalls before purchasing. For some, Big C had them for less.

Helpful?
Thank Joanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathu, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Grab all sorts of fresh fish, meat, fruits, veggies in Patong”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

There's lots of food stalls and carts with a ton of different Thai fare. The fruit shakes are among the best in the city. Be sure to check out the long, tightly packed row of food carts to the right of the market.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank USNA2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

You choose and buy the seafood from the market downstairs, and then you head upstairs to get them cooked and enjoy a seafood feast. Had a hard time choosing which stores to go to during my two visits there, we tried stall number 6, and number 8.

Tried stall number 6 the first time we were there, had two small lobsters, (steamed with garlic & steamed with cheese), preferred the one with the cheese. Curry powder crab tasted rather unique, and the steamed grouper was good as well.

Tried stall 8 the second time, service was bad as the staffs gave off a vibe like they did not want to serve us when we approached the stall, other than that, we had cheese lobster again and fried clams. The clams were good, but the cheese lobster wasn't as good as the previous stall 6.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank XiangJun11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banzaan Fresh Market also viewed

 
Phuket Town, Phuket
 

Been to Banzaan Fresh Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing