We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly Friendly, Average Rooms and Location...not '200m' from Patong Beach”
Review of Blue Ocean Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Blue Ocean Resort
Ranked #48 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fairly Friendly, Average Rooms and Location...not '200m' from Patong Beach”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as part of a deals package and was fairly happy with the accommodation. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the main section of Patong Beach. It doesn't seem too long but after a while it is annoying to have to keep going backwards to the hotel. The location overlooks drainage works and rubbish so each time we left the hotel the smell was terrible. On arrival they tried to charge us extra than what we had paid for and the room was delayed in being ready which is annoying after having travelled for 13 hours....there was no drink or offer for the inconvenience. The staff are fairly friendly but do not speak English very well so it is a little hard to communicate. Overall loved my trip to Thailand but would stay somewhere closer in next time considering it is also the same price.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmD888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    253
    84
    38
    34
See reviews for
144
314
45
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Get a pool access room - you will not regret it. Close enough to everything but distant enough from the hustle and bustle. Reception staff were amazing and tended to all requests. Tim the omelette chef at the breakfast buffet was very friendly and great! Breakfast buffet is a proper breakfast buffet. Only downside is the funny smell from the rest of the resort

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Roseann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed at this Resort with my two children and also friends... The staff were so friendly and am
The rooms were very clean (sometimes cleaned twice a day). The rooms are large and the bathroom is amazing and modern. I really loved the fact that the lighting and air con was controlled by the panel alongside the bed. This is an ideal location with everything at the front door with just a short walk to the beach and major shopping centre. The hotel spa was fantastic . Breakfast catered for everyone.
I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone. It's was a great price, great location and fantastic friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyH0liday68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

The service was good, the location is located near the beach and has the basics in place. The rooms were spacious and comfortable.

The big dampener was the drain right in front of the hotel. The stink was bad and you could feel it in the restaurant at times.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shijo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in Nov 2013.. It is a nice hotel with a good location.. only 10 mins walk to the Patong Beach and 20 min walk to the Night Market Street- Bangla Road..

The staff at the reception were very warm and we had a seamless and quick check-in and check-out.. Our room was on 3rd floor facing the suronding houses so there was no view from the room... every room has an attached balcony which has a view of the pool.. ours had too but just like an inch of the pool was seen ;)

The breakfast was ok... they had a good mix of asian, continental and indian food..We didnt have other meals at the hotel so cant comment..

Didnt use the spa... but they have a good spa facility within the hotel.. perhaps will try next time :)

The hotel is located roght in the middle of the market place with shops that tend to everything that you may need all around..

The decor etc. of the rooms were good... the loo was fantastic with both a head shower and a hot tub!

This hotel gets my thumbs up!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PNB1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I had a pool access room, definitely go for this type of room. The rooms themselves are great. Really comfortable, and have everything you need in them. The room service was pretty terrible though. Pizza was horrid. But that's what I get for not eating Thai food in Thailand!
The breakfast is ok. Location is perfect. 20 mins walk to Patong town, lots of shopping to be done! Cheap accommodation, for a great stay. And really there's no need to eat food in house, go out!

Room Tip: Pool access room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This resort is the best place I've stayed at so far. It's a short walk to the beach, Bangla Road and Jungcylon shopping centre. The resort is surrounded by anything and everything you could need (7/11, pharmacies, pubs/restaurants, taxis, laundry/tour places and countless shopping stalls).
The room is spacious with a good balcony. There is a 42" LCD TV, a very comfy bed, comfy lounge and a handy bed side control panel for all the lights and A/C.
The bathroom is also worth noting. The shower is excellent and the blue LED downlight sets it off nicely.
The food has been very good so far and is well priced.
The staff have all been excellent, service is top notch.
Overall there is only one word to describe this place, excellent!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nomad_Kyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.0 mi away
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Paripas Patong Resort
Paripas Patong Resort
#82 of 322 in Patong
156 reviews
1.3 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 322 in Patong
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#13 of 322 in Patong
1,608 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
0.2 mi away
The ASHLEE Plaza Patong Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ocean Resort

Property: Blue Ocean Resort
Address: 273 Rat-U-Thit Song Roi Pee Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#39 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#42 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Ocean Resort is located at about 5 minutes walk to the Patong Beach, and about 10 Minutes to the main city center - Bangla Road, and the Popular Jungceylon Shopping Mall. It is just close enough to Patong's Main Charming Attractions, but far away enough from all the hassle and the noisy areas of Patong. Blue Ocean also offers excellent Indian Cuisines, as well as great delicious selections of Thai and European ones. Breakfast has a nice variety. High Speed Internet and Free Wifi can be enjoyed from the rooms as well as the Public Areas of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ocean Hotel Patong
Blue Ocean Resort Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing