We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in patong!!”
Review of Blue Ocean Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Ocean Resort
Ranked #43 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Bendigo, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place in patong!!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

From the time we arrived until the time we left all the staff at this resort made us feel at home!!, we stayed 7 nights ( sept 25th until oct 2nd) and should have stayed longer, the facilitys were excellent and all staff helpful and friendly.rooms were spacious and clean,buffet breakfeast to die for, what a selection,we had a ball with the bar staff at happy hour. Ort,Mot and Baber all making us feel welcome ( got to try the "Love Love" cocktail) we will be back and reccomend this resort to everyone , thanks for making this a memorable stay and not to mention JJ (manager) who was always welcoming and friendly
Thanks again see you soon,
Norm and Mary

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomancurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    256
    86
    39
    34
See reviews for
148
322
47
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My friend and I stayed here in February 2013.

From the very beginning we had problems. Prior to arriving in Thailand we had booked a stay at Blue Ocean in a room with two beds. Upon arrival we were greeted with a nice, cold drink. We were then informed we had to pay more than initially quoted for our stay because it was high season. We were irritated by this, because we felt like we were being scammed, but we decided not to make a fuss. We then checked in and were led by a very friendly porter to our room. We were the only ones staying on our floor. As we exited the lift we were shocked to see that the floor we were staying on was in the middle of renovations - we had not been informed about this (see attached pictures). To make matters worse our room had one bed for us to share. Not only that, the complimentary slippers were filthy and the shower was filthy. We alerted reception, and after initially pretending they could not understand us, ended up admitting there was not a room with two beds until the following day. Although we were disappointed we decided we wouldn't make a fuss. Unfortunately our night in that room was terrible. This hotel is based right next to some sort of open sewage river. The smell of fecal matter pumped through the air con into our room. Also, breakfast on the deck is unpleasant because when there is a breeze the restaurant also smells horribly. The restaurant staff were also quite abrupt (unlike many of the Thai people we encountered). The food also catered heavily to the Chinese and Indian customers. I didn't mind this as I love trying different cuisine, but it is difficult eating curry at 6am before a long bus trip!

The following day we ended up in a room with two beds (in the modern renovated area). Unfortunately we still had problems. Somehow, whenever our neighbours rang their door bell it would ring in our room. A real pain when it is ringing at 5am! We also tried to alert reception about this and gave up because they did not understand. I have travelled all over the world, and I understand that there are always language barriers to over come. And I have absolutely no problem with this fact, normally I embrace it! However, it is so frustrating when you pay for a hotel only to be completely disappointed with the service, safety and cleanliness and no one seems to want to listen. This hotel is a health hazard with exposed wires everywhere. I can only hope they have lifted their game. Regardless, please keep in mind the terrible stench that cannot be avoided!

On the upside, the porters were very lovely. Please tip them if you decide to stay here. They work so hard.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the renovated area at the very least! As as far from the stream as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EmmaRose87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOresort, Manager at Blue Ocean Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just to inform you that since you are one of the customers that have booked through either scoopon, ourdeal or groupon Australia, and since you came in February, there is a high season surcharge. Please check your booking details again. We do not cheat our guests.

In regards to the rennovations, which also WERE happening in February, mainly for the opening of our fitness center and the small other things, we would like you to please understand that we, as a hotel, need to do such renovations at times to keep ourselves up to standards for our customers. We do however apologize for any inconveniences caused and hope that you give us another chance to provide you with the products and services you deserve.

It is our managers' and staffs' best interests at hearts to keep our customers happy. We understand that we cannot make everyone happy, but we do try our best. Again, please accept our apology.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Excelent service , good food , good drinks , very clean , can easily travel to the main street of patong , must stay in pool acess rooms its awesome...
And must try the Massage spa they have..
You won't regret staying in Blue ocean..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djsajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erina, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just returned from 7 night stay at this great resort.There was a little confusion at check in as we had booked with a scoopon and the guy at reception was a bit confused,but the head lady quickly sorted it out.We were then shown to our room on the fourth floor(room 483),which was on of the older rooms from the original hotel that faced the main road.The room itself was fine and had a nice large renovated bathroom,however when the Tuk Tuks started returning from Bangla rd in the early hours of the morning blasting 'doof doof"music,was very hard to get a good nights sleep.
The next morning we went to reception and were upgraded to a larger quieter room(408)which was a nice gesture from management.
We then went to breakfast buffet which was great and had a good variety of western and eastern foods..however one small problem,there is a bee hive close to the hotel and the bees were swarming around the toast station where the jams,marmalade etc were in bowls,i mentioned this to one of the staff who had actually been bitten on the arm,this could be a problem with someone with bee sting allergies.Their solution was to serve the jams next day in small individual glad wrapped bowls,but the bees were still around.
Overall we had a nice relaxing stay at this hotel and the staff were always pleasant and friendly,the location is ok around 10 minute walk to southern end of Patong beach,and around 15 mins to Bangla rd and Jungceylon shopping centre,no issues whatsoever with the river behind the hotel.Unfortunately the 7/11 next door was being renovated and so was closed,but Family mart and cheap restraunts not far away.

Room Tip: avoid rooms that face the main rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, room is very good with great bathroom, breakfast is OK, staff is very helpful despite the poor English they speak. Tour desk is excellent and arranged for us nice tours at considerable rates. Hotel location is far from the beach and you have to take a taxi due to the hot and humid weather. Meanwhile, it's surrounded with many shops, Indian & Western restaurants and near the shopping area. We had a good stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nahla62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buff Point, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have just arrived home from 12 of the most relaxing, beautiful and entertaining nights imaginable. This resort is EXCELLENT. Our rooms were great.....spacious....comfortable.....and very tidy. The staff from Manager JJ, Nina and the girls on the Desk and the bar staff Barbar, Chet, Moss, Aef and Bee are the friendliest people you will ever meet.
The restaurant at the Blue Ocean is very well priced and the menu caters for just about everyone. Wednesday night all you can eat Bbq night is OUTSTANDING. Chef Mama is brilliant.
The Olana spa was a hit with all the girls and the Gym is small but very effective.
Just a 5 minute walk to the beach and about 15 minutes to Bangala Rd and Jungceylon Mall make it close to everything, yet far enough away to relax.
I would thoroughly recommend the Blue Ocean Resort and we will DEFINATELY be heading back there again.
Thanks again for an AWESOME time....Brett, Bernie, Hayley & Erika

Room Tip: Although the rooms over-looking the pool look great.....we had rooms over-looking the street. Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights & could not fault it. From the moment we checked in, the staff were very friendly & welcoming! Nina at the front desk was always helpful with booking tours & providing useful information about the town. Mama the chef was very nice & the staff in the restaurant/bar always greeted us with a smile & chat during the generous buffet breakfast!! Room was spacious & modern. Def spoil yourself with the spa treatment that is apart of the resort.. the best we stayed during our 3wk trip through Thailand & a place we will always remember.

Room Tip: The poolside rooms looked nice.. would recommend to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikdust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.0 mi away
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Paripas Patong Resort
Paripas Patong Resort
#73 of 328 in Patong
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 328 in Patong
737 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#13 of 328 in Patong
1,669 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mazi Design Hotel by Kalima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ocean Resort

Property: Blue Ocean Resort
Address: 273 Rat-U-Thit Song Roi Pee Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#39 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#42 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Ocean Resort is located at about 5 minutes walk to the Patong Beach, and about 10 Minutes to the main city center - Bangla Road, and the Popular Jungceylon Shopping Mall. It is just close enough to Patong's Main Charming Attractions, but far away enough from all the hassle and the noisy areas of Patong. Blue Ocean also offers excellent Indian Cuisines, as well as great delicious selections of Thai and European ones. Breakfast has a nice variety. High Speed Internet and Free Wifi can be enjoyed from the rooms as well as the Public Areas of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ocean Hotel Patong
Blue Ocean Resort Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing