We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really impressive mid-range, great value, great spa! But...”
Review of Blue Ocean Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Blue Ocean Resort
Ranked #44 of 329 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Patong town / beach is a pretty dismal hellhole unless you want girls popping ping-pong balls from where I shan't say. It's really nasty and low-grade, and we're NOT snobs (take a look at my previous reviews.) But we chose the Blue Ocean despite reservations about Patong town because we were on the road over Christmas and we wanted to take a break from our usual guesthouses and pamper ourselves a little bit - and since our intention was mostly to stay in, use the spa and ignore the outside world, this served exactly that purpose to a tee. Although - even within Patong the location is poor - close to the furthest southern edge. Although, when I think about it, the further the better maybe...) The rooms are large and brilliantly presented; the bathrooms and showers a thing of glory; the restaurant food is moderate rather than exciting, but breakfast was substantial, varied and flexible to demand - and I always think this the real test of a hotel's food. The pool is nice, sheltered and a good size for a small hotel, and there's a nice vibe. The spa / massage services are utteraly BRILLIANT - a match for the best treatments you'll get in the UK at e.g. Thermae Bath Spa - for a fraction the cost - totally professional and informed. They were able to pick up, unprompted, on fading sports injuries - a real sign of knowing-your-stuff. Although far more expensive than the street-shop massages these are in another class. Highly, highly recommended; and the service and general ambience was a delight. Really, really happy with this place in general - we don't normally go this far up the hostel / hotel scale but we really feel we got value for money and had a nice Christmas because of it. One notable gripe - we got fleeced by an inept / criminal minibus-to-airport firm as we were leaving (not booked through the hotel), who were an hour late and we were panicking. I'd checked out and I asked the receptionist to help sort it out. She charged me 20 baht for every phone call she made, and proposed no notable alternative to help us. I know this is only 45p and I'd technically left but after I've just paid 6000 baht of spa costs to you and I'm panicking about missing my flight this felt really mercenary; it undermined otherwise universally excellent service. Hmmm. Sad final impression after a brilliant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ardentripadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

514 - 520 of 769 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

Mr JJ completely took care of us when we forgot our passports and started our travels into the islands. He and his team were very impressive and our rooms were great. Probably one of the best showers on my whole trip. Love the pool, the A/C, clean sheets and balcony in the room. Only downside was the smell, but they keep it outside and the whole town really smells so you kind of accepted that when you decided to come to Patong.

Room Tip: if it's really hot, get the step-up poolside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank invisione2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in this resort for 9 nights and from first moment we steped in we could fill that welcoming wibe.Very nice resort, pretty new (less than 3 years old),exeptionaly clean (they clean your room every day and change sheets if nec.)very spacious rooms and bathrooms,LCD tv and free WI FI.Pool is nice size and pool bar offers happy hour with nice selection of drinks..It is located just near canal(small river )and at times it can be bit disappointing but can`t smell it from the room wherever you are. people working there are so nice and friendly and you get thet feeling that you know them forever.Nothing is too hard for them and that makes your stay so comfortable that you don`t wont to leave...ever...Specialy Mee Tualek and Narongchai Raipila,the resort menager..All girls on the floor are so nice and helpfull,and Mama Jaew makes the best eggs ever with big smile on her face...It was such a good holiday and great stay for us we are definetly going back...:))))

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tai o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed 5 nights and had a great time. The rooms were fantastic, even though we weren't able to get a pool access room. The resort is small, in a nice and quaint way. Location is good, at one end of patong beach. Staff were fabulous and our daughter felt very special when the staff bought her a cake and sang happy birthday on the morning we were checking out.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wallfamily252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

this hotel is very comfortable. From the outside it does not impress, but once you are in the room, it is amazing. My wife and me found the small touches to the interior decor very interesting, such as color led shower lighting! It was reasonable clean, and the staff did their best, although some were challenged with the English language. The check in and out was smooth, although we had to request for the welcome drink! We enjoyed quality sleep, and we were on the 6th floor (reception is on the second). Location is not bad, about a 10 min stroll to the beach. We will consider this hotel again for future stays...

Room Tip: higher floors more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at the blue ocean resort for seven nights and originally booked a standard room. These were on the main busy street so very noisy. We requested an upgrade to the pool side room which we got at a very good discounted rate. This room was really nice and being able to open the door and slide straight into the pool was a real treat. A definite must...

The staff were the best part of the entire stay as they were always very friendly, helpful and spoke English very well. The manager even posted a DVD, that we accidentally left behind, back to us in Australia.

The restaurant was nice with a variety of different styles on the menu and located near the pool so pleasant surrounds.

The hotel day spa was the best I have ever been to anywhere both on holidays and at home. It was a little pricey compared to what you can get around patong but most defiantly worth it.

The location was within walking distance to the main shopping and nightlife areas of Patong and there is a seven eleven right next door for the basics.

Room Tip: Defiantly stay in a pool room...quieter, bigger, better showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shellz76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Same as some other people we learned also that Ezystays has gone bankrupt and therefore we had no other choice then to pay again.
However, the manager gave us a good price, because he understood the problem. the hotel is very good, 5 minutes form the beach and 10 minutes form Bangla Road. Excellent food and very friendly staff. We enjoyed the Christmas Buffet which was unbelievable good and so many choice that we can not mention it in this review.
We have one new buffet tomorrow and I'm sure, it will be same good.

Room Tip: Just ask the friendly people at the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bertvanhees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.0 mi away
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Paripas Patong Resort
Paripas Patong Resort
#66 of 329 in Patong
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 329 in Patong
748 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bliss
The Bliss
#45 of 329 in Patong
520 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Patong Beach
Best Western Patong Beach
#23 of 329 in Patong
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ocean Resort

Address: 273 Rat-U-Thit Song Roi Pee Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#39 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#42 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $34 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Ocean Resort is located at about 5 minutes walk to the Patong Beach, and about 10 Minutes to the main city center - Bangla Road, and the Popular Jungceylon Shopping Mall. It is just close enough to Patong's Main Charming Attractions, but far away enough from all the hassle and the noisy areas of Patong. Blue Ocean also offers excellent Indian Cuisines, as well as great delicious selections of Thai and European ones. Breakfast has a nice variety. High Speed Internet and Free Wifi can be enjoyed from the rooms as well as the Public Areas of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Hotwire so you can book your Blue Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ocean Hotel Patong
Blue Ocean Resort Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing