We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Oasis in Patong”
Review of Blue Ocean Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Ocean Resort
Ranked #42 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quiet Oasis in Patong”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

This is a relatively new hotel still undergoing some building but the service is excellent, the room clean and very useable, ours had a view of the pool and some actually had balconies straight into the pool.
Breakfast buffett excellent and had all tastes catered for. At about $85 AUD a night not the cheapest but it was really peaceful and well located away from the sleazy aspects of Patong, Within easy 5 min walk to beach and close to Jungceylon and market..All the staff were wonderful. Free wifi despite what the sites say, and free computer use in lobby area for those without laptops. Funny things like a window that opens in the double shower with oyster room blue lighting, so you can perform for your partner while you shower they can watch lol...strange but amusing..small room, outside balcony with seating, no smoking which was great, great pool..very family friendly. would stay there again

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have direct access to swimming pool off the balcony..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayhemdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    255
    84
    38
    34
See reviews for
147
317
46
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Regret booking our honeymoon package here , if you are aiming for same, make sure of finer details.... as we were not given what they were advertising...

already my daughter will cancel her booking for her honeymoon at this hotel

I have been in the travel industry for some time.... and will not recommend this hotel..

Staff at front counter were very lovely.... my beef is with ppl higher up

Room Tip: pool room access is nice but then so are the mountain view rooms.... stay away from getto view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CzO62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOresort, Manager at Blue Ocean Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear Guests,

It is very important to hear both sides of the story, and I will explain our side of the situation. This gentle lady is currently still staying at the resort. She had reserved a pool access room without any honeymoon package. It can be seen on our website that there are no honeymoon packages for this room type. She had asked the front office to request for some package because it was her honeymoon, and she wanted everything complimentary. We cannot do that, however I still offered her some complimentary flower decorations, and offered her some part of the package with a little higher price. She did not say a single word, or try to negotiate, and then comes and write this review. We do not understand why things got personal, even though we tried our best to make her happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Been to patong 5 times in 16 months ,stayed in a few nice hotels and one not so nice one. Blue ocean was the best hotel that we have stayed in during our trips to phuket . Very big room , very nice bathoom and great service from the staff .Got a driver from the hotel to bring us around shopping on the seond day , he was great and honest .location was not to far the action , just a short stroll away for main part of patong.
Only slight thing is that the breakfast can be a bit basic .
Would stay here again

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkohlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed in Blue ocean in July 2011 for 4 days. The hotel rooms were excellent. The rooms were huge with huge balconies facing the pool. The beach is bit of a walk from the hotel, not too far though. The breakfast spread wasn't very good and the hotel staff were very cold, not very helpful. If you have planned your trips in Phuket, then it wont be much of a bother. However, if you plan to take your trips once you reach Phuket, then the hotel staff is not at all helpful. They don't seem to follow english very well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prabhusundeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

With the amount of choice in patong, you should steer clear of this hotel.
Pros:
1. Ok location. The hotel is bit of a walk from the beach and from bangla road. You can find other hotels for this price right on the beach.
2. The rooms we got were huge and way beyond our expectations. They had huge balconies facing the very small pool.
3. The staff at the breakfast restaurant are very friendly.
4. Housekeeping is very good at what they do. It is unusual to see maids in thailand not taking the coins on the table. I was very impressed by their integrity and discipline.

Cons:
1. The huge balconies overlook a giant sewage stream. The smell is terrible and if you are traveling with any children, please do pay a little more for another place or look for a different location.
2. The service is a disgrace to the hospitality that thailand is famous for. The bell boy did not help us with any luggage when we arrived and we have 4 bags. The receptionist was cold and never greeted us a single time when we entered or exited the hotel right in front of her
3. We wanted to book a taxi to the airport and asked for a taxi at 7pm. Juran - the front office manager - said that taxis charge night charge. We found this unusual cause 7pm is not that late. So we said that we would get back to him. When we got up to leave, juran said in thai to the receptionist about indians being stingy, unknowing that my friend could speak the language. Further when we called a taxi company, they said that there is no late charge till after 10pm and we were charged the usual 650 THB for the trip. This left us very upset.

The management should take a serious look at juran's attitude and his discriminatory behavior.

Finally, this is not a resort. Dont go here looking for a big pool and entertainment or any other services, except for a room and breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jay_thyagarajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOresort, Manager at Blue Ocean Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on our hotel. Please be informed that we are deeply sorry for the situations you had come across during your stay at our hotel and that investigations will be done for further actions. We will do everything we can from the suggestions for improvements in the future. We hope you give us a second chance to change your perceptions on our hotel.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Our family of 5 had 11 wonderful days at Karon Beach. Following that we had 4 days booked at another location to finish off our Phuket holiday. We departed our second location 2 days early because it was so disappointing. We tried to get into several other places for the last two nights but none were able to accomodate us or didn't want to accomodate us. We then tried the Blue Ocean Resort as it was one of the original hotels we were considering based on the great reviews on trip-advisor.

Blue Ocean had two side by side rooms (couldn't provide inter-connecting rooms but at that stage we didn't care) and I asked them to hold them and said we'd be there in an hour. From the moment I spoke to their staff on the phone I knew that we had made the right choice. When we arrived they greeted us by name and made us very welcome.

We were given two pool access rooms and they were nothing short of spectacular. This is one very cool hotel, very well appointed with modern decor and technology, free wi-fi and the bathroom/shower alone is almost reason enough to stay there.

Breakfast was good, lots to choose from and the pool is brilliantly illuminated at night. The mini-bar prices were very reasonable too. Having live music poolside is a novel idea but with all due respect to the singers, you really need to find some better talent (and maybe drop the volume down a tad).

Blue Ocean Resort is well located if you like Patong but can get a bit overwhelmed by it at times. Plenty of market stalls, massage places, restaurants and bars nearby but far enough out of the really mad parts of patong. A great spot if you have kids and/or teenagers.

We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: pool access rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Damo35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We decided to stay here after reading trip advisor reviews for 17 nights.
Booking was made over the internet, direct with the hotel and I was given good rates and transfers. We did muck them around a little, as some of our travel companions dropped out at the last minute or we had late additions, but it was no problem.
Check in was a little slow due to the language barrier, but given we know very little Thai, they did a brilliant job. The staff were always welcoming when they seen us with a big smile and a warm Thai hello.
Our rooms were fabulous, with comfy beds (some beds in Thailand are like sleeping on cement). Nice bathroom, flat screen TV, great air con and a balcony that overlooked the pool.
There is a causeway behind the hotel, which is a bit of an eyesore and there has been much written on TA about it, but really, its not big deal. You get the occasional waft every now and then, but it certainly doesnt stink or detract from the hotel.
Breakfast every morning was great and made so much better with the wonderful & friendly bar staff who always had a giggle and a smile for us all. Food was great, fresh fruit, eggs cooked the way you liked them and the selections varied from day to day. There was never a day that there wasnt good food for breakfast.
I was a little dubious about checking out after almost three weeks, thinking what sort of state the bill would be in. It was no problem at all. Everything was in order.
Overall, I would stay there again in a heartbeat. The staff certainly made this hotel even more wonderful. Clean, professional, friendly and a great price. What more could you ask for?
We will certainly be back!!

Room Tip: Book it!! You wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Zahras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.0 mi away
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Paripas Patong Resort
Paripas Patong Resort
#75 of 322 in Patong
162 reviews
1.3 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 322 in Patong
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#12 of 322 in Patong
1,642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong
0.0 mi away
Mazi Design Hotel by Kalima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ocean Resort

Property: Blue Ocean Resort
Address: 273 Rat-U-Thit Song Roi Pee Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#39 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#42 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Ocean Resort is located at about 5 minutes walk to the Patong Beach, and about 10 Minutes to the main city center - Bangla Road, and the Popular Jungceylon Shopping Mall. It is just close enough to Patong's Main Charming Attractions, but far away enough from all the hassle and the noisy areas of Patong. Blue Ocean also offers excellent Indian Cuisines, as well as great delicious selections of Thai and European ones. Breakfast has a nice variety. High Speed Internet and Free Wifi can be enjoyed from the rooms as well as the Public Areas of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ocean Hotel Patong
Blue Ocean Resort Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing