We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money!”
Review of Blue Ocean Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Ocean Resort
Ranked #43 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Turin, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value for money!”
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Very nice hotel, the price is really competitive! The hotel is at the South end of Patong, in any case the town is small and so you can go to the city centre by 5-10 min walk, at the same time you're far from the noise of discos. The overall attention for the details is ok. Rooms and toilets are more than spacious and clean. Only the elavtors need some refurbishment. Breakfast is in the average, the swimming pool is small but ok (and in any case the hotel itself is quite small). The panorama is a weak point as is on the back of the town, with shacks and a channnel of dead water. But the overal judgement is largely positive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    255
    84
    38
    34
See reviews for
145
317
46
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Stayed here during our visit to Phuket. The hotel is only 500 yds away from the beach and for the price, it is a terrific value for money. The rooms are spacious and overlook the pool. The interiors though new, could do with better upkeep. We had an issue with one room where ants seem to overrun the bar/table area despite getting it cleaned a couple of times. The breakfast is superb and included in the price. The hotel was recommended by a friend and for a vacation in phuket, very well located , though there is NO sea view at all. The only other grouse is that it overlooks a small riverlet which has garbage floating in it. So if you are there for the view , go somewhere else. If you need a clean comfortable place with good food barely 500 yds away from the beach at a great price, this might be it.

Room Tip: Speak to the management and ask for the best price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anuj V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

This is actually the first time Trip advisor disappointed me. This hotel was highly rated and we booked the suite ther in August. The room was good but the view was the drainage behind the hotel. We couldn't open the balcony door as there was a foul stench and flies.

I would warn anybody who is looking for a good time to stay off the hotel. Stay off guys

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AjMathews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon. To save money for our Koh Samui part of the holiday we choose Blue Ocean for it's location and price. Only $56 per night including a yummy buffet breakfast was great! It stated on the website that it was newly built and that is true, we enjoyed all the modern fixtures and free internet. For the price we weren't expecting much but were very pleasantly surprised! I'd suggest this hotel to people who like to spend more money on shopping and exploring than accommodation. The reception staff were lovely, wait staff a bit distracted but ok.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bellej1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

My husband booked online through wotif for 2 nights so we could see what it was like. We loved it and moved to a pool access room for the next 6 nights, this hotel is excellent value, The staff are very friendly and easy to communicate with. We found it to be quiet and relaxing. It is close to Patong beach, only 5 minute walk. There is an excellent day spa just across the road called "emotion", classy and very skilled, I had a facial and my husband had a relaxing oil massage. It does look very small when you first arrive, i was a bit puzzled when we arrived, But when we went up the lift we were able to see the whole hotel and it was lovely. We hired a scooter through the hotel and this was a very easy and smooth process.

Room Tip: book through wotif for the first couple of nights, then book through the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamlyn Terrace, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights at a great rate. We had a pool access room which was fantastic. It started well with the driver arranged through the hotel, who was a cautious and helpful.

The rooms are large and clean with great tv/entertainment facilities. All lighting, aircon and clocks are controlled through a device by the bed. The beds are large and comfortable. The shower area is massive with 2 shower heads.

The pool was beautiful but maybe small if the hotel was full during peak season. The pool access was a delight and still provided privacy.

The breakfast was sufficient with a good variety. The egg station was a big plus. The food included breads/pastries, fruits, salads, thai dishes, eggs, hot foods and juice. Each day was different. Only downside was that small bees liked the jam pastries but were removed continuously by staff.

The service was exceptional. Yes most of the staff don't have great english but just remember you are in Thailand so maybe we should learn more of their language. A few of the staff had great english (one in breakfast and one at the desk). Always was meet with a greeting and smile. The bell boy who handled our bags was great. Went to give him a tip after bringing our bags to our room and before I could get the tip out he had left...........not like some places where they hang around hinting for a tip :)

Overall it was a great experience. The hotel is a walk away from Patong which I liked. Heaps of massage, 711/convenience stores and restaurants just outside hotel. The hotel design/furnishings are not 5 star (more 4 star at least) but for value is 5 stars.

Thanks so much to everyone involved.

Room Tip: Pool access is very handy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dprebble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I have been wanting to stay at the Blue Ocean Resort for a while now after reading its good reviews and passing by the hotel on my last trip to Phuket. I must say it looks extremely underwhelming and small from the outside, when we arrived, my husband was a little worried and said: "This is it?" Lol...

But when we entered the lobby which was on the 2nd floor, it was actually a very cosy, clean and homely but modern hotel. It seems to be a rather new establishment, with furnishings and surroundings still being relatively new and clean and not tainted or dirty like some other hotels we have been to. Let me break this hotel down for you to the pros and cons:

PROs:
1) Service was fine - I give them a thumbs up for always smiling and the bell boy for always being around. When we checked in, he was there, when we checked out, he was promptly there again! Haha, this doesn't happen much at other phuket hotels i must say. I felt a genuine smile from them at breakfast, at the reception and when i wanted to get another key card because one of ours went missing. They were always very obliging.
PLUS - I would like to thank them for the late check out they gave us till 2pm which they did not charge us for! Let me tell you again - that does NOT always happen in Phuket/Patong!

2) Room - We booked a pool access room (check out my photos!) and i must say that the room is extremely well thought out. It was spotless, new, modern with flat screen TV and some high-tech units to plug in your cables at the side. The bed had those expensive, white bedding and it was SO comfy to sleep on, for 3 nights there, i slept like a baby! Our room 211 has an amazing view of the pool and mountains (see photos!). The toilet had 2 sides, one with a rain shower(my favourite!) and one with a normal shower with a seat to sit down or put your things. Nice. The balcony leading to the pool was also clean and nice with a clothing rack but the pool is something else to be desired (see under CONs for pool).

3) Location - It's a convenient base to start out your Patong operations if you haven't been there before. But my husband and I are patong pros by now so we found it to be still a tad far from Jungceylon, where we spend most of our time. It's about a 15 min walk if you don't stop, 20 mins if you are slow. However, it's closer to Patong beach, just cut across the road from the hotel and walk 5 mins and you are there! There are many shops and massages when you turn right after leaving the hotel. You'll never be lack of food or shopping. There's a 7-11 just downstairs the hotel too and Hard Rock is just a little further down your right.

CONs:
1) The Pool - When i saw the pictures in their website and other reviews, it didn't seem that small. However, i must say it's more of a wading pool, then a swimming pool. You can't really do laps, and if more than 5 people are in the pool, it will be too crowded. The water is slightly too cold as the sun only covers the pool from late morning to early afternoon, a very short time. But otherwise, it is clean and not too deep.

2) Spa - They gave us a voucher to use at their spa but when i wanted to use it on Saturday, it was closed all day! Of all days to close, Saturday is the best time for them to do business!

3) Breakfast - Very basic, but could be improved. The only thing worth eating is of course, the eggs station where they make eggs you request for. The hot food is sometimes too hard and cold. The bread/pastry section is too scary to eat as i saw bees sucking on it. It must mean the pastry is tasty though!

I wouldn't mind staying here again if they continued their very reasonable rate for their pool access rooms. For the price i paid, i would call it value for money. Hopefully, the rooms and the areas maintain it's newness and cleanliness, the service stays pleasant and we may consider coming back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melovechups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.0 mi away
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Paripas Patong Resort
Paripas Patong Resort
#75 of 322 in Patong
161 reviews
1.3 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 322 in Patong
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#13 of 322 in Patong
1,630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong
0.0 mi away
Mazi Design Hotel by Kalima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ocean Resort

Property: Blue Ocean Resort
Address: 273 Rat-U-Thit Song Roi Pee Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#39 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#42 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Ocean Resort is located at about 5 minutes walk to the Patong Beach, and about 10 Minutes to the main city center - Bangla Road, and the Popular Jungceylon Shopping Mall. It is just close enough to Patong's Main Charming Attractions, but far away enough from all the hassle and the noisy areas of Patong. Blue Ocean also offers excellent Indian Cuisines, as well as great delicious selections of Thai and European ones. Breakfast has a nice variety. High Speed Internet and Free Wifi can be enjoyed from the rooms as well as the Public Areas of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ocean Hotel Patong
Blue Ocean Resort Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing