We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location and great price”
Review of Blue Ocean Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Ocean Resort
Ranked #42 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant location and great price”
Reviewed May 4, 2011

This Hotel is on the main road in patong but it is a little bit of a walk from the hustle and bustle of Bangla road and the markets. It is about 5 minutes walk from the beach and about 10-15 minutes walk from Bangla Road. Simon Cabaret is just round the corner and all the tours pick you up from the hotel.
The room is designed for 2 people but we had 3 and it was still plenty big enough. The room is cleaned everyday and the minibar prices are really good. There is a small safe in the room for you to lock valubles in. Breakfast was included with our room and there was a good selection of food to choose from. We ordered from room service on one occassion and the food was promptly delivered, tasty and cheap.
The hotel has a small pool as well as a childrens wading pool. There is free internet access in the lobby, but there is only 2 computers so mornings are often hard to get on but if you go down in the evening or during the day you can usually get on.
The staff were friendly and polite.
The only things I could fault the hotel for were the numbers on the phone to reach housekeeping and reception didn't all work. You could reach reception who would put you through to the right area but it was a little daunting when we first arrived for the numbers not to work. Also the airconditioner was a little noisy at night. We were able to turn it down and we were generally so tired we fell asleep anyway, but it was noticable.

Room Tip: book online for the best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ozitravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    255
    84
    38
    34
See reviews for
147
317
46
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Located near Patong Beach (20mins walk from Hotel) and many good local resturants with authentic Thai food in low cost. Do not get deceived by its interior, they cook everything fresh and they are authentic.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boorchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We stayed at this resort during our visit in April 2011. Place was clean and staff was helpful. We got good vegetarian choice in our breakfast, thanks to restaurant staff there. Since my family likes to go to beach and relax, I found location quite convenient. If you are dependent on taxi/tuk tuk for commuting, this kind of location helps. Its 7-10 min walk to Patong beach, so you are near to beach, but away from hustle / bustle of that area. We also found good number of eating joints and a 7-11 just near the property.
Rooms were big enough, clean linen and good amenities. They have limited number of connecting rooms, and we took two of them. They have a fitness centre, a spa and moderate swimming pool, but generally you need not use pool.
Though it can not match true "resort" on the beach, we found it good value for money.

Room Tip: First 3 rooms on each floor have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KDMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warszawa, Polska
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

It was like paradise staying at this Hotel. We got the superior room that opened up to the pool. It was amazing. The bathroom were also so huge and it was wonderful. Thank you for making rooms like that. Service, internet, breakfast were all first rate.
I cried when I had to leave.
Charanjit Singh Walia

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toniwalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Myself and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in March. We booked the room just 1 day before (calling from another hotel in Bangkok). The receptionist was very nice and we managed to get discount for our accommodation.
Our room was located at the first floor with direct access to swimming pool! Room was quite big with nice lighting and amazing shower.
Room service was good. Breakfast was ok. Served too early for me, from 6.30-10.30.but that's thai standard I'd say.
This hotel is located close to the beach, shops (7/11- very handy), laundry, Simon Cabaret Show etc.
Swimming pool is small but with very friendly atmosphere. There was very good band every evening.
Receptioists are very helpful, also the waiting staff. One evening, one of the waiters walked me to the shop and waited until I finished shopping. I felt really looked after.

The one think that I wasn't happy about was the noise during the first 2 nights (weekend), coming from other balconies and the room above ours. I was suprised that none of night staff did anything about it. Sleeping tablets help.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattiGalwayGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amritsar, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Blue Ocean Resort, one of the most fantastic areas I have personally ever been to. We got two superior rooms, one for me and the mrs. and the other for our daughters. What we love about this place is how friendly and helpful the people are. There was of course a little problem with communication at times, but thats normal everywhere in Thailand. What I also love about this resort, is that it brings the old feeling that you could feel once upon a time in Phuket. You can't really get the old Phuket anymore coz of the huge amount of people, the bars, the noise... But Blue Ocean is beyond all that, cause you can feel the relaxation and the quiet, perfect for a holiday. Rooms were excellent and clean, great spa and amazing swimming pool atmosphere at night. We will recommend the resort to our friends and family

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmolSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

You need to set your expectations right at this resort. It is not a high-end resort and for the price you pay per night per room, you should not expect too much.

If all you need is a comfortable quiet accommodation, this resort will suffice. It is cosy and spacious. And the location is also windy (it was very hot in phuket but the location did not face the afternoon sun). I must also compliment the quality of the bathroom- it is unique and different. What you see on the picture is what you will get. It is good value for the price you pay.

That said there is almost no other amenities at the resort. The hotel is clean and neat but thats it. It has still yet to build up its capacity to provide all round services. Its gym consist of only a machine. The pool is small but good enough if you only want a dip and then bask in the sun. The breakfast does not have a widespread but is good enough. But if you stay more than 3 days, you will be sick of the food. The staff lack a good command of English

Finally, the location is fine. It is walking distance to all the malls and key district. There are limited taxis (not tuk tuk) but it is not difficult to find. Just walk abit and you will get one soon.

For the price you pay (and phulet is expensive), this resort is satisfactory.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecSoviet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.0 mi away
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Paripas Patong Resort
Paripas Patong Resort
#75 of 322 in Patong
162 reviews
1.3 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 322 in Patong
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#12 of 322 in Patong
1,642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong
0.0 mi away
Mazi Design Hotel by Kalima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ocean Resort

Property: Blue Ocean Resort
Address: 273 Rat-U-Thit Song Roi Pee Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#39 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#42 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Ocean Resort is located at about 5 minutes walk to the Patong Beach, and about 10 Minutes to the main city center - Bangla Road, and the Popular Jungceylon Shopping Mall. It is just close enough to Patong's Main Charming Attractions, but far away enough from all the hassle and the noisy areas of Patong. Blue Ocean also offers excellent Indian Cuisines, as well as great delicious selections of Thai and European ones. Breakfast has a nice variety. High Speed Internet and Free Wifi can be enjoyed from the rooms as well as the Public Areas of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ocean Hotel Patong
Blue Ocean Resort Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing