We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most 'Obnoxious' Hotel Staff and Terrible Experience Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palmyra Patong Resort
Ranked #45 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Most 'Obnoxious' Hotel Staff and Terrible Experience Ever!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

When one is out on a vacation, one would just ask for a nice hotel, with everything turning out to be on one's stride, and this was the complete antonym of our experience.

Courtesy was negative, unhelpful staff and misguided 'reservation confirmation', and they had the nerve to say 'you can leave if you don't want to stay'.
Is this what a 'guest' to should expect while on a vacation.
This hotel seemed to have a nice facade, etc. But I guess looks are deceptive! The hospitality and warmth of the place are equally important as the hotel design and decor.

It was more like a strict 'Hostel' rather than a hotel, with 'FINE' for everything. It was an absolute nightmare and INSULTING to find the staff asking us about 'minuscule' room amenities while we were checking out. In stead of assorting those themselves, we were asked to seek them and provide them ourselves.

Wish there was a way to find out a Hotel's Hospitality services before booking.
Here it is: DON'T BOOK THIS PLACE. IT IS A NIGHTMARE. IT WILL RUIN YOUR VACATION

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vineet a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDofPalmyraPatong, General Manager at Palmyra Patong Resort, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Vineet1980,

Thanks for your stay with us.

Your review and complaints echoed very much the same issues about us as the previous reviewer, and we know you both are together.

As mentioned and explained, we do not have any policy to allow our staff to chase customers away, and even rude to guests and visitors to our resort. Our staff were left with no choice but to agree to allow you both to cancel the rooms since we couldn't find you 2 rooms on the same floor. They wouldn't dare to threaten you to cancel the rooms and ask you to leave our resort because all our staff know well they would be fired in no time if they did so.

The trail of your subsequent complaints that followed are the direct result of our staff not being able to keep both rooms on the same floor for you and your friend, and we are very saddened to see you would pick on every detail in order to launch personal attacks as such on our staff and us. We thought this is not necessary and unfair.

Nevertheless, we view all your feedback positively and we remain committed to continue to improve our products and services in order to keep all our new guests and returning guests happy staying with us.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    223
    82
    27
    14
See reviews for
148
193
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were two couple and two kids travelling, and we had asked fro two rooms. The rooms were allocated on different floors and when I requested for rooms on the same floor a point blank "not available" was shot at me.

Zero courtesy, zero hospitality.

When I requested that if they can give me room on the same floor the next day (as I was staying for 3 nights) a very non committal luke warm reply came "we will try" (read NO).

There was an error in the confirmation sent to me by the hotel, when I took it up, some lady (apparently the manager) stormed out of the back office and told us that "This is what it is, if we don't like it, we can cancel our booking and leave.

All this when I am sitting at their desk to check-in.

So much for hospitality.....

Then one of the double rooms that was blocked for us had a two single duvets. How wierd is that??

In my room the bedsheet was torn.

For ice you get charged. For a lost slipper you get charged, for a delay in returning the pool towel you get charged......

And there is no room service or f&b available in the hotel after 5 pm.

For a locked safe it takes 30 min for someone to come. For a stuck balcony door 1 hour.

For a booked and paid van to airport, the guy at reception at 4 am says I don't know... where did you book it?

Now for the icing on the cake. if you checkin in this hotel be prepared to give an inventory of their room when you check out. They count slippers, towels, glasses, cups, tea spoons etc etc. Thank god I did not have to submit an inventory of the my jockeys that I was carrying.

I have been working for hotels for last 16 years, and all the above is a sacrilege in hospitality. But may be we are Indians and our definition of hospitality is to be hospitable to the guest and not be hostile..... and yes the frowns and the smirks and the disinterested looks are a norm.

Crux of the matter, the owner has invested in a beautiful product, which is on an amazing location, 10 min from beach, 10 min from action street, but the callousness of staff is really screwing it up.

NOT RECOMMENDED FOR ANYONE

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside room.. First Floor Preferably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeelabhChugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDofPalmyraPatong, General Manager at Palmyra Patong Resort, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear NeelabhChugh,

Thanks for your stay with us and making efforts recalling every complaint you had about us and shared them with us.

We have gone through every complaint you had about us with all department heads and staff involved and we have to admit we are not the best hotel where we can give you impeccable services as expected. Having said that, we do commit ourselves to always do our best to keep all our guests happy but at times we do know we can't be everything to everyone also.

Our resort has been fortunate enough to see high occupancy most of the time since we open and many bookings are advanced reservations also. For this very reason we always remain extremely careful with our commitment to all our guests, esp. those book late so to avoid disappointment or misunderstanding. For the same reason also, we always remain non-committal when guests have special or additional requests because we know it is very difficult to meet every request when we are fully booked. We understood that when you arrived to check in at our resort, you requested to have both your rooms (one for you and family and the second room is for your friend and family) to be on the same floor, and our staff told you we didn't have 2 rooms available on the same floor anymore due to full occupancy. In response to that, you responded by threatening our staff by saying you would cancel your bookings if we didn't give you both rooms on the same floor, which prompted our colleague to agree that we would let you cancel your rooms if you wish, given the fact that there was not much left we could do to help find both rooms to be on the same floor.

We are pleased to inform that we don't have policy where any of our staff is allowed to chase our guests away, not even be rude to any guests or visitors to our resort. If found, they will be fired in no time. Your comments and feedback esp. saying our manager/staff asking you "to cancel your booking and leave" was extremely worrying and prompted us to go through a comprehensive investigation into your stay with us to make sure our policy remain well respected by each and every staff and colleague of our resort.

Glad to know that you're in hospitality and hotel business for so many years. As a hotelier, we all know full well that it is a standard procedure for house keepers to check inventory and items in the rooms when guests check out and this is common practice among all hotels/resorts in Thailand and we believe most countries also. We always encourage all our guests to speak to us if there is anything they are unhappy about so we can attend to their request right away, rather writing one-sided complaints after they have checked out.

All in all, we value your feedback very much and will take them constructively. There is always room for improvement and we will continue to improve our products and services to keep all our guests happy.

Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

if you are travelling with family and that too on a long stay then this is my pick.
Cute, value for money, excellent staff-young and friendly.It has a competitive travel desk,Rooms are luxurious for the price.The pool was clean and impressive .Snacks,drinks and meals, by the pool were well priced and food quality was good.The hotel is a short walk from Patong beach and Bangla Road, which is thick in action in the evenings.All in all a genuine place to stay and build a momentum for your vacation in this beautiful island in the andamans.And Yes Wi-fi was free and fast.I always recommend this nest to my clients.

Room Tip: go for the family cottage-it's a cottage in the true sense!Otherwise the other room categories a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teenmusafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I am from Singapore and this was my first time holiday in Patong during 24 Sep - 27 Sep 2012. Here is what i loved about this resort hotel.

Had a great breakfast buffet provided by the hotel throughout the stay. Quite impressed with the room set up ( 3rd Storey Deluxe Room pool view ).. but a lil disappointed with the balcony because when it rains everything there gets wet..probably shelter aint enough.

Definitely was very impressed with the hotel location.
Other hotels, they are surrounded by busy roads, commotions... clubs.. parties.. people.. but this resort, offers you a calm environment even before you reaches the resort as there is a small road which is away from the busy road, about 100metres long, which leads to the lobby.
Hotels in Patong are always fully booked.. so remember to book earlier. There is no SPA in this hotel, but the SPA package they offer is done outside the hotel.

The main shopping centre, "Jungceylon" is about 10 to 15mins walk. It is definitely not a problem walking.. as along the way you have many important shops ranging from clothings, souveniers, tour packages & food. Had a worthwhile experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZanWoocheh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Central and walking distance to mall and beach. Gorgeous newly renovated rooms and reasonably priced - the stay included a breakfast! We stayed on one of the top floors and had a stunning view - room has air con, large bed and a range of tv channels. Their cocktails at the bar were also delishious.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

A great family friendly resort in the heart of Patong .. the rooms are spacious and always clean . Nice size pool and the restaurant has great Thai and western food available ,, This resort is so central to Patong there is no need for a tuk tuk , taxi or scooter .. A wonderful resort for a family holiday .

Room Tip: the family villas are spacious and the pool access room for couples are amazing . all rooms have air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne4557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Belait, Brunei Darussalam
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days 3 nights. Great location which takes u only 10 mins walking distance to the big shopping mall and 15-20 minutes to Hard Rock Cafe. Staff are ok and the buffet breakfast are great.

We stayed at family villa with 2 rooms (queen size bed and another room 2 super single bed). Our room has balcony. Room quite big and bed is comfy. For villa, they provided you an oven and fridge. There are also small living room downstair. However, you need to go at the receiption area to get an internet connection where u have to pay for it.

Overall - it's really a nice place and value money to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ns08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.3 mi away
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#7 of 322 in Patong
1,644 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Phuket Deevana
Ramada Phuket Deevana
#15 of 322 in Patong
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Andaman Beach Suites Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Royal Paradise Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
R Mar Resort and Spa
R Mar Resort and Spa
#56 of 322 in Patong
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmyra Patong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmyra Patong Resort

Property: Palmyra Patong Resort
Address: 91/3 Rat-U-Thit Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#24 Family Hotel in Patong
#32 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#40 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmyra Patong Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palmyra Patong Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmyra Patong Hotel Patong
Palmyra Patong Resort Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing