We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The noisest hotel room I've ever had” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viking Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Viking Residence
Ranked #215 of 309 Hotels in Patong
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
146 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“The noisest hotel room I've ever had”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I had to book a new hotel upon the afternoon of my arrival in Phuket, due to a serious problem with Agoda with the hotel I had booked for my stay. Please be aware that some of the previous reviews on here are incorrect or suspicious, eg its a 10 min walk to the beach, not 3 minutes as some people have amazingly suggested. Its pretty basic & not great place to stay.

I spent 2 nights here in a Superior Room, basically the noisest hotel room I have ever stayed in, as it overlooked Rat U Thit Rd. The WIFI never worked in the room at all during my stay, everybody had to go down to the reception area if they wanted internet access. The room was clean enough & the AC worked fine, but the bed sheets & duvet covers had holes in them.

I have no problem with the massage girls in the reception/restaurant/bar area doing their job, but its not a family environment really.

Personally, I wouldn't stay here again at all

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaynewcastle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

only stayed one night but it was a lot better then where we were previously staying, the staff were friendly there is a lift and the room was clean you can borrow a beach towel for free it's a 3 min walk to the beach, great room

will definately return next time!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank widge55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toamasina (Tamatave), Madagascar
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

i stayed at the viking residence for nine days with my GF and we had a great time. the staffs hospitality and willingness to help with any of your needs was first class. would recommend staying here to any one.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoca Beach, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed here for one month. The rooms are clean. Spacious enough for two people, The tv is good, theres a fridge, a safe and its afforadable. The location is great, about a 7-10 minute walk to Bangla road. The restruant down the bottom is good quality thai as well.
The staff were beyond friendly.. My favourite part about this place, always willing to help. Always gave us beach towels, our rooms were cleaned daily and even one day when i had too much to drink, the staff came to my room with free bottled water, cleaned the bathroom of my sick for me and tucked me into bed.
Recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a cheaper option in patong.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basiglio, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed in the Viking residence for some days last August with some friends: the location is good, but a part this I don't see any good reason to stay at this hotel: the rooms are decent size, but the cleaning is something else...In my room the air conditioner was not working properly and unable to control the airflow. The curtain in the bathroom was also falling apart and nobody fixed the problem: we believe this is a clear sign of neglect. Also, the hotel is very noisy not only for is position: two rooms on second floor have been allocated to a "massage" service with people going in and out till early hours in the morning: the massage ladies, sitting within the hotel premises, attract customers in a embarassing way which is not fair especially for families with children. The hotel staff looks like always more interested in chatting among themselves as opposed to attending guests: asking something is very possible, having an answer is something else.
Last and the more important info,about the kitchen: the door, always open, is directly across the street and hygiene is very far from this room.
This is not definitely a place to relax. We will never go back.

Room Tip: Look for some better hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARIA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Patong hotels

Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here this month with my boyfriend for 4 nights, we are backpacking round asia and this hotel was definetley it the top 2! It has everything you need good hot shower, extra clean room- cleaned daily, an elevator which you really appreciate! A fridge, cable tv, free wifi an spacious room! It is right next door to mini mart and 5 minute walkto bangla road but has restaurants and few quieter - nicer bars just on your doorstep but not too loud to sleep! The ladies who run this hotel are so friendly and helpful and let us use there phone fr free when we were having trouble with the bank! There is also free computer with internet to use! At only 500 baht a night!! Would definetly stay here again! Oh and only 5 minute walk to beautiful patong beach!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennlamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed at the Viking with my wife in the month of July for three nights and I based my selection on the location of this property which seemed convenient. Or so I thought..
The rooms are spacious and the food at the restaurant is of good quality. But other then that we found the place to be very noisy, unattended most of the time with the staff apparently more interested in chatting among themselves as opposed to attending guests as it happened in all our previous trips to Thailand.
The rooms are indeed spacious but the air conditioner was not working properly and unable to control the airflow. We had to manually switch on and off the unit making it very uncomfortable during the night as it was either too hot or too cold. We reported this a few times but we were told that this was the same problem in all the rooms....
The curtain in the bathroom was also falling apart and we believe this is a clear sign of neglect.
In appearance the hotel looked clean but we were later contradicted after seeing a rat coming out of the open kitchen door on the side of the building where we parked our mopeds.
With the abundance of hotels and B&B in Patong it is not difficult to find a place to stay in a relatively low season and we believe that Viking is will not be able to attract returning guests on these basis.
We will certainly look at other places to stay in town next time we are around. Definitely not recommended

Room Tip: Avoid Viking if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotter223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Priew Wan Guesthouse
Priew Wan Guesthouse
#116 of 309 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orange Hotel
Orange Hotel
#150 of 309 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andatel Grande Patong Phuket Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
White Sand Resortel
White Sand Resortel
#203 of 309 in Patong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayshore Resort and Spa
Bayshore Resort and Spa
#166 of 309 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capitano Beach Hotel
Capitano Beach Hotel
#102 of 395 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Residence

Property: Viking Residence
Address: 85 / 7 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 309 Hotels in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Viking Residence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 22 beautiful & spacious rooms with all amenities you need. High standards of cleanliness are important to us. You will be very comfortable on the king-size bed with high quality mattress and a shower with hot and cold water. Our Standard rooms are large with king-size bed, cable TV, individual control air con, safety deposit box, telephone and mini bar. Moreover, we are located in the heart of the city just a short stroll away from the beautiful beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Viking Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Residence Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing