We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good for value-clean hotel!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viking Residence

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Viking Residence
Ranked #225 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really good for value-clean hotel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here this month with my boyfriend for 4 nights, we are backpacking round asia and this hotel was definetley it the top 2! It has everything you need good hot shower, extra clean room- cleaned daily, an elevator which you really appreciate! A fridge, cable tv, free wifi an spacious room! It is right next door to mini mart and 5 minute walkto bangla road but has restaurants and few quieter - nicer bars just on your doorstep but not too loud to sleep! The ladies who run this hotel are so friendly and helpful and let us use there phone fr free when we were having trouble with the bank! There is also free computer with internet to use! At only 500 baht a night!! Would definetly stay here again! Oh and only 5 minute walk to beautiful patong beach!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennlamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed at the Viking with my wife in the month of July for three nights and I based my selection on the location of this property which seemed convenient. Or so I thought..
The rooms are spacious and the food at the restaurant is of good quality. But other then that we found the place to be very noisy, unattended most of the time with the staff apparently more interested in chatting among themselves as opposed to attending guests as it happened in all our previous trips to Thailand.
The rooms are indeed spacious but the air conditioner was not working properly and unable to control the airflow. We had to manually switch on and off the unit making it very uncomfortable during the night as it was either too hot or too cold. We reported this a few times but we were told that this was the same problem in all the rooms....
The curtain in the bathroom was also falling apart and we believe this is a clear sign of neglect.
In appearance the hotel looked clean but we were later contradicted after seeing a rat coming out of the open kitchen door on the side of the building where we parked our mopeds.
With the abundance of hotels and B&B in Patong it is not difficult to find a place to stay in a relatively low season and we believe that Viking is will not be able to attract returning guests on these basis.
We will certainly look at other places to stay in town next time we are around. Definitely not recommended

Room Tip: Avoid Viking if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotter223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Patong hotels

Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Despite the friendliness of the restaurant staff, the hotel is very noisy. This is not definitely a place to relax. Two rooms of the hotel have been allocated to a massage service with people going in and out till early hours in the morning: the massage ladies, sitting within the hotel premises, attract customers in a embarassing way which is not fair especially for families with children.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stemar214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

We were greeted by really friendly staff that assisted to help us find the taxi that we'd just left our bag in. They were so helpful and sympathetic to us through it and went to all efforts to get it back for it. We were lucky enough to have the taxi driver return the bag to the hotel. Aside from that the hotel was all we needed - bed, bathroom and air con. The hotel also has a lift so a stress free path to our room.

The hotel was just out of the action which was perfect for us because it gets crazy down there. About a 6 minute walk to the main street of Patong and a 3 minute walk to the nice end of the beach.

Room Tip: 6 minute walk to main street 3 minute walk to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocallaghan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

Spotless rooms. Good location. Great staff. Stayed in the hotel for a couple of nights before heading off to Koh Lanta for a week. Returned again for a couple of nights before heading back to Bangkok.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawes93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

We actually stayed here Christmas 2009 - I am a bit late with my comments
On arrival we were shown to our room on the top floor by a friendly young lady.
The room was very clean and had a nice view of Rat-U-Thit Road. The bathroom was basically a wet room which was very convenient. All staff were extremely friendly and always smiling and often laughing. There is a 711 was 3 doors down the road and the beach was only a 5 minute walk. It doesnt have a pool but at that time of the year the beach is a fantastic place to be and the Viking have beach towels that you can take to the beach. There is a restaurant within the Viking and we loved the food. Across the road there is a food court that extends over 100 metres, so, you dont have to go far to eat.
The thing i liked the most was the fact that it is a small guesthouse with personalised friendly service. I have stayed at large resorts and you tend to become just a number.
The thing I didnt like much about the Viking was the fact that the beds were very hard. I like a firm bed but these mattresses are "Hard"
We are going to Phuket again Xmas 2011 and we will be staying at the Viking.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brentwood_Resort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2010

As a female solo traveller in 2008 I stayed here for a month. I stayed again in March this year. If you want to be close to the action & not far from the beach this is a great place to stay. Not 5 star, but then you're not paying 5 star prices. Female owners Trin & Pen make sure the place is spotlessly clean & running smoothly, they also do great food. Staff are great! This place hasn't got a pool, but you're literally a 5 minute walk to the beach or a 1 minute motorbike taxi ride. If you're not looking for a 5 star resort type place this is great!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanCl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Priew Wan Guesthouse
Priew Wan Guesthouse
#107 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orange Hotel
Orange Hotel
#163 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nicky's Handlebar Hotel
Nicky's Handlebar Hotel
#20 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Andaman Place Guesthouse
Andaman Place Guesthouse
#119 of 222 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Patong Premier Resort
Patong Premier Resort
#267 of 319 in Patong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capitano Beach Hotel
Capitano Beach Hotel
#65 of 397 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Residence

Property: Viking Residence
Address: 85 / 7 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Viking Residence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 22 beautiful & spacious rooms with all amenities you need. High standards of cleanliness are important to us. You will be very comfortable on the king-size bed with high quality mattress and a shower with hot and cold water. Our Standard rooms are large with king-size bed, cable TV, individual control air con, safety deposit box, telephone and mini bar. Moreover, we are located in the heart of the city just a short stroll away from the beautiful beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Viking Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Residence Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing