We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with helpful staff”
Review of Nap Patong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nap Patong
Ranked #9 of 338 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Reading a few of the previous reviews, I didn't expect much from the staff but this didn't prove to be a problem during my stay. The people I spoke to had a good understanding of English and were generally helpful. For instance, there was always someone around the swimming pool to take drink or food orders.

Overall, this hotel exceeded my expectations. Check in was pleasant: you sit on a couch and they bring you a nice cold drink while they sort out the paperwork.
The hotel is very recent so everything is still in good condition.
Rooms are big and comfortable and include a balcony with a sofa.
Breakfast is very good, buffet style with a lot of choice.
Hotel is within a few minutes walk for the beach but we ended up staying around the swimming pool as it's less crowded and quieter.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErwanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,314 - 1,320 of 1,781 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2011

We stayed at the Napp for 6 nights and loved the hotel. Modern,clean new and friendly staff. Located in a quiet area but a short walk to most areas in Patong.Surrounded by restaurants, laundries, bars and places to be pampered. I had the 'lady boy' treatment which included massages, pedicure, manicure, facials etc. Breakfast has both Western and Thai choices. The standard rooms are small but functional. We only used the room to sleep anyway. A 5 min walk to the beach and you get ocean views from the higher floors.Markets were on the beach during our stay. Bangla Road is a 10-15 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommomelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

great great great hotel. patong beach is only a short walk away, but still this hotel is a nice place and quiet place to relax. nice pool, nice room, very nice bathroom. friendly staff. great breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 06727515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

If you're going to Patong beach (which I strongly urge you to research before going), then The Nap Patong is a good place to stay. It is only one year old so relatively new, and bright and contemporary. It is in a good location, only a few blocks from the beach which is a good thing - the hotel is blissfully quiet. However, the hotel could use a bit of refining. The minibar is small, but, although free, was only stocked with a few cans of soda and bottled water. The pool is nice, not very big, but clean. but no pool service. There is a small area for someone to work at the pool, but no one was ever there. I caught a waiter from the restaurant walking by and asked him for drinks. I counted 11 hotel guests at the pool at lunchtime but no service whatsoever - no drinks, no food, no menus and no fresh towels. The hotel could be making a lot of money from the pool service alone if they got their act together. The restaurant is okay. The staff is friendly but the outdoor seating is very uncomfortable and hard to sit in. You either sit on a banquette that's too high for the table or low ottomans that are uncomfortable with no place for your legs. The floor of the restaurant is a grey stone that obviously was never sealed as the floor is very stained. Had dinner twice in the restaurant. The dishes were pretty and tasty. But, unfortunately, the seating was so uncomfortable that we didn't linger and did not order dessert. I think the restaurant and bar could use more staff, especially people who speak English fluently. I would say the majority of guests staying at the hotel were from Europe, Australia and the USA. Yet many of the staff spoke very little English. The chef working the omlette station at breakfast couldn't speak a word of English. He would point to items such as cheese, mushrooms, etc. and you were to nod if that's what you wanted. We sat at the bar one evening and had to ask for a menu several times. Again, the staff could be asking if we wanted to order appetizers.
And back to my earlier comment about researching Patong Beach. It is very noisy and a bit dirty. The beach isn't that pretty and it's very crowded. There is a large gay beach which seemed to have the best spot right in front of La Flora Hotel. We went one afternoon but left after a couple of hours - full of old European men with young Thai boys. I actually wouldn't go back to Patong Beach or Phuket. We went in January, which is called "high high season" so was very crowded - lots of bars and strip clubs.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4Molly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Above all the location of this hotel was superb - you are out of the hustle and bustle and in my opinion you are at the classier end of Patong beach. It is approximately a 5 min walk to the heart of Patong - and I wouldn't want to stay in the heart of patong - it was nice to be the little bit out o it. The hotel is only 1 year old and it shows - new everything. The pool was awesome - good temperature and size, good lounge chairs (the staff NEVER came up to take a drink or food order and this was the only compliant I have of the hotel - and they could make extra money too???). It has only 6 floors and we stayed in the blue moon suites on level 6 - huge balcony and bathroom, and lovely beds with nice cool doonas. Minibar was just soft drink and water. The beach was so beautiful and close (1 min walk) - it was hard to decide where in the day to spend time - beach or pool? The breakfast was very good, but it closed sharply at 10.30am - ate bacon and eggs every day! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davolitribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and didn`t let the small issues bug us too much but there are areas where there is definately room for improvement.

Good Points
Excellent Location, 5 mins (300m) from the beach
Lots of restaurants and shops within a 5 min walk, and 15 mins to "central Patong"
Excellent spacious rooms with quality fittings and amenties and a great bed.
Free minibar (soft drinks) and free wifi
Great uncrowded pool area with ample and comfortable sun loungers.
Reasonable breakfast buffet
Good Restaurant food very well presented
Two happy Hours with great value drinks and cocktails

Things that could be improved.
A guest manual needs to be provided outlining services, telephone numbers, room service and other facilities and info on the hotel.

Although minibar and amenties were restocked every day room cleaning could be improved.
Shower pressure and drainage could be stronger and better.

Wifi signal could be stronger and faster.

Advertised Bar Closing time should be adhered to, Every day there was a board advertising a Happy Hour from 10pm til 12 midnight but every night the staff started packing up at 11.30 even if there were guests having a drink there, they didn`t even ask if people wanted last orders!! The staff could not wait to get away which was very offputting and fraustrating for guests who were then left sitting in the darkened bar!

The pool bar needs to be opened and there needs to be a reasonably priced selection of bar/snack food such as sandwiches/baguettes. The pool bar is currently closed and there is little or no service around the pool unless the guest goes to find a staffer.

Breakfast buffet could have more variety and the juices served could certainly be improved.

Restaurant food is good but is expensive and the portion size is very small although very well presented. The Nap Club is 4 very small bitefuls and expensive at 250THB IMO

The Restaurant seating although nice to look at,is disasterously uncomfortable and impractical for dining (the chairs and tables are way too low and are already looking quite grubby.

The Restaurant flloor has porous tiles and is very badly stained which permantently looks dirty and is off putting when dining.

There appears to be a need for more staff in the bar and pool area and more emphasis should be placed on guest interaction from the staff.

Soap Dispensers and towels need to be provided in all the Washrooms. Only one set out of three had soap during our nine night stay despite staff being advised on three different occasions. Thsi is a very basic hygeine oversight that needs to be addressed promptly.

I`m sure as time goes on these items will be addressed and will make the hotel even better.
Having said all that I would still return and hope to do so in the near future.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paddy_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We have just returned from this hotel, it is very centrally located, well priced, breakfast was good and not too noisy except for the speaker outside our room which had the pool music playing. We enjoyed our stay however I would definitely recommend that you stay at a high floor and not the ground floor or a room with a speaker outside as you cannot sit on your balcony. The staff were generally helpful and friendly however there was one on the desk that hardly ever smiled and one of the wait staff in the breakfast area that made you feel he was doing you a major favour if you asked for a cup of tea or coffee! They also need a proper pool bar and have it staffed as you often had to wait for service. Would stay again but on a high floor

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitechristmas07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#33 of 338 in Patong
830 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park
0.4 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#27 of 338 in Patong
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nap Patong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nap Patong

Address: 5 / 55 Haad Patong Rd. | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#7 Spa Hotel in Patong
#8 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#10 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $68 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nap Patong 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate HIP HOTEL is just a short stroll to the bustling capital of Phuket’s nightlife, while tucked away in the heart of Patong Beach. Delivering a balance of calm, style and uncompromising quality, The Nap is a chic haven for those in search of a holiday to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Nap Patong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nap Patong Hotel Patong
Nap Patong Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing