We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“"Great beachside location for lunch and a cold beer"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WAI thai

WAI thai
Ranked #83 of 519 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Great beachside location for lunch and a cold beer"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We ate lunch here on a gorgeous hot day, authentic Thai dishes were freshly prepared while my son ordered a pizza. The Thai food arrived really quickly but there was a wait for the pizza. The wait was worth it as we watched the view of the beach and drank our cold drinks, Heinenken beer 70 baht, Bacardi breezer 100baht. Staff were very nice and even bought out a bucket of water to wash the sand off my feet.
Overall, you won't be disappointed. Happy hour cocktails 100baht all day

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chipoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    65
    13
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria
Level Contributor
150 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great place for Lunch or Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We ate here twice whilst in Patong, lunch and dinner. Beautiful food, service was excellent, great location, literally metres from the beach. Thai food is beautiful and authentic, i asked for medium hot on 2 dishes, and they were very, very hot! And i like hiot chilli! Kids had some of the Western food which was nice also. Drinks well priced, though make sure you ask for cold, cold beer and drinks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Watto77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Level Contributor
214 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Great Thai Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Trip advisor helps so much when you are in a new place looking for restaurant suggestions.
I went along to Wai Thai based on the reviews and I was not disappointed.
It was quiet and I took a table on the sand with a lovely sea breeze blowing in from the beach.
Service was quick and efficient.
My beef massaman was a huge bowl which I couldn't finish.
It was excellent although the beef a little tough.
I requested not too spicey and the flavour was great.
Complimentary fruit provided unexpectedly at the end.
Beer is cheap also
A great place to eat in Patong

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Huge potions, and some of the best food in Phuket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This place is my girlfriends and I's favourite resturant to eat at in patong. From the outside it does not look much. But as soon as your food arrives all is forgotten. They have a huge menu of thai and western foods that come in very big potions and the quality of food is the best in had during my stay here. We are here numberous times and were never disappointed. A must try whilst in patong!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent choice, value and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have just spent 2 weeks in Patong and were advised of this restaurant by friends who we were travelling with. As with all of the restaurants along the beach, the hawkers can become tiring, however all eating aspects of this place are great. It is cheap, has a huge choice of fresh thai food and the staff are there to please.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveParslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WAI thai also viewed

 

Been to WAI thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing