We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for Lunch or Dinner”
Review of WAI thai

WAI thai
Ranked #93 of 554 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Melbourne, Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great place for Lunch or Dinner”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We ate here twice whilst in Patong, lunch and dinner. Beautiful food, service was excellent, great location, literally metres from the beach. Thai food is beautiful and authentic, i asked for medium hot on 2 dishes, and they were very, very hot! And i like hiot chilli! Kids had some of the Western food which was nice also. Drinks well priced, though make sure you ask for cold, cold beer and drinks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Watto77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    73
    14
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
hobart
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Great Thai Restaurant”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Trip advisor helps so much when you are in a new place looking for restaurant suggestions.
I went along to Wai Thai based on the reviews and I was not disappointed.
It was quiet and I took a table on the sand with a lovely sea breeze blowing in from the beach.
Service was quick and efficient.
My beef massaman was a huge bowl which I couldn't finish.
It was excellent although the beef a little tough.
I requested not too spicey and the flavour was great.
Complimentary fruit provided unexpectedly at the end.
Beer is cheap also
A great place to eat in Patong

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Huge potions, and some of the best food in Phuket”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This place is my girlfriends and I's favourite resturant to eat at in patong. From the outside it does not look much. But as soon as your food arrives all is forgotten. They have a huge menu of thai and western foods that come in very big potions and the quality of food is the best in had during my stay here. We are here numberous times and were never disappointed. A must try whilst in patong!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent choice, value and service”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have just spent 2 weeks in Patong and were advised of this restaurant by friends who we were travelling with. As with all of the restaurants along the beach, the hawkers can become tiring, however all eating aspects of this place are great. It is cheap, has a huge choice of fresh thai food and the staff are there to please.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveParslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Still very good”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We spent our first meal on our recent visit to Phuket at Wai Thai and its was still good. We discovered 12 months ago on our last holiday and wasn't disappointed on our return this year. Food was was fresh and taste great. Cocktails were good and cheap. Staff are friendly and the location on the beach is great to watch the sunset. So glad to see it hasn't changed. My kids think its the best Pad Thai on Phuket. Hopefully be back there soon.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSutties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WAI thai also viewed

 

Been to WAI thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing