We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of WAI thai

WAI thai
Ranked #88 of 548 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had difficulty finding this restaurant despite a number of attempts. Luckily we found the restaurant in time to have our last meal in patong. The food was wonderful and so cheap in comparison to our hotel. We had deep fried fish, king prawn green curry, seafood noodles and beer all for under £20. Just disappointed that we did not find the restaurant earlier during our stay in patong.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Y C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    69
    14
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Position”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

On Patong beach with your feet in the sand. That's my idea of a great place to eat.
The food is average definitely not bad but not fantastic either. The prices are good and the staff are good. We have been there 3 times now always going back for the beach outside dinning.
Deep fried fish is good as well as there vegetables and also the spring rolls. Took us a while to find it as you can't see it from the street.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you are into sitting plastic chairs on the beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Food is average to very good (try fish!) but the atmosphere is what it makes good. However, the hustlers are more irritating than in most of the Patong restaurants

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank backseat2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Food? It was ok .... but a really lovely location on the sand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Yes, it is hard to find due to the incorrect map location on Tripadvisor, however thanks to the instructions posted by Nev78990 and TravellingCat22, we found it easily. We found it easier just to walk on the beach until you get to the life guard lookout tower it is the last of the restaurants on the beach immediately under the tower.

We went twice to Wai Thai, my thoughts on the food are pretty mixed although we just loved the location, feet in the sand looking over the beach to the sea, just fabulous. The first night we ordered pad thai, beef with pepper and garlic, and a red curry with prawn 'thai hot'. The waitress said I should have the yellow curry several times as red is too hot for me, but finally got the message across that I like it really hot.

The pad thai was ok, my husband liked it, but it seemed to be missing some key ingredients re flavour. The beef was quite tough, which was disappointing. My red curry was excellent and hot, although I was surprised at the pineapple in the dish.

The next night we decided to just have a main course each. We ordered 2 red curries with prawn, one thai hot and the other medium hot.

The dishes arrived and I was surprised to see 2 green curries. I said to the waiter that I had asked for 2 red curries, th response from the waiter was that they were red curries ...... aside from the colour, there are some obvious flavour differences between red and green curries. As we both like green curries as well, we just went with it. Unfortunately they were not remotely warm or hot, and they were not very impressive either.

I was quite disappointed in the food this time, and for that reason we didnt go back a 3rd time.

Having said, we quite enjoyed the experience and especially the location. The prices were really cheap for food and drinks, the service was a little confused, and a little inattentive at times but you get that in Phuket.

I would recommend a night here, grab a table in the sand, take your shoes off and enjoy the experience, just dont have high expectations with the food and service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MollyColly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Well worth the hunt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

I searched for a few nights trying to find this place but when I found it wow! I was with 4 other people and we ordered about 10 meals including many cocktails and it was beyond amazing. I would return to Patong for the sole purpose of eating here. The only annoyance is the constant hassle of people trying to sell you things when you're eating but this is to be expected in Patong.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WAI thai also viewed

 

Been to WAI thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing