We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable, pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach
Ranked #248 of 412 Patong B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I stayed at Hemingways for 6 nights in Dec/Jan. The staff was very kind, attentive and helpful. The hotel lobby and restaurant looked fine and the deluxe room was spacious, clean, the shower was powerful. Breakfast was tasty and the choice was decent. The hotel is located a short walk from the centre of nightlife and 10-15 minutes walk from Patong beach however, for paradise-like beaches I suggest taking a short taxi ride down South. There was nothing I disliked about the hotel and I was pleased to find that great reviews I had read about Hemingways proved right.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank conradosss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Conradosss,
Thank you for your great review, Its is particularly nice that your review was a few days after the review on the 8th Feb, As the staff were delighted to prove that they were not worse than terrible report. Thank you so much. The management appreciated your review.
Regards
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 122 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2011

Stayed here for a 5 night stay. While not struck with Patong, the hotel itself was in a quiet location but a short walk to some very lively areas. The staff were helpful and we only used the dining facilities for breakfast but it was a good hearty breakfast with good service. I doubt we'll ever go to Patong again but if we did would certainly revisit this hotel if we did.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, Guest Relations Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Woppa,
Thanks for the great review, Sorry to hear that you did not like Patong (its not everybody's cup of tea) But so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff helpful. I am hopeful that you will give Patong Beach another chance returning one day and stay with us again.
Regards
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

I am online from Phuket now(8th feb-2011,it is 3 pm now) when I should have been enjoying the room because he room is not ready yet, and the lady at the reception is too bad- she speaks terrible english and hasn't yet got our room cleaned for the check in. Every time i go back to her she says she doesnt know when the room will be ready and that she is too busy to answer my questions. It seems they have only 2 people for room cleaning and the one who should have cleaned our room is on the first floor and she can be done with cleaning our room only after she is done with the first floor. Pretty rude and unorganized, the lady didn't have time to smile at us even once. There are no porters or staff to attend to ones luggage .
We had got our room booked after reading reviews and rankings on Tripadvisor, this hotel is far from the sea and difficult to find.
Please don't book the hotel if you are about to stay here(in patong) for only 2 days like we did. We have ended up wasting a lot of time due to these people.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shuchianand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victornorman, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2011

Dear shuchian, We are sorry that you had to wait for your room, By reading your report it seems that you were very upset by this and that we are only three star hotel without a porter to carry luggage. Bur comments are nothed about the poor english of the receptionist.. I wonder your comments would have been different if you made them after the end of your stay instead of the during the one hour you were waiting for the room. My staff tells mje that you ate your breakfasts heartily and see to enjoy very much.
Regards
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

1. Cleanliness - The rooms are very clean and new too. Aircon in perfect condition too. 2) Location - It is very near Bangla Seafood Market & Jungceylon Mall which is a mere 3-5 min walk, and is about an 15 min walk to Patong Beach. The hotel is away from the noise of Patong nightlife so you'll have a good uninterrupted sleep. 3) Staff- The lady in the reception was very helpful & speaks very good English. 4) Price

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Alexey2,
Thank you so much for your review, as a top contributor of a 164 reviews I think your comments will carry respect. We are also so pleased that you found our location convenient and suitable and that our staff were helpful and spoke English. We hope you will come and stay with us again.
Regards
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We liked Hemingways. It has a nice welcoming feel to it. First it is away from the mayhem of the centre of Patong, thank goodness. It is one street away in a newly built area that is fresh and clean. The reception and outside are lovely with care and attention in such a small space. There is a lift and our room was fine....above average for a 3 star hotel. I am not a big fan of the wet shower which we had. Breakfast was included and was well cooked in a very comfortable dining room. We met the very affable and friendly Victor who was warm and welcoming. I would for sure stay here again if we ever found ourselves in Patong (unlikely, as it is not for us!), and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This is a 3 star hotel and it is indeed a very good 3 star. I have been in far worse 4 star places. Everywhere was always clean and staff were friendly. All credit to the people who own and run Hemingways so well. You really won't do better for the price in this area.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harleyclarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victornorman, Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2011

Thank you so much for your kind review, It really helps to keep the staff motivated knowing their hard work is appreciated. We hope you will return to visit us soon, it was a pleasure serving you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Hai, on the oct 2010 I been tis hotel. Is a good choice for me. All the staff is very friendly person. Not like APK spa n resort. Thumbs up

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shafri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Roslee7,
Thank you so much for your very nice review, I am sorry that I missed replying to to you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated that the hotel does not make any room charges for bringing back guests to your room.
Regards
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

i had booked this hotel thru agoda and to my surprised, the room was nice, clean, free wifi is essential to me and bathroom is clean too. THe staff was courteous and some basic facilities like ironing board they provide too. location is awesome and its like 5 mins walk to jungceylon mall. I want a place with privacy and this is the hotel im looking for and not like other hotel which have many security. i ask the staff and she says no problem of bringing my guest inside the room while other hotel charge like 500 baht. THe price was resonable and the bamboo restaurant was awesome with nice decor. i will definitely recommend my friends if they come to phuket . Thanks to the owner and their well trained and courteous staff. thumbs up

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roslee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear Roslee,
Thank you for such a super review, It is even more appreciated seeing that you are a regular contributor to Trip Advisor with reviews of 9 Hotels and four cities. You are correct in that many of our guests comment of our Bamboo restaurant and the fact that the price you see on the menu is the price you pay so no surprise bill at the end with plus service and tax. Our happy hours with low priced cocktails at 99 Baht and beer at 60 baht is difficult to find in a hotel restaurant Your kind comments regarding our owner and staff will be passed on to them. We hope you will stay with us again soon.
Regards
Victor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#40 of 331 in Patong
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Patong Hemingway's Hotel
Patong Hemingway's Hotel
#161 of 331 in Patong
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Phuvaree Resort
Phuvaree Resort
#300 of 331 in Patong
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baramee Hip Hotel Patong
Baramee Hip Hotel Patong
#274 of 331 in Patong
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wynn Chilli Salza Patong
Wynn Chilli Salza Patong
#230 of 331 in Patong
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach

Address: 188/17-20 Phangmuang Sai Kor Road | near Jungceylon Shopping Center, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 412 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range: $25 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel owners Steve and Nuch welcome you to Hemingway's, a contemporary, 3 star plus family owned hotel on the beautiful and exciting island of Phuket. The hotel is staffed by a well trained and charming team who are here to serve.The reception team will direct you to your room via the elevator. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated; they have all of the usual facilities, such as, Telephone, Safe deposit box, WI-FI, Cable TV, Mini bars are fully stocked and beverages are sold at bar prices, not hotel prices, tea making facilities and even room service.Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served in the BAMBOO Restaurant and bar on the ground floor. The restaurant serves a fantastic selection of Thai food, Seafood and International food. Head chef is well known for his cooking style and his attention to detail in the preparation of the menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing