We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse than terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach
Ranked #258 of 407 Patong B&B and Inns
mum
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worse than terrible”
Reviewed February 7, 2011

I am online from Phuket now(8th feb-2011,it is 3 pm now) when I should have been enjoying the room because he room is not ready yet, and the lady at the reception is too bad- she speaks terrible english and hasn't yet got our room cleaned for the check in. Every time i go back to her she says she doesnt know when the room will be ready and that she is too busy to answer my questions. It seems they have only 2 people for room cleaning and the one who should have cleaned our room is on the first floor and she can be done with cleaning our room only after she is done with the first floor. Pretty rude and unorganized, the lady didn't have time to smile at us even once. There are no porters or staff to attend to ones luggage .
We had got our room booked after reading reviews and rankings on Tripadvisor, this hotel is far from the sea and difficult to find.
Please don't book the hotel if you are about to stay here(in patong) for only 2 days like we did. We have ended up wasting a lot of time due to these people.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shuchianand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victornorman, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Dear shuchian, We are sorry that you had to wait for your room, By reading your report it seems that you were very upset by this and that we are only three star hotel without a porter to carry luggage. Bur comments are nothed about the poor english of the receptionist.. I wonder your comments would have been different if you made them after the end of your stay instead of the during the one hour you were waiting for the room. My staff tells mje that you ate your breakfasts heartily and see to enjoy very much.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    40
    21
    11
    11
See reviews for
8
39
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
558 reviews
245 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

1. Cleanliness - The rooms are very clean and new too. Aircon in perfect condition too. 2) Location - It is very near Bangla Seafood Market & Jungceylon Mall which is a mere 3-5 min walk, and is about an 15 min walk to Patong Beach. The hotel is away from the noise of Patong nightlife so you'll have a good uninterrupted sleep. 3) Staff- The lady in the reception was very helpful & speaks very good English. 4) Price

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Alexey2,
Thank you so much for your review, as a top contributor of a 164 reviews I think your comments will carry respect. We are also so pleased that you found our location convenient and suitable and that our staff were helpful and spoke English. We hope you will come and stay with us again.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
635 reviews
267 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,001 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We liked Hemingways. It has a nice welcoming feel to it. First it is away from the mayhem of the centre of Patong, thank goodness. It is one street away in a newly built area that is fresh and clean. The reception and outside are lovely with care and attention in such a small space. There is a lift and our room was fine....above average for a 3 star hotel. I am not a big fan of the wet shower which we had. Breakfast was included and was well cooked in a very comfortable dining room. We met the very affable and friendly Victor who was warm and welcoming. I would for sure stay here again if we ever found ourselves in Patong (unlikely, as it is not for us!), and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This is a 3 star hotel and it is indeed a very good 3 star. I have been in far worse 4 star places. Everywhere was always clean and staff were friendly. All credit to the people who own and run Hemingways so well. You really won't do better for the price in this area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harleyclarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victornorman, Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review, It really helps to keep the staff motivated knowing their hard work is appreciated. We hope you will return to visit us soon, it was a pleasure serving you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Hai, on the oct 2010 I been tis hotel. Is a good choice for me. All the staff is very friendly person. Not like APK spa n resort. Thumbs up

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shafri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Roslee7,
Thank you so much for your very nice review, I am sorry that I missed replying to to you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated that the hotel does not make any room charges for bringing back guests to your room.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

i had booked this hotel thru agoda and to my surprised, the room was nice, clean, free wifi is essential to me and bathroom is clean too. THe staff was courteous and some basic facilities like ironing board they provide too. location is awesome and its like 5 mins walk to jungceylon mall. I want a place with privacy and this is the hotel im looking for and not like other hotel which have many security. i ask the staff and she says no problem of bringing my guest inside the room while other hotel charge like 500 baht. THe price was resonable and the bamboo restaurant was awesome with nice decor. i will definitely recommend my friends if they come to phuket . Thanks to the owner and their well trained and courteous staff. thumbs up

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roslee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Roslee,
Thank you for such a super review, It is even more appreciated seeing that you are a regular contributor to Trip Advisor with reviews of 9 Hotels and four cities. You are correct in that many of our guests comment of our Bamboo restaurant and the fact that the price you see on the menu is the price you pay so no surprise bill at the end with plus service and tax. Our happy hours with low priced cocktails at 99 Baht and beer at 60 baht is difficult to find in a hotel restaurant Your kind comments regarding our owner and staff will be passed on to them. We hope you will stay with us again soon.
Regards
Victor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

I had a great stayed recently at Hemingway Hotel. Value for money and affordable. Even the hotel is small but it is new, clean, mattress and pillow was good enough comfortable. Excellent powerful shower tub and wifi provided in the room.

5 to 7minutes walk to the Jungceylon Mall and Bangla Road but is abit far for the to the beach, it almost take 15 to 18minutes. Breakfast was fine, you could choose from the menu and it was freshly cooked to order. 24hours mart and pharmacy was just around the hotel.

The only pity is when we checked out and they double checked the rooms, they told me that the hair dryer was lost and I said never ever saw the hair dryer with this 3 days stayed and unexpected the room's cleaner said she had check the amenities every day when clean up the room. They request us to opened up the luggage at the lobby and checked. This act is really made me felt humiliation. Quite disappointed on this.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamanthaTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victornorman, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at Hemingways. The management and staff apologize for the way the matter of the missing hair dryer was handled, we have carried out further training of our reception staff and house keeping to prevent such an unfortunate occurrence being repeated and hope you will forgive us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2010

I recently stayed at the Hemingway, i had a great stay, the hotel was excellent, walking distance to all you will ever need. Will book next time i go to Phuket.

Tim.R
Melbourne , Australia

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromMelbourneOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victornorman, Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, July 30, 2010
Thnak you for for kind review on our hotel, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Patong Hemingway's Hotel
Patong Hemingway's Hotel
#162 of 322 in Patong
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#36 of 322 in Patong
374 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baramee Hip Hotel Patong
Baramee Hip Hotel Patong
#266 of 322 in Patong
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#97 of 322 in Patong
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
FunDee Boutique Hotel
FunDee Boutique Hotel
#135 of 322 in Patong
386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deva Patong Suites Hotel
Deva Patong Suites Hotel
#39 of 407 in Patong
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach

Property: Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach
Address: 188/17-20 Phangmuang Sai Kor Road (Sai Sam) | near Jungceylon Shopping Center, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 407 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel owners Steve and Nuch welcome you to Hemingway's, a contemporary, 3 star plus family owned hotel on the beautiful and exciting island of Phuket. The hotel is staffed by a well trained and charming team who are here to serve.The reception team will direct you to your room via the elevator. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated; they have all of the usual facilities, such as, Telephone, Safe deposit box, WI-FI, Cable TV, Mini bars are fully stocked and beverages are sold at bar prices, not hotel prices, tea making facilities and even room service.Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served in the BAMBOO Restaurant and bar on the ground floor. The restaurant serves a fantastic selection of Thai food, Seafood and International food. Head chef is well known for his cooking style and his attention to detail in the preparation of the menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing