We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach
Ranked #260 of 411 Patong B&B and Inns
1 review
“Best service ever!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

the service is awesome! Receptionist always smile and really helpful. I stayed here last week and something happened to me. My phone is missing when i am was going to phiphi island with tour. The receptionist help me whole day to call the travel agent and finally my phone back. Its really helpful bcause i cannot speak enhlish very well and also i cannot speak thai. I really thanks to this person who help
Me from the beggining i came to hemingway. Her name is lew or liu.. I dont know how to spell her name. :) and overall the service is awesomee and the location is very near to everything. bed is comfy and bathtroom is clean.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sellaagita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Sellaagita,
Thank you for your kind review, We are delighted that our receptionist assisted you with your problem. I will ensure that Lew receives a commendation letter for her help. Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel. I do hope that you will stay with us again.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    40
    21
    11
    11
See reviews for
8
39
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Tucked away from the clamour of central patong, Hemingways hotel offers an excellent product with extremely reasonable rates.
Pristine rooms, friendly and efficient staff, a lovely restaurant and a rooftop pool all blend together to make this hotel one of the best in its class - highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Tumshie101,
Your review is really appreciated as an experience reviewer I am sure readers will take note. However I must point out to future guests that the roof top pool which is available to our guests is actually at our sister hotel Patong Hemingway's only a 2 minute walk away.
Thank you again for your lovely review.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Travel with my family for a 4 days trip to Phuket.
What can i say, Hemingway's Hotel is one of the BEST hotel i ever stayed in.
I had been to numerous countries and the service provided by Hemingway's Hotel is on par or even exceed a lot of 5 stars rated hotels.

Why did i say so?
All staffs in Hemingway's Hotel are really friendly, first impression is wonderful as the receptionist, she show us the way to the lift after checking us in.
And during the day, when they meet us, they will definitely greet us with a smile.
It happened that the safe deposit box in our room are facing some problem, the receptionist come to unlock our safe immediately once we informing them about this problem.
We really have a homely feel !

The management of this hotel also does take good care of their guests,
by providing free wifi that are of a superb speed (>1 MBps) and can be accessible in both our rooms in 2nd and 3rd floor.

The lobby have 2 computers which guest can use them for FREE of charge!
I am very glad and surprised to see this, hardly did i seen any hotel provide computers to be used FOC for hotel guest.
Those so called "business center" would really cost a fortune..
But not in Hemingway's Hotel..
A very wise move by the management.

As for the room, it is quite new in condition and everything is great with a flat screen tv with more than 20 channels!!

The only inconvenience is that the main road leading to this hotel is having some kind of renovation, so the whole road is basically in a sorry state, it would cause some trouble for pedestrian if it rains, but no big issue, we walk to the nearby shopping mall Jungceylon for both nights.

Highly recommended and really budget friendly!
Would definitely re-visit this hotel again without hesitation when we having vacaiton in Phuket in the near future!

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noah_Sjz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Noah_Sjz,
Thank you for one of the best review we have received. What can I say, The management and staff are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. As general manager I do use the reviews published by guests at my meeting with our staff, needless to say they were extremely pleased. Reviews such as your do motivate our staff. Just a small correct our free Wi-Fi is available in all our rooms and throughout the hotel. Our owners realized that not all our guests want to bring their laptop on holiday so they provided two free computer stations in the lobby. Actually there are 80 Channels on the TV's in the rooms. We have been informed that the drainage construction along the main road near the hotel will be completed soon.
Thanks once again for such a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed at Hemingways Hotel, Patong Beach for one month, June 6th to July 6th, 2013. The Hotel is characterized by superb service at all levels. The desk, housekeeping and dining room staff all have a very evident service orientation, and go the extra mile in every way to ensure guest comfort and convenience. This approach.to service begins at the top of the hotel's service pyramid. The General Manager, Victor Norman, and the owner, Stephen Pearce, attend at the hotel on a daily basis and have a hands-on personal style which both anticipates and reacts meaningfully to guest needs.

I was their guest during the monsoon rains of June, 2013, which,resulted in a municipal streets project causing a brief hotel power outage, totally out of the hands of Hemingways. On another day, the municipal project (now completed in the area of the hotel) caused an abnormal accumulation of water on the street.

In both instances, the owner attended at the hotel in a timely and responsive manner.. Without hesitation he and the General Manager offered, to move me and my gear to their sister hotel on Soi Sansabi, a couple of blocks away, in their personal vehicle.

Hemingway Hotel Patong Beach is ideally situated to access the main attractions of Patong Beach: Jungceylon, an enormous mall and entertainment center/restaurant complex. Bangla Road, the bars and clubs for which Patong is famous. And the beautiful beach itself. All are within a couple of minutes walk, as is Banzaan Public Market, where one can select the finest and freshest Andaman Sea seafood, and delicious Thai produce, which the food court on the market's second floor will prepare for you for a few baht. In spite of their proximity to the hotel, none of the nearby attractions cause any disturbance at the hotel itself; the sleeping environment is quiet and peaceful.

The hotel has an excellent restaurant itself. Carefully prepared Western and Thai dishes are available at almost any hour, and the prices are very reasonable for both food and drinks. The dining room staff speak both Thai and English. The staff are invariably cheerful, pleasant and service-oriented, most of them having gained wide hotel experience before beiing hand-picked by the owner and/or General Manager for Hemingways. The owner's Thai wife, Nuch, also has a lead role in staffing and management of the hotel, the influence of this classy and intelligent lady is evident in the quality observable in everything Hemingways does for their guests.

I plan to stay at the Hemingways Patong Beach Hotel again, in the autumn of 2013.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear 9621 Vancouver,
Thank you so much for taking time to write such a nice review, it is really appreciated. The management and staff are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be returning soon to which we look forward with pleasure. Your review will help our staff to be more motivated also be more confident when they are speaking English. I am sure your review regarding our location will help others when reading this review.
Thank You
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I have just finished a 18 night holiday at this hotel with a large group of friends & can not praise them enough. From the high quality rooms, staff, management, restaurant & room service to the driver who collected us from & returned us to the airport. The owners are in the hotel on a daily basis & make you feel very welcome. A great experience at a very good price. I highly recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: I upgraded to a suite & the extra space was worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Paul M,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for the hotel, The management and staff are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a great review which will help us motivate all of our staff to try even harder to please our guests.
Thank you once again
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have now stayed at this hotel on two occasions and really enjoyed the warmth and hospitality that Steve and Nuch afforded me. From the moment you arrive you are made to feel welcome and that nothing will be a problem during your stay. The bar/restaurant area is nice and comfortable, with tables outside to take in the ambience of street life in Phuket and prices are very reasonable, even by Thailand's standards! The rooms are clean and neat, with en-suite bathrooms and fit their purpose with a degree of comfort. The roof top pool and bar area is a welcome surprise in the middle of Patong and is an ideal location for sundowner's with friends. If you are looking for the perfect place for the Patong and Phuket experience and wish to save your money for the many attractions, you would do well to book a reasonably priced room at this hotel. I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear NigelP12_12
Thank you for your review. It really is nice to have guests such as your self appreciate our service. Perhaps however its important at this stage to advise other readers that the pool you refer to is actual at our Patong Hemingway's Hotel, Which guests at Hemingway's Hotel are invited to use.
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review for the hotel.
Regards
Victor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We booked to stay at Hemingway's Hotel in a superior double private although on check in were upgraded to a suite. Hemingway's hotel is the sister hotel to the slightly newer Patong Hemingway's Hotel and is located slightly further away from the madness of Soi Bangla, but still within easily walking distance even after the nightlife ends. The room was very well equipped with a big LCD TV, fridge, safe and although a small extra... a kettle, which is uncommon in Asia. The bed was the most comfortable we have had the pleasure to stay in on our big adventure and combined with the super powerful shower it was a fantastic place to drop our bags for a few weeks. Free use of the roof top swimming pool at the sister hotel only a 5 minute walk away is an easy stop off on the way to or from the beach. A good quality 3* hotel, we would definitely recommend Hemingway's to all other travellers.

Find out more about our big adventure and where we are going next at chipofftheoldblog.com

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ross_and_Sonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear RossandSonya,
Wonderful to read your review, we do try hard to please our guest and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Its really lovely to have guests who understand and appreciate our efforts. The staff were delighted to be shown your review which is a great motivation tool. Like many of our other guests you appreciate the little extra's that the hotels provides. The showers are fantastic which are often mentioned by people who stay with us. However I did get a compliant from the husband of a newly married couple who where on their honeymoon. He had problems getting his wife out of the shower which she enjoyed so much.
Thank you for your lovely review.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Patong Hemingway's Hotel
Patong Hemingway's Hotel
#162 of 328 in Patong
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#36 of 328 in Patong
375 reviews
0.0 mi away
iCheck inn Central Patong
iCheck inn Central Patong
#72 of 328 in Patong
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nicky's Handlebar Hotel
Nicky's Handlebar Hotel
#98 of 328 in Patong
191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#92 of 328 in Patong
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
FunDee Boutique Hotel
FunDee Boutique Hotel
#134 of 328 in Patong
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach

Property: Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach
Address: 188/17-20 Phangmuang Sai Kor Road (Sai Sam) | near Jungceylon Shopping Center, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #260 of 411 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel owners Steve and Nuch welcome you to Hemingway's, a contemporary, 3 star plus family owned hotel on the beautiful and exciting island of Phuket. The hotel is staffed by a well trained and charming team who are here to serve.The reception team will direct you to your room via the elevator. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated; they have all of the usual facilities, such as, Telephone, Safe deposit box, WI-FI, Cable TV, Mini bars are fully stocked and beverages are sold at bar prices, not hotel prices, tea making facilities and even room service.Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served in the BAMBOO Restaurant and bar on the ground floor. The restaurant serves a fantastic selection of Thai food, Seafood and International food. Head chef is well known for his cooking style and his attention to detail in the preparation of the menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing