We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach
Ranked #257 of 407 Patong B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I had hoped to get back in to the sister hotel Patong Hemingways but didnt realise just how busy Patong is at Songkran. Patong Hemingways was full up so the Manager drove us 300 meters to view Hemingways hotel, referred to by the manager as their budget hotel close to the center of Patong. The thought of staying in a budget hotel in Asia was not a happy thought. We need not have woried, the place was cosy, clean and well run by very nice and helpful staff. The rooms were tastefully decorated and they have the besy showers in town. There is no pool at this hotel but that is the only downer, only 3 minutes walk to our usual hotel, Patong Hemingways on Soi San Sabai, we were very happy to be invited to use the pool facilities there. Breakfast in the restaurant on the ground floor was very good and we only paid 150baht for it! This may be Hemingways budget hotel but apart from the price, you would not think so. Each and every staff member we encountered displayed a 'can do will do' attitude sometimes missing in the 3 star range of hotels. In all, we like the Hemingways hotels in Patong and will return in July. I hope the staff get to see our review, they deserve a mention.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Ashpan,
How nice of you to give the hotel such a lovely review. Yes Songkran is Thailand's most popular festival. So sorry that you did not get to stay at Patong Hemingway's but as you say we are only minutes apart. Whilst we do not like to be thought off as a budget hotel as we provide many of the amenities sometimes not even found in a four star hotel. Thank you for your comment on our staff, we often us the reviews both good and bad to motivate them. They were so happy to see your comments. We look forward to next stay with us.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    40
    21
    11
    11
See reviews for
8
39
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
2 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2013

hi victor
i stayed at your hotel from 8 march 2013 for 6 nights and really enjoyed my stay.
nice friendly staff with a warm welcome 24 hours a day.from the time i met the driver at the airport to the time i left i had a warm and friendly welcome its in a great locationits far enough away from bangla road if you want to relax or close enough if you want to go mad.
great wi fi in rooms and spotless clean. my room was cleaned every day and new towels.
you have an excellent friendly warm and welcoming hotel that is down to the staff.
i will definitley stay again in your hotel and will reccomend it to any body i know going to patong
once again thank the staff for me and thank you
martin gallagher

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 735martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear 735martin from Dublin.
Thank you for your review. The management and staff were delighted to see the title of your review "excellent warm friendly. This is exactly what we are trying to achieve in our hotel,. To make our guests enjoy their stay with us. The management understand that guests who feel welcome and become part of our family during their stay are much more likely to return and stay with us again. Its a great motivation tool in the hospitality industry that when guests are happy they will take the time to write a review. All reviews posted are shown to the staff and any problems they may have arisen are discussed. needless to say they were estactic over your review.
Thanks
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

A new excellent hotel with a great central location on Soi Sansabai which is opposite the main entertainment area on Bangla road. Well furnished rooms & a great roof top pool & bar. Competitively priced with friendly & well trained staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Paul M.
Thank you for your excellent review. It was lovely to see that you named us as an excellent hotel. So happy that you stayed with us. But to be fair I must point out to potential guests reading this that the roof top pool you refer to is at our sister hotel Patong Hemingway's, which guests of Hemingway's hotel are invited to use. Your comment regarding well trained staff was much appreciated by our HR manager as well as the staff.
Thank you again for your review.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2013

its ok if u dont expect so much. location is good if u dont mind walk to beach and shopping centre for 5-10 minutes. they are really friendly and always smile. i have to write 41 characters more thats why i am writing this

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kazım H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear TripAdviser member,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments are understood. The hotel's location is actually very good if you do not want to be in the centre of the night life of the party town and enjoy the peace and quiet.. But yes we are in walking distance of all the main attractions which saves money on taxi's etc. But a real big thank you for your comment on that the staff are friendly and always smile. we hope you will stay with us again.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Hemingways has an enclave feel. Hard to believe how just jogging a half block off the main street quiets things down. Hard to do better in central Patong Beach.

The attached restaurant is fantastic, free breakfast is of surprisingly high quality for a free breakfast, room service is prompt and extremely well priced ($3 US for Pad Thai to your door).

There is a family mart around the corner (that sells beer and has an ATM) for any incidentals. The Wifi is fast and free. The staff was great and smiled constantly.

Epitomizes Thailand... you get a lot for a few USD.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 917p3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear (17p3 from California,
Nice review and thank you for it. Many guests love our location only a few blocks away from the hustle and bustle of the center of Patong, but located in a lovely quiet area. Yes the breakfasts are great I often (too often now putting on some weight) enjoy the full breakfast. Our menu prices are very reasonable a fact which often surprise many of our guests as are our bar prices. Though like you say there is a family mart only meters away along with ATM's.
Thanks
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kizzycat13
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Having initially had a mix up over the booking ( my own fault) as Hemingways has 2 Hotels and I'd booked the one without pool, manager Victor soon sorted out the problem. He took us to the other hotel and showed us the lovely room clean spacious and with a lovely 4 poster bed . We enjoyed the stay and especially the roof top pool. Nothing was a bother to the friendly smiling staff.
Being a regular visitor to both uk and Thai hotels I have to say that it wouldn't harm alot the uk staff to attend the same training school as the Thai hotel staff! No sour faces or temperamental attitudes in this hotel just happy smiling and willing to please well trained staff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kizzycat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victornorman, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Kizzycat,
I am so glad that everything turn out ok in the end and thank you for taking time to publish a review and I hope you will stay with us again soon. Regards Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Patong Hemingway's Hotel
Patong Hemingway's Hotel
#166 of 322 in Patong
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#37 of 322 in Patong
374 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baramee Hip Hotel Patong
Baramee Hip Hotel Patong
#265 of 322 in Patong
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#96 of 322 in Patong
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
FunDee Boutique Hotel
FunDee Boutique Hotel
#134 of 322 in Patong
386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deva Patong Suites Hotel
Deva Patong Suites Hotel
#40 of 407 in Patong
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach

Property: Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach
Address: 188/17-20 Phangmuang Sai Kor Road (Sai Sam) | near Jungceylon Shopping Center, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 407 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel owners Steve and Nuch welcome you to Hemingway's, a contemporary, 3 star plus family owned hotel on the beautiful and exciting island of Phuket. The hotel is staffed by a well trained and charming team who are here to serve.The reception team will direct you to your room via the elevator. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated; they have all of the usual facilities, such as, Telephone, Safe deposit box, WI-FI, Cable TV, Mini bars are fully stocked and beverages are sold at bar prices, not hotel prices, tea making facilities and even room service.Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served in the BAMBOO Restaurant and bar on the ground floor. The restaurant serves a fantastic selection of Thai food, Seafood and International food. Head chef is well known for his cooking style and his attention to detail in the preparation of the menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing