We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing great about it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach
Ranked #253 of 415 Patong B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 10, 2011

I stayed in Hemingways Hotel for a night with my husband on our way from Phuket to the Phi Phi Islands. Selected this hotel after reading the reviews on trip advisor. We emailed the owner Mr. Victor Hulme and made our booking directly through the hotel website. Unfortunately he could not provide us with a cheap car pick up from the airport to his hotel ( THB 700 was his price) so we took a taxi for THB 600 from the Airport directly.

The hotel is in a lane which has a series of 2 star and 3 star hotels, so am sure they are all of the same rate. Its about 10 mins walking from the Patong Beach and 5 mins from the bars. Sadly it happened to be the birthday of the King of Thailand the day we landed which meant a dry day, so most of the bars were empty if not shut!

The lady who sits at the reception counter could barely understand a single word of english! No bell boy available to carry your luggage to your room either. When we checked in, we realised we were given 2 single beds instead of a single double bed. We brought this to the notice of Mr. Victor that we were a couple and were on our honeymoon which was specifically mentioned when we made the booking via email, but he shrugged his shoulders saying he couldnt do much as the hotel was full!

The room was pretty tiny but clean and neat including the bathroom. The small terrace provided with the room overlooked a much fancier hotel and a gorgeous view of the mountains.

We were taking an 8 am ferry to the Phi Phi islands and our pick up was at 7 am from the hotel itself. So that we wouldnt miss our pick up, we asked the reception to give us a wake up call at 6 am. Surprise surprise...there was no wake up call at 6 am (thank goodness for our alarm!) and on going downstairs for breakfast at 6.30 am, we find the reception boy fast asleep! The complimentary breakfast included juice, cereals, eggs and toast.

Overall a very basic hotel, and considering there are many more hotels in the area that are equally cheap, I wouldnt hesitate trying the other ones too.

Room Tip: Insist what type of bed you want and double check
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salz00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Saiz,
Thank you for your review I was sorry to read that you thought there was nothing great about it, But relieved when I read your all your reviews and realized that probably your expectations were a little too high for Thailand. I took to looking at your comments more seriously. I do apologize for the failings of the hotel with regard to your request for early morning call, As I know it can be complicated when using the hotel telephone system to make an automatic early call. whilst I know it sounds petty of me but our breakfast is not served until 7am. which is shown in the room directory of services. Thank you for your comments.
Regards
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 124 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2011

My girl friend and I stayed here for 1 night as walk ins. Wanted to stay upto 5 nights but found out after a couple of hours that their internet speed was just too slow. I need to be online for my work and simply could not afford that it took upto 10 minutes to open a single page throughout the building. I informed the staff bout this problem and was told that this was down to the bad weather. The funny thing was though that I noticed that the receptionist was playing on you tube at the front desk pc for some time which seemed to work fine. May be that took away the speed for the rest of the building? Also the tiles in the shower section of the bathroom were very slippery. This could be dangerous for accidents. Our room was quiet and clean though and the staff was very friendly to us. A slight problem with the aircon was taken care of almost immediately. I would return providing the high speed internet problem would be sorted. We found another hotel nearby with a good speed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victornorman, Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2011

Thank you for your kind review. In response to your problem regarding the free Wi Fi connection, We have now a WAP login to provent the system from being slowed by unauthorised use from persons outside the hotel. For sometime now we have been aware of the slippery bathroom floor and as such the tiles will shortly be treated to reduce this problem.
Thank you again for your kind feed back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

We stayed at Hemingways Hotel for over a month in Jan/Feb. The hotel is only 12 months old and very clean. It is close to everything in Patong, but far enough off the main roads to be relatively quite. Staff are very friendly and provide helpful advice. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear filthy2507 from Canberra,
Thank you so much for your kind review giving the hotel and an excellent report, I note that you have reviewed over 15 hotels and are a top contributor to TripAdvisor. The hotel is honored that you enjoyed your stay with us, I am sure your review will carry a lot of weight when our potential guests read it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I stayed at Hemingways for 6 nights in Dec/Jan. The staff was very kind, attentive and helpful. The hotel lobby and restaurant looked fine and the deluxe room was spacious, clean, the shower was powerful. Breakfast was tasty and the choice was decent. The hotel is located a short walk from the centre of nightlife and 10-15 minutes walk from Patong beach however, for paradise-like beaches I suggest taking a short taxi ride down South. There was nothing I disliked about the hotel and I was pleased to find that great reviews I had read about Hemingways proved right.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank conradosss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Conradosss,
Thank you for your great review, Its is particularly nice that your review was a few days after the review on the 8th Feb, As the staff were delighted to prove that they were not worse than terrible report. Thank you so much. The management appreciated your review.
Regards
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Stayed here for a 5 night stay. While not struck with Patong, the hotel itself was in a quiet location but a short walk to some very lively areas. The staff were helpful and we only used the dining facilities for breakfast but it was a good hearty breakfast with good service. I doubt we'll ever go to Patong again but if we did would certainly revisit this hotel if we did.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, Guest Relations Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Woppa,
Thanks for the great review, Sorry to hear that you did not like Patong (its not everybody's cup of tea) But so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff helpful. I am hopeful that you will give Patong Beach another chance returning one day and stay with us again.
Regards
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

I am online from Phuket now(8th feb-2011,it is 3 pm now) when I should have been enjoying the room because he room is not ready yet, and the lady at the reception is too bad- she speaks terrible english and hasn't yet got our room cleaned for the check in. Every time i go back to her she says she doesnt know when the room will be ready and that she is too busy to answer my questions. It seems they have only 2 people for room cleaning and the one who should have cleaned our room is on the first floor and she can be done with cleaning our room only after she is done with the first floor. Pretty rude and unorganized, the lady didn't have time to smile at us even once. There are no porters or staff to attend to ones luggage .
We had got our room booked after reading reviews and rankings on Tripadvisor, this hotel is far from the sea and difficult to find.
Please don't book the hotel if you are about to stay here(in patong) for only 2 days like we did. We have ended up wasting a lot of time due to these people.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shuchianand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victornorman, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2011

Dear shuchian, We are sorry that you had to wait for your room, By reading your report it seems that you were very upset by this and that we are only three star hotel without a porter to carry luggage. Bur comments are nothed about the poor english of the receptionist.. I wonder your comments would have been different if you made them after the end of your stay instead of the during the one hour you were waiting for the room. My staff tells mje that you ate your breakfasts heartily and see to enjoy very much.
Regards
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

1. Cleanliness - The rooms are very clean and new too. Aircon in perfect condition too. 2) Location - It is very near Bangla Seafood Market & Jungceylon Mall which is a mere 3-5 min walk, and is about an 15 min walk to Patong Beach. The hotel is away from the noise of Patong nightlife so you'll have a good uninterrupted sleep. 3) Staff- The lady in the reception was very helpful & speaks very good English. 4) Price

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Alexey2,
Thank you so much for your review, as a top contributor of a 164 reviews I think your comments will carry respect. We are also so pleased that you found our location convenient and suitable and that our staff were helpful and spoke English. We hope you will come and stay with us again.
Regards
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#47 of 331 in Patong
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Patong Hemingway's Hotel
Patong Hemingway's Hotel
#162 of 331 in Patong
271 reviews
1.4 mi away
Phuvaree Resort
Phuvaree Resort
#304 of 331 in Patong
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Baramee Hip Hotel Patong
Baramee Hip Hotel Patong
#279 of 331 in Patong
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wynn Chilli Salza Patong
Wynn Chilli Salza Patong
#234 of 331 in Patong
67 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chang Residence
Chang Residence
#153 of 331 in Patong
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach

Address: 188/17-20 Phangmuang Sai Kor Road | near Jungceylon Shopping Center, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 415 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range: $30 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel owners Steve and Nuch welcome you to Hemingway's, a contemporary, 3 star plus family owned hotel on the beautiful and exciting island of Phuket. The hotel is staffed by a well trained and charming team who are here to serve.The reception team will direct you to your room via the elevator. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated; they have all of the usual facilities, such as, Telephone, Safe deposit box, WI-FI, Cable TV, Mini bars are fully stocked and beverages are sold at bar prices, not hotel prices, tea making facilities and even room service.Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served in the BAMBOO Restaurant and bar on the ground floor. The restaurant serves a fantastic selection of Thai food, Seafood and International food. Head chef is well known for his cooking style and his attention to detail in the preparation of the menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing