We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vile staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of White Patong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Patong
Ranked #208 of 400 Patong B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Vile staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights as a bit of a treat from the usual backpacker dive for my partners birthday!

We arrived late and struggled to find anything decent. When we arrived at white we looked at the rooms and decided they looked decent enough. After booking and paying (very over priced may I add) we were casually told that we had to move rooms the next morning but the next room will be ready for 11am. We decided that this would be ok.

The next morning we wonder downstairs, the receptionist from hell (ironically called joy) demanded money for a can of coke we took from the fridge. Obviously we were happy to pay but without a 'good morning' or even a hello, please or thank you, it's instantly gets your back up. Then when we asked for the key for the next room we were told that the room wouldn't be ready until 2pm. They claimed that our conversation the night before hadnt happened! After a long (unnessecary) argument we got the key and had to suffer breakfast being scourned at by the 3 childish and rude receptionist

Joy was hostile and completely vulgar.

If you like being given dirty looks by staff and being treated like a stupid tourist then this place is right up your street. If not spend your money elsewhere.

People like this should not work in tourism!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Smileydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam338, General Manager at White Patong, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear SmileyDude,

Thanks you for your comment, we are really sorry for what's happen to you. We will improve our service and make sure that this will not happen again.

Best regards,
Som
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    57
    30
    7
    16
See reviews for
8
25
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

The hotel is situated in a prime location with the front bar area being a perfect place for people watching. I have been to Phuket 5 times in the past 2 years and have stayed at this hotel twice now. The dining and reception area have been refurbished since I last stayed here and I was very pleased with the food. The menu has an excellently priced comprehensive list of both Thai and Western food. In the 16 days I spent here I had gone elsewhere to eat on 2 occasions only to realise that I shouldn't have bothered leaving the hotel in the first place. The restaurant and room service opens early and remains until midnight. I stayed in the Superior room which was spacious, clean and very well priced. The shower/toilet area was a good size and all the furnishings are modern. You have a flat screen TV and a DVD player with a USB port for those days when you need movies and room service to recover from a hard night out. There is also a bar fridge stocked with drinks which are very reasonably priced and still less than half the cost you'd ever get from your local store back at home. The staff are absolutely beautiful people and always flashing that all famous Thai smile. It's in the eyes. The service was superb and having to say goodbye to them was just as depressing as leaving Patong itself. Everything from shopping, eating and partying is right at your doorstep with the beach being a 5 minute walk away from the hotel. I will not be looking elsewhere to stay on my future trips to Patong after finding this place.

Room Tip: The Superior and Deluxe rooms on the first floor will encounter the noise from the street but the hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nikita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

1. Room condition was clean, aminities was complete for budget hotel, room wall need to be more sound proof to prevent noisy sound from next door. Bath room was clean and housekeeping always on time.
2. Location was strategic and nearby all happening place such as Club, Shopping Mall (Jungceylon), Patong Beach, Bazaar, massage parlour, eating place and hang out spot.
3. Only thing that during night and early morning was bit noisy because of surrounding area.
I wouldnt really recommended to families with small kids and childrens. Anyway, me and my friend have spend 7 nights there with all the sweet, hectic and memorable experience. Overall, business premises at Patong offering more expensive compare to Phuket City Area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuqmanHakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Right in the heart of Patong, about 100m from the hectic area( bangla road). I wouldnt really reccommend it for families, but i wouldnt reccommend Patong in general to families, a lot nicer areas of Thailand to go for family hols!! Perfect if you want to go drinking and bar crawling everynight!! Front dest with 24hr access, felt safe n secure
Each room has a safe, extremly clean and well presented, air-con is standard, no pool ( use of a neighbouring hotel's pool if you wish).

Room Tip: higher the better, i stayed on 4th floor and never heard the outside noise....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macker1771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Being our first time in Phuket me and my friend wanted something well priced in the heart of the action and @ White seemed to fit the bill perfectly, for the price the rooms are good, although quite small and the bathroom in standard room takes some getting used to (very small with no separate shower area) they were clean, well equipped and comfortable.

My only complaint is the service, i paid for the rooms upfront and after reading a previous review was careful to keep the receipt and just like in previous review was told at end of stay that i hadn't paid, luckily after showing receipt and a bit of feigned head scratching from the staff all was ok but if i hadn't had the receipt who knows what may have happened (thanks Trip adviser), a similar thing also happened with the minibar bill and trying to charge me twice for things so would advise to keep all receipts when staying here,
But for the price you can't really go wrong, the cleaning staff are lovely, the hotel is so close to everything, Bangla 30seconds, Jungcelon 30Seconds and beach only couple minutes walk, some really great food on same rd as hotel also (Soi Sansabai)
I probably wouldn't stay here again as the service issues and trying to charge me twice for things really put me off coming back but if your looking for something well priced in good location then this could be the place for you, just keep your receipts if you pay upfront or pay your minibar bill before checkout..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spaceinvada13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

I've stayed all over Patong, and this is the best location and best hotel in this price range that I've been to. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable. Considering the location, it is relatively quiet. This was the first time I didn't need a motorbike because I could walk to the beach, shopping, nightlife and restaurants. The staff were friendly and helpful except for Joy, who couldn't manage a smile. The restaurant offers is lovely and offers western and Thai food at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtnhiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

If u want to be in the mid of party then this is the place for you.
I have been in this hotel for last 5 days. The superior room is really nice ,clean and spacious.
Jungceylon mall is just beside this hotel and its at the end of bangla road. So it feels like in the mid of party all time.
There are many options for food around this hotel.If you dont want thai food then you can try Euro Bistro on the same road.Their food quality is great!
The main problem was they dont have lift and bellboy so it was a bit problem to take all the luggage to the fourth floor. I didnt find the hotel staff very friendly and its tough to make them understand anything.
But at this cost may be I cant expect anything better than this.
I enjoyed my stay at this hotel for its location and room quality.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erfana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
0.1 mi away
Acca Patong
Acca Patong
#130 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Swiss Garden
Hotel Swiss Garden
#209 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elegancy Sansabai Hotel
Elegancy Sansabai Hotel
#82 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rayaan Oriental Guest House
Rayaan Oriental Guest House
#545 of 997 in Phuket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apsara Residence
Apsara Residence
#109 of 400 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Summer Breeze Hotel
Summer Breeze Hotel
#5 of 400 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Patong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Patong

Property: White Patong
Address: 171/8 Soi Sansabai, Rat-U-Thit 200 Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 400 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White Patong 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Patong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Patong Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing