We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, excellent atmosphere!”
Review of Climax on Bangla

Climax on Bangla
Ranked #2 of 637 Restaurants in Patong
Price range: $5 - $45
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We visited The Climax Restaurant last Sunday night for their 399 baht all you can eat bbq dinner. It was great. Big selection of meat including prawns, kebabs, pork steaks, chicken and heaps more including salad. The atmosphere is great on the roof and if you go early enough you can watch the sunset over Patong. Plus this restaurant/hotel is tucked down a side street on Bangla Road and you can't even hear the noise. Staff were all very attentive & manager David was extremely friendly & nice. Even made sure to find us a table when we arrived to the pretty much full restaurant. Bbq starts about 7ish, either get there early or book first to get a table as it gets pretty busy. Bbq nights are Thursday & Sunday with other specials on different nights. Great restaurant and we will definitely go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PhuketLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyBristow, Public Relations Manager at Climax on Bangla, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thanks for your review. Our BBQ nights are proving very popular and we will try and innovate so that we continue to deliver to all our customers both new and regulars. Hopefully we can soon count on you to be in latter category as we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 217 of 408 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We found this place to be slightly seedy, a bit like an up market bordello. Having read the reviews, we headed up and were shown to a table. At first in the low light it looked ok, but when you sat down the fixtures and fittings were shabby to say the least. The service was ok, but the food was pretty much the worst we've had in Patong. It turns out this hotel belongs to a time share company, who has a large staff base in the locality. I wonder, just like the reviewer below?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank motobrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyBristow, Public Relations Manager at Climax on Bangla, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

We are of course all entitled to our own opinions but an "up market bordello" seems pretty far off the mark. The design may not to be to your taste but I think your comparison is ill founded. As for the food you are again in a very small minority of customers who enjoy the menu night after night and those who have left any comments on this board and others. We work extremely hard at providing a quality service and menu for all and welcome all points of view to enable us to improve wherever we can in providing that service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Amazing food and chilled out restaurant with relaxing atmosphere just off Bangla Rd.
I would say this is my favourite place so far. The staff are very good and the food exceptional, i had a tenderlion cooked medium and it was perfect, everybody in our party was happy and they even supplied a cake for my friend who's birthday we were celebrating. Top marks. We will be back soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyBristow, Public Relations Manager at Climax on Bangla, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thumbs up to you too !! Thanks for your comments they are much appreciated and we all look forward to your next visit to us which we hope will be real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

After reading several reviews about this rooftop restaurant, we decided to give it a try. Was not very impressed with our experience. The service was good, the house wine expensive (280 baht for a glass of house white???), the dinners had NO flavour. The springrolls were wonderful as an appetizer and the bread served with oil and balsamic was good but they were the most flavourful dishes we ate! I ordered the pasta with shrimp and clams (no clams to be seen instead they gave me pieces of calamari which were sooo chewy ugh), the sauce had no flavour ... a bit of garlic would have gone a loooonnngg way! My husband ordered the chicken cordon bleu and it tasted like it had been frozen for quite some time, was dry, chewy and had no flavour (he said the vegetables were a nice touch though as they did have some flavour). We told the maitre'd and he offered us a complimentary meal with a complimentary bottle of wine if we would give this restaurant another try. No voucher ... so what ... we go in and say we're here for our free dinner?? I don't think so.... I'm kinda turned off this restaurant and wouldn't recommend it freely.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hunni2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyBristow, Public Relations Manager at Climax on Bangla, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

This review makes us wonder as well. We well remember your visit to our restaurant. All items on your order were delivered fresh to your table. There were no clams available fresh that evening and you were informed of this in advance of your order. At the time you both appeared to enjoy your meal and finished every item. There was no offer of a free meal or bottle of wine made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We went on Tripadvisor recommendations and were pleased we did. We would not have known it was there otherwise because it is tucked up a lane way off Bangladesh Road on top floor of hotel. We will be returning there and recommending it to friends. What a great locale ! Such a great retreat from the hawkers and hustle and bustle of Bangladesh Road and surrounding markets. 4.5 stars....

There decor is very good, roofed but open air....very comfortable and chic seating, also bar stools for those who prefer with birds eye view over Bangladesh Road and fabulous views of the sunset over Patong bay. Bring your swimmers and enjoy the rooftop pool if you wish to swim and enjoy the bar facilities.

Great food and price and attentive, smiling staff. Wish we'd known about it at start of our holiday there rather than the end. Great place to cool down and relax before heading back to hotel.

2  Thank dan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyBristow, Public Relations Manager at Climax on Bangla, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Location, Location, Location just about sums it up. So glad that now you have found us you will be returning before the end of your stay. We like to think of ourselves very much as an oasis of calm amongst the hustle and bustle below. Hopefully you will the find time again to visit us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Climax on Bangla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing