We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Minotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Minotel
Ranked #78 of 396 Patong B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Budget hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotel location is good, around 5 min walk to the beach and 10 min walk to party Bangla road (party street). Cleaning is very basic, seem they don't change the sheets for us for few days and sometimes missing towers. The Thai woman staff is very friendly, good English and helpful but not Russian management guy who seem to own the hotel. Hotel also has a lot of Russian guests. If you want to book a day trip to Phi phi island, make sure you will get the children price, dont choose the Sea Angel Cruise (which all time recommended by agents or hotel staff, probably due to higher commission).

We would rate the hotel good but unfortunately incident at the last moment check out let us down and did not really trust this hotel anymore. We had flight at 8pm and the friendly staff told us can stay up to 2-3pm free of charge, but later on when we checked out, they said due to management saw us checked out late, they asked for addition charge 500 THB and did not provide us even the receipt until we asked. So while enjoying staying there, keep in mind that not all things you can trust..

Room Tip: There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tungbeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    24
    3
    7
    2
See reviews for
2
14
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

one of the nicest guesthouses. Taxie and her husband manage the place and they are gems. the place is neat and clean. rooms are nice size. no elevator, so that could be a problem if someone was disabled or had a problem climbing stairs. room was cleaned daily and there is water and kettle provided in the room. nicest staff and Taxie can't do enough for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kennymct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
149 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Location - around 100-200 m from ptong beach. You can find out shops, restaurants near hotel.
In the room - AC, cable TV, comfortble bed.
Hotel is small, clean with friendly staff.

In room rate doesn't include mel plan, but you can order food in restaurant on ground floor:
American breakfast: 5USD
Chicken - 5USD
Rice - 0,75USD
Fish - up 10USD
Prawns - 25USD/kg

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K-Arkhipov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Hi, My friend and I stayed here from 09/11/12 to 12/11/12. The place was great. Walkable distance to Patong Beach and to Juncyleon. I was doubtful when they said 5 mins to patong beach and 10mins to juncyleon but proven wrong. It was great that they even had a small cafe in front with good food with reasonable prices.No worries about your meals. Other eating places were catered to Tourists and hence prices jacked up. They had just done some basic renovation and painting so the place looks good.The room was great for its price, spacious, clean, air conditioned. Even the bathroom was big. The best part was the service provided by their super friendly counter staff Ms Taxie. She was able to provide many good and cheap solutions to our queries. Fantastic lady.
Thanks Minotel and Ms Taxie. Both of you are reasons why i will come back to stay there again. See you soon.

Room Tip: They have different rates for different seasons. Make sure you book early as they have limited rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiddyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed 4 nights in this hotel starting from sep 15. I should say i had a wonderful experiece. Very clean, very personalised, resonably big sized room, good airconditioning , the room had a safety box, what more can i ask for the price of THB 2800.00. The highlight of the hotel is the location, 3 minutes walk to the beach & 5 minutes walk to the Bangla road ( nightlife). you are also provided with complimentary beach towels. Taxie, who is the care taker of the hotel, she does everything to make your stay comfortable . She is the right person at the right place. i would strongly recommend, this hotel for a budget holiday. Also be aware that hotel does not have lift, hower the hotel staff will help you in taking you luggage up & down. i went with very less expectation, i got much more than what i paid. if i am visiting phuket again, i will certainly go for The minotel

Room Tip: Request for rooms on the lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

This place is brilliant. Clean rooms, affordable prices and not to far from all the action. The beach is 2 minutes walk. I must say the hotel staff are great. Taxi and other members of staff are so friendly and helpful. They are always there to assist you when needed. Would always come back and even brought family and friend here. They loved it too.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterbkk543, General Manager at The Minotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments - the staff really appreciate them.

With two cleaners for 19 rooms we do spend the time to try and clean them properly each day with fresh linen. It is easy to cut costs in areas like this but we think it sets us apart - so good to get your positive comments on cleanliness.

We also do not force our staff to work overtime and this adds to be better feeling amongst the staff - we know if we look after the staff well they should look after the customers well. We are pleased you found them friendly and helpful.

Look forward to seeing you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed here in late April for 660B a nite (low season price), other similar hotels/guesthouses still charging high season in April. has little restaurant at front & food is good had breakfast there every morning. rooms nce clean confortable, good wifi (free), great location 5 mins walk to Bangla rd & beach a bit less. The stairs for me were a killer very steep , as i have a bad back & knees next i go i will ask for room just one flight up , will stay there again. staff friendly & helpful

Room Tip: if bad back or knees and hard climbing stairs ask for a room on lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterbkk543, General Manager at The Minotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. Location and good service are two of the things we believe set us apart.

We have one room on the ground floor as well - so please do ask on your next visit.

Look forward to seeing you back here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#58 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rayaburi Hotel Patong
Rayaburi Hotel Patong
#134 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.3 mi away
Safari Beach Hotel
Safari Beach Hotel
#142 of 319 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White Sand Resortel
White Sand Resortel
#259 of 319 in Patong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bird Cage
The Bird Cage
#94 of 396 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summer Breeze Hotel
Summer Breeze Hotel
#5 of 396 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Minotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Minotel

Property: The Minotel
Address: 19 Sawasdirak Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 396 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Minotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Minotel is a boutique guest house offering 20 comfortable and individually air conditioned guest rooms in the centre of Patong. It is just 3 minutes walk to the beach (central area of beach), 5 minutes to Bangla entertainment area and the Jungcelyon shopping and restaurant complex and just 2 minutes to the gay Paradise entertainment area with its nightly cabaret shows.It has a street side restaurant and travel desk at the front of the hotel.It has very friendly staff that puts this hotel in the enviable position of having many repeat customers and long term stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Minotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Minotel Hotel Patong
The Minotel Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing