We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“perfect for Budget holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Minotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Minotel to your Saves list
The Minotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   19 Sawasdirak Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Name/address in local language
Ranked #213 of 389 Patong B&B and Inns
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect for Budget holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed 4 nights in this hotel starting from sep 15. I should say i had a wonderful experiece. Very clean, very personalised, resonably big sized room, good airconditioning , the room had a safety box, what more can i ask for the price of THB 2800.00. The highlight of the hotel is the location, 3 minutes walk to the beach & 5 minutes walk to the Bangla road ( nightlife). you are also provided with complimentary beach towels. Taxie, who is the care taker of the hotel, she does everything to make your stay comfortable . She is the right person at the right place. i would strongly recommend, this hotel for a budget holiday. Also be aware that hotel does not have lift, hower the hotel staff will help you in taking you luggage up & down. i went with very less expectation, i got much more than what i paid. if i am visiting phuket again, i will certainly go for The minotel

Room Tip: Request for rooms on the lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    20
    3
    7
    2
See reviews for
1
10
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This place is brilliant. Clean rooms, affordable prices and not to far from all the action. The beach is 2 minutes walk. I must say the hotel staff are great. Taxi and other members of staff are so friendly and helpful. They are always there to assist you when needed. Would always come back and even brought family and friend here. They loved it too.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterbkk543, General Manager at The Minotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments - the staff really appreciate them.

With two cleaners for 19 rooms we do spend the time to try and clean them properly each day with fresh linen. It is easy to cut costs in areas like this but we think it sets us apart - so good to get your positive comments on cleanliness.

We also do not force our staff to work overtime and this adds to be better feeling amongst the staff - we know if we look after the staff well they should look after the customers well. We are pleased you found them friendly and helpful.

Look forward to seeing you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed here in late April for 660B a nite (low season price), other similar hotels/guesthouses still charging high season in April. has little restaurant at front & food is good had breakfast there every morning. rooms nce clean confortable, good wifi (free), great location 5 mins walk to Bangla rd & beach a bit less. The stairs for me were a killer very steep , as i have a bad back & knees next i go i will ask for room just one flight up , will stay there again. staff friendly & helpful

Room Tip: if bad back or knees and hard climbing stairs ask for a room on lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterbkk543, General Manager at The Minotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. Location and good service are two of the things we believe set us apart.

We have one room on the ground floor as well - so please do ask on your next visit.

Look forward to seeing you back here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed eleven days May 2012 the GOOD..friendly and helpful staff especially taxi at reception'the rooms old but clean stayed in 305 front /302 rear of building.paid for standard double room but on arrival was upgraded to a deluxe room (its low season and hotel was only half full)
the location is good ...5 minutes to the beach (free use of beach towel from reception)
5 minutes to all the bars...5 minutes to Junceylon shopping complex.deluxe rooms have a bigger tv (cable 60 channels) and tea and coffee making facilities.Two free bottles of water are left in the room each day.... nice touch
The front rooms get the school noise in the mornings (as the hotel is opposite a large school)
so its better to get a rear room if available....No lift that but that didn't bother me on the 3rd floor. airconditioner was quiet and worked well ,and the shower always produced hotwater
when needed.
overall a good budget hotel in a central location in Patong

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcj957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterbkk543, General Manager at The Minotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. Our front desk staff try hard to look after our guests - I am glad you found them friendly and helpful. .

As you say the location is great and I think many visitors to Patong fail to make adequate allowance for this when selecting hotels - as with Tuk Tuk fares generally being a minimum of BHt200 it can cost at least Bht400 a day to get to and from the beach / nightlife at hotels some distance away. We try to give a good budget style alternative to the much more expensive hotels in the area.

We hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Minotel is a quiet well-equipped hotel.Good location.To Beach 5 min.To Banglaroad with Nighlive 10 min.
The hotel crew is very friendly,helpful and any time approachable.The rooms are clean and completely.Comfortable bed,Aircondition,refrigerator,TV,Safe,Wi-Fi.Everyday fresh Towels and shower with hot water.In the ground floor is a small restaurant with very friendly staff.There you can eat well and inexpensively
I stay for 20 nights and did not miss anything.
I would also recommend this hotel to my friends.
I'll come back next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siegfried R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterbkk543, General Manager at The Minotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive comments - it is much appreciated by the staff.

As you say the location is great and I think many visitors to Patong fail to make adequate allowance for this when selecting hotels - as with Tuk Tuk fares generally being a minimum of BHt200 it can cost at least Bht400 a day to get to and from the beach / nightlife at hotels some distance away.

In addition to what we provide in the room we also have,beach towels, umbrellas, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards for guets to use free of charge.

We hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We booking one night standard room Minotel via Agoda.com.

For budget trip this is a good choice!!! We a bit unlucky our room have air conditioner water leaking.
The manager promise will fit the problem but we only have stay one night so we no comment much about it.

I also recommended your guys can try the Minotel Cafe's food. Very nice!!
If next time i will book this hotel again.

Room Tip: I also recommended your guys can try the Minotel Cafe's food. Very nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterbkk543, General Manager at The Minotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

I apologise about the air conditioner - as we were full we could not change your room. Under our maintenance contract these are always fixed within 24 hours.

We look forward to seeing you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed here in April from 10th to 19th which included the Thai New Year Songkran Festival.
I booked directly with the hotel via the internet & found Taxie very helpful everytime I called or e-mailed the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble. She really is superb!

I arranged an airport pick up through the lady Taxie when I made my reservation at the hotel & the day prior to my departure from Australia she e-mailed me to let me know they were expecting me & I would be collected from the airport. A small thing but it was reassuring. I was collected at the airport & taken to the hotel with no problems.

This is by far the friendliest hotel I have ever stayed at in Patong. I partied with the hotel staff & other guests on Songkran & was really made to feel welcome.

The hotel is in the heart of Patong with everything in easy reach, I was allowed to park my scooter under cover at the hotel where it was safe & could be seen by the night staff. The hotel room was cleaned daily, there are free towels for the beach ( just ask Taxie )
Don't go expecting 5 star luxury here but I can assure you you will not find a happier or friendlier hotel in Patong.

I loved my stay here & I will certainly be booking again next time I stay in Patong. I'd like to say a great big THANK YOU to all the staff at the hotel but to Taxie especially. Thanks again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NawtyStupot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterbkk543, General Manager at The Minotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your review - I am glad you were well looked after. Whilst we are not a five star hotel in terms of facilities we try and make up for it is good service and cleanliness. Also as you say the location is great with all key amenities within easy walking distance that saves money on taking Tuk Tuks.

In addition to giving beach towels we also have umbrellas, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards for guets to use free of charge.

We hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
R Mar Resort and Spa
R Mar Resort and Spa
#56 of 306 in Patong
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
C & N Hotel
C & N Hotel
#73 of 306 in Patong
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rayaburi Hotel Patong
Rayaburi Hotel Patong
#148 of 306 in Patong
4.0 of 5 stars 455 reviews
0.0 mi away
First resort albergo
First resort albergo
#68 of 306 in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#29 of 306 in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Minotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Minotel

Property: The Minotel
Address: 19 Sawasdirak Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Minotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Minotel is a boutique guest house offering 20 comfortable and individually air conditioned guest rooms in the centre of Patong. It is just 3 minutes walk to the beach (central area of beach), 5 minutes to Bangla entertainment area and the Jungcelyon shopping and restaurant complex and just 2 minutes to the gay Paradise entertainment area with its nightly cabaret shows.It has a street side restaurant and travel desk at the front of the hotel.It has very friendly staff that puts this hotel in the enviable position of having many repeat customers and long term stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Minotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Minotel Hotel Patong
The Minotel Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing