We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Minotel
Nearby Hotels
Phuket Graceland Resort & Spa(Patong)(Great Value!)
$110
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Patong Resort(Patong)(Great Value!)
$59
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amari Phuket(Patong)
$172
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Patong Beach Hotel(Patong)(Great Value!)
$85
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$64
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$191
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Patong Merlin Hotel(Patong)(Great Value!)
$101
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deevana Patong Resort & Spa(Patong)(Great Value!)
$81
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bliss South Beach Paton(Patong)(Great Value!)
$121
$55
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveler rating
23
25
3
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
25
3
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsair conditioningfloor roomsecond homeplace to stayclean roomsshort walk to the beachhot watertaxiejungceylonhostelbangla
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 62 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, it was the second hotel we stayed at in Patong. It was a great place to stay, staff were very friendly, and the room was really clean. It was also quite a sizeable room. The location was really good as well, although a little noisy.

Room Tip: No lift, so ask for first floor room if you're too lazy to walk up stairs.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bec R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterbkk543, General Manager at The Minotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Thank you very much for your positive comments. Our front desk staff try hard to look after our guests - I am glad you found them friendly. We also have 3 cleaning staff for just 19 rooms in the peak season to try and make sure the rooms are all cleaned thoroughly in this busy period. Being an older hotel it does mean that the rooms are generally larger than the newer budget type hotels that are currently being built. We glad you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

This was my first trip to Patong beach. I was picked up from the airport and taken to Minotel . Very friendly (that why I picked this hotel )My luggage was in my room before I was done checking in !! Basic but comfortable accomodation ,everything I needed was ther including in room safe !! Perfect location , a view minutes to the beach and the Paradise Complex as well. Nice and helpfull staff. I defenetly will go back there.

H.G. Los Angeles, California USA

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hein G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterbkk543, General Manager at The Minotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We very much appreciate your comments and are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

The staff do try hard to look after our guests and this is why we are fortunate that so many of our guests return many times.

To keep the prices to the lowest in that area we try to give the basics but with high standards of cleanliness and good service. Whilst basic - the rooms do include Flat screen TV, DVD, tea and coffee making facilities a large fridge so guests can buy their own provisions, free wifi (new fibre optic cable link with 10mbs service) with beach towels, umbrellas and hair dryers available for free at reception. We also do not charge extra for payment by credit card unlike many budget hotels.

As you say it is a great location and I think many visitors to Patong fail to make adequate allowance for this when selecting hotels - as with Tuk Tuk fares generally being a minimum of BHt200 it can cost at least Bht400 a day to get to and from the beach / nightlife at hotels some distance away.

Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you back here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

This was our 5th trip to Patong, we booked last minute, it was high season so we decided to book at a more affordable guesthouse rather than our usual resort. We booked The Minotel based on tripadvisor reviews, but upon arrival this place had a terrible feel to it, no-one at the reception desk to greet us, no-one to assist with carrying bags and when we did open the door to our room ... it smelt, was dirty and dusty, the sheets were a shade of grey and thread bare and we certainly felt there would be little to no security even if we used the inroom safe. We set about finding another guest house with a vacancy, we could not stay at The Minotel for one night!! We were prepared to forego our deposit and moved to another apartment near Patong Tower for the same price with excellent quality, cleanliness and security.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterbkk543, General Manager at The Minotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2012

Thank you for your review - I am obviously concerned that you had such a bad experience - as you stated the majority of the reviews on Trip Advisor are positive and thus it does upset us at the hotel when someone has a bad perception of the hotel.

You said there was no one at reception - we are a small hotel so during the day we have one person allocated to reception and 2 - 3 people cleaning. There are times when the receptionist is away from the front desk when they are showing prospective guests our rooms, helping guests that have checked in with their bags etc but I appreciate that for a new guest just arriving for the first time an empty reception desk does not look good and we will arrange going forwards for a sign and bell to be put on the counter when the receptionist has to leave the front desk for any reason.

It is our policy to offer to assist the customer with their bags - but the majority decline the assistance - so may be some complacency has set in. We will remind the staff on this point.

With regards to cleaning - all rooms are cleaned every day with the sheets and towels changed. The floors are washed and surfaces wiped down. Rooms are subject to independent inspection during and after cleaning. The time you stayed with us we were full (as we were for nearly all of November) and the previous people checked out of your room in the morning and you arrived around 4 - 5pm. The room was fully serviced in that time. It is therefore very surprising that there would have been any accumulation of dust or dirt - I can only apologise and say that this is a very exceptional occurrence.

With regards to the sheets - this is another area that we do focus on. We regularly renew the bedding. In the last 4 months all the mattresses were renewed, this month all the pillows will be changed and for sheets and towels these are on a regular renewal cycle. Sheets are inspected before they get sent to the laundry and on return for any wear and tear. Staff are under instruction to take out of service any substandard items. I do a monthly check myself. Thus again to have "grey and threadbare sheets" is not something we would expect to hear. However as a result of your comments, we are doing another full review of the inventory of sheets to recheck the quality.

For security we have both a safe in the room and safety deposit boxes at reception. It is difficult to respond further to your feeling of there being little security.

With regards to your deposit - you paid for one nights accommodation on arrival and our records showed you stayed the night so it appears reception were not aware that you left early. If you had mentioned on seeing the room that you did not want to stay then you would have received a refund of your advance payment. As you are regular visitors to Patong please let us know when you are next visiting and you can pass by to collect a refund of your payment.

Your comments are quite a variance to those we normally get - however we do take them equally as seriously and as mentioned above we are taking action to make further improvements. Please accept my apologies for the experience you had and I hope the rest of your stay in Patong went well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

was visiting a friend staying at Minotel , which is right next to my hotel - Album.
very basic hotel.
3rd floor no lift.big clean room with comp tea coffee.
Decent house keeping.
No breakfast included in the room rate.
Location is great.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbhatnagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterbkk543, General Manager at The Minotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - though it was a pity you could not stay with us to experience our service first hand.

We do very much market ourselves as a budget hotel and our business model is geared around that. This is why our room rates are significantly cheaper than the hotels around us. More than 50% cheaper than the hotel you mentioned.

As an older hotel our rooms are, as you say, larger than what would normally be expected and definitely much larger than the shoe box size of many of the recent new budget hotels that have been built.

We do put emphasis on cleaning and housekeeping and are glad you comment positively on the cleanliness of the rooms.

Whilst basic - the rooms do include Flat screen TV, DVD, tea and coffee making facilities a large fridge so guests can buy their own provisions, free wifi (new fibre optic cable link with 10mbs service) with beach towels, umbrellas and hair dryers available for free at reception. We do not include breakfast as our principle is to provide the basics and let the guest decide where to spend the rest of their money. We also do not charge extra for payment by credit card unlike many budget hotels.

As you say the location is great and I think many visitors to Patong fail to make adequate allowance for this when selecting hotels - as with Tuk Tuk fares generally being a minimum of BHt200 it can cost at least Bht400 a day to get to and from the beach / nightlife at hotels some distance away.

Thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Stayed here last 5 days dec 2011

Dont expect a 5 star and you wont be disspointed, however the service is 5 star especially from taxi!(yes thats her name!)

Rooms are clean and come with tv dvd and fridge and free wifi...

Great location, 5 minutes to beach or to the nightlife. Taxi can arrange tours bikes (very cheap and reccomended) Best way to see the island is on a bike, tho be careful where you park!!

4th floor is a bit of a trek as theres no lift and no irons either. Tho laundry is very cheap inc ironing

Cheap and chearful in a great location.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ikathrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterbkk543, General Manager at The Minotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. It means a lot to the staff to hear such positive comments.

We are definitely not a five star hotel - we very much market ourselves as a budget hotel but with great service. A significant proportion of our customers return each year.

We do put a lot of emphasis on cleanliness and thus are pleased to hear your positive remarks on that.

Whilst a budget hotel the rooms do include Flat screen TV, DVD, tea and coffee making facilities a large fridge so guests can buy their own provisions, free wifi (new fibre optic cable link with 10mbs service) with beach towels, umbrellas and hair dryers available for free at reception. We note your comment on lack of iron and this month we will be buying irons and ironing boards so that guests can borrow this from reception as well. We appreciate such comments so we can look to continually improve.

Our front desk staff Taxie and Arm try their best to deal with all the queries and questions our guests have. I am glad Taxie looked after you well.

We also do believe that we have a great location and and I think many visitors to Patong fail to make adequate allowance for this when selecting hotels - as with Tuk Tuk fares generally being a minimum of BHt200 it can cost at least Bht400 a day to get to and from the beach / nightlife at hotels some distance away.

Thank you again for your comments and hope to see you back here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews