We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed”
Review of AsiaLoop G-House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AsiaLoop G-House
Ranked #299 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have only 3 basic requirements for rooms when I am on a budget. Cleanliness, proximity to facilities and working air conditioner. Asia Loop fulfill 2 1/2 out of 3.It was really clean and spacious, 7Eleven was next door & the beach 10mins walk away but the air conditioner was working but it was so weak I hardly feel cool in the room but it was still liveable.

Having said that, although I stayed for a good price there are few amenities that could have been better. AsiaLoop has no elevator. I was aware of this when I booked the hotel but I figured considering that I only need the room to sleep I can live with going up and down the stairs twice a day. 1 to go out in the day and 1 to come back to sleep. I was wrong. When we checked in, the TV remote wasnt working, we had no kettle to boil water, we only had 1 towel and we needed a universal adaptor for the power socket. Now, this could have easily been sorted out just by calling front desk right? Wrong. The room has no phone so I had to go 3 floors down, explain my situation to the front desk lady, she told me to go back up and wait for someone to send all the items I requested except the universal adaptor cos she doesnt have any. Then, when I manage to purchase a universal adaptor, the wall socket was positioned in a horizontal manner such that when I attached my phone charger to the adaptor, because it only attached to 2 pin it was heavy it tilted to angle and dropped which was very frustrating. (I hope you can imagine what I am describing here) I had to use the bedside lamp to prop the adapter so that it remain stuck to the wall. On the whole, I had to go up and down about 3 times before the room was sorted and we can finally settle in the room.

I would have no doubt that AsiaLoop would have been a great hotel if the little details was not missed out but in my case it was the little details that made the first impression a little more....disappointing. I probably will not come back to stay only because the first day was so inconvenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juzaila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    46
    32
    16
    17
See reviews for
8
52
43
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

After staying at the Asialoop Guesthouse, I think most of the reviews are correct: clean, but very basic room, good wifi and air conditioning, decent location and pretty good service.

We did, however, have an early flight, which meant we had to come down to the lobby to catch our cab at 3:30am. When we came downstairs, the lobby was full of old white European men and hookers. It was our first time to Phuket so perhaps this was not characteristic of the hotel, but instead of Phuket - still, we were traumatized by this. All of the "pairs" went up to the hotel to do their business, and there were other prostitutes coming downstairs as well. I think this is something to be wary of for any traveling families with young children. Also, the cab that the hotel arranged for us showed up 45 minutes late, and grossly overcharged us (we paid around $40 USD when they had told us the night before it would be much cheaper than that). The cab driver sped at over 200km/hour to the airport and it was safe to say we were scared for our lives.

All in all, I'm glad we only had to stay here for one night as a layover to our next destination. I think this hotel is a good find for low budget travelers...but it didn't suit our fancy as much.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbwsjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Patong hotels

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I had stayed in Asia Loop from 10 Aug 2012 to 12 Aug 2012. The rooms are very cheap and are very clean and spacious. The staff was very cheerful, friendly and helpful. 7-11 and family mart is just near to the hotel and will be very helpful. Try out this hotel if you are looking for cheap yet good room and location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arunima88in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights. It's about 15 minutes away from the main patong beach, which is perfect if you need peace and quiet to sleep.
The staff was really friendly, we were allowed to check out a little bit later due to our flights, free of charge.
The pool upstairs looks amazing, but we were too busy to use it. They clean their floors and rooms everyday.
It was a good deal for the price, especially in phuket where we found things to be a little more expensive than the rest of thailand. i would come back here if i were going to phuket again.

Room Tip: choose the lower rooms if you dont like to climb stairs, but if you want to be close to the pool the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCWatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

This place is good value and the location is great. Staff are so friendly and I would recommend this place to anyone

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElGeCuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

With such a minimal room rate (BHT650) I had a spacious clean room without window, with everything you need just within a walking distance, name it food, entertainment, bars, shopping mall, beach. They have a pool on the rooftop but with minimal pool chairs and it is shared among two Hotels.Dont expect too much service from the workers since it is just a guest house.

Room Tip: All rooms is fine since it is quite a new guest house, if you have the room facing the front it will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyms43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The hotel was clean and the air conditioning worked well. Occasionally the smell of other guests smoking would drift under the door. I don't know if it was allowed, but people would smoke anyway. The advertised WIFI didn't work in our room, but we could get a signal in the hallway. The massive drawback was the 5 flights of stairs we had to climb to our room. I had a knee operation fairly recently (after we booked the hotel), and I would have loved a lift. We never saw the owner, 'Marco', however, his emailed responses to our initial enquiries were very prompt, and he organised reasonably priced transfers, which turned out to be great idea. The girl at the desk helped us get a taxi to Patong City following our stay at a fantastic price. She was a wonderful negotiator and very helpful!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stealthpooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
The Brother's Residence
The Brother's Residence
#296 of 328 in Patong
84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jiraporn Hill Resort
Jiraporn Hill Resort
#156 of 328 in Patong
140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Azure Phuket Hotel
Azure Phuket Hotel
#264 of 328 in Patong
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Forest Patong Hotel
Forest Patong Hotel
#147 of 328 in Patong
116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Azhotel Patong
Azhotel Patong
#165 of 328 in Patong
17 reviews
0.6 mi away
Patong Holiday
Patong Holiday
#294 of 328 in Patong
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AsiaLoop G-House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AsiaLoop G-House

Property: AsiaLoop G-House
Address: Sirirat Rd. 2-17/20 | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #299 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AsiaLoop G-House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AsiaLoop G-House is Situated on a side street on the southern end of Patong Beach. The hotel is within walking distance to the beach, Jungceylon Shopping Complex and the night life of Soi Bangla, Patong beach Road and Simone Carbaret. The contemporary rooms provide luxurious bedding and wi-fi internet access in every room. Stay fit at the fully equipped rooftop swimming pool and enjoy the Patong Beach sunset. Experience Thai/Italian hospitality at the Asia Loop G-House at Patong Beach, Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your AsiaLoop G-House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asialoop g-House Hotel Patong
AsiaLoop G-House Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing