We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sm”
Review of SM Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SM Resort
Ranked #302 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“sm”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

ive stayed at the sm a phew times now the staff are the best thing of the hotel. rooms need to be updated a bit as my shower head fell off a few time. but that came and fixed it.
over all a nice place

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    13
    3
    7
See reviews for
3
16
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vilvoorde, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a modern guesthouse, it has elevators, airco, a big flat screen tv, a computer, minibar and everything else you wish for. Service is good, though it depends a bit on the person, I think staff should be trained (more). Location is ok, a bit too far from the beach to walk, but they rent scooters. I really like the interior of the rooms, looks more upscale than what you pay for. Free wifi and coffee in the room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pemberton, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Great value for money during low season....myself and my friend are traveling together...its abut 400 baht each for a twin room ...this comes with a 40 inch tv,air con a computer in the room and high speed internet..... it's great.

Town is about 10 minute walk away ,which is good,because its chaos .....!

good base to travel to the islands on day trips.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor facing away from the buildings next to us..... there is a bit of a swamp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

the hotel backs on to a swamp the staff dont speak english we went in the pool jewely went black clothes discoloured the boss never avaiable medication stolen locks on luggage tryed to be picked which broke our locks had to be cut off never go to this hotel again

john from australia

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Patong hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We went here to have a look and have an evening meal. This place offers reasonably cheap accommodation, friendly staff... though they are lack lustre. We ate in the restaurant and found the meals and drinks reasonably expensive for the position of the place.
Run of the mill is how I would describe it, if you like loud music blaring while you are trying to eat and itinerant locals dropping in to chat with their mates who work there while having a smoke near where you are eating, then this place is for you.

The saving grace is that a Singha is BT80 ....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldTar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

I found the Staff to be friehdly and helpfull.The rooms were a good size with on suite bathroom and internet (slow but useable) also a TV/Dvd player and Aircon.
The Rooms were cleaned daily you get a free safe so dont need to risk any belongings but i left Phone and Kindle out and they still belong to me so staff seemed trustworthy.
ok This Resort is not the Ritz but for the prize of £21 pn this is ideal and close enough to the main areas 15/20 min walk to beach 30/35 min to Bangla RD but you will have many bars and restraunts on the way so just enjoy the walk up there (be carefull though roads are busy and very little if any pavements)
The prices for food and drink are on a par with the rest of Patong area.
Also included are free towels to take to the beach.It has a decent but small pool area which is a bit of a sun trap and has little protection from the sun, but pool is clean and tidy,there is no pool bar but you only need to pop your head into bar area and they bring your order to the pool.
To get a Tut tut from Bangla will cost 200 Baht or a motor cycle 60 baht so use that transport to get back on an evening .
I could not fault this place and again remember this is BUDGET accomodation so compare like with like when judging it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nevetssekoorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Great room and tv but showers hot water is either scalding or nonexistant. Tried to charge me for mini bar beverages that I never touched but removed it fromt the bill when told them that. Ok location and good but expensive restaurant and bar. I could stay again but would look elswhere.

Room Tip: go to higher floors and hopefully avoid the partiers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.2 mi away
Arya Boutique Room
Arya Boutique Room
#226 of 328 in Patong
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
AsiaLoop G-House
AsiaLoop G-House
#299 of 328 in Patong
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden Phuket Hotel
Garden Phuket Hotel
#142 of 328 in Patong
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jiraporn Hill Resort
Jiraporn Hill Resort
#156 of 328 in Patong
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baantonsai Garden Resort
Baantonsai Garden Resort
#210 of 328 in Patong
30 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Brother's Residence
The Brother's Residence
#296 of 328 in Patong
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SM Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SM Resort

Property: SM Resort
Address: 20/42 Sirirat Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#82 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SM Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your SM Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sm Hotel Patong
SM Resort Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing